We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Brown & White Sauces”

Chen's China Bistro
Ranked #93 of 490 Restaurants in Cape Coral
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Chen's China Bistro serves New York Style Chinese food. Our restaurant is the perfect place for a romantic dinner, celebrating a birthday with a loved one, or a fun night out with friends. Also we have beer and wine, bubble tea available
Reviewed July 3, 2018

New residents to Cape Coral -- looking to find a favorite Chinese restaurant. Quite attractive ambiance, definitely nicer than most Chinese restaurants. We ordered Subgum Wonton & Seafood Delight. Both sauces were very flavorful. Veggies were crisp & fresh. Next time we'll be returning after calling ahead for special Peking Duck.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hersheykissk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 193 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2018

I love Chinese food, but since I moved to Southwest Florida several years ago, I haven't found a single spot that offers well-spiced and tasty options. Chen's is a pleasant restaurant – nicely decorated, clean and it smells good. The service is slow but who's in a hurry. The problem is the food is boring. Lots of peas and carrots and water chestnuts chopped up in little pieces. Not much spice and not a whole lot of taste. One of the things that my experience here has taught me is that Chinese cooking isn't complicated. Once I mastered the spicing and the need for high heat, I have been able to make dishes that are much better than greasy takeouts offer and still better than this place, which tries harder. Save your money. Cook at home.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MissJennieLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 26, 2018 via mobile

When we arrived for lunch today and we were seated, we were only given one menu for two people to start and it wasn’t busy so I’m not sure why they couldn’t give us two menus as there was only three other parties there. The waiter came right over the moment are rear ends touched the seats wanting to start our order. Because we didn’t even know what drinks we wanted yet and said as much she just walked off without saying anything. When doing this she walks over to the counter and proceeded to stare at my wife as if she was trying to see Into her soul (which she continued to do so throughout most of the dining experience, very uncomfortable time). Once she came back we ordered everything, when we got our drinks she went back to put the food in and when she came back over she rearranged our table from where we had placed our drinks putting them where she wanted them (which I thought was extremely rude and strange and she did so to the other group of people in her area as well). We got our food which we were very happy with. Food was hot and fresh. She then gave us the check and we did not feel rushed at all. However she was very cold the whole time towards us if we asked for anything I could
Hear her mumbling something under her breath in Chinese which I’m not sure I even want to know what it was. Because we felt the service was so poor we decided to leave a smaller tip than normal as we were not happy about it though WE DID LEAVE A TIP. However as we are walking out after paying this lady she has the nerve to walk up to my wife and point out the fact we didn’t give her the suggested tip amount at the bottom of the receipt as if we were to dumb to notice. So despite the food being good we will not be returning again. The waitress we had was an older lady with short hair. And yes I know there culture is more blunt and abrasive versus western culture but it was plain unacceptable. This was a restaurant experience not a visit to grandmas house that is not an appropriate way to treat customers

PS. The only reason I’m not giving it a one star is because the food was pretty good

Date of visit: June 2018
3  Thank shadowace888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2018

We starting coming here a few months ago. I've read the reviews and finally decided to stop in. We were not disappointed and have come back a number times. Nice clean atmosphere; great service with attention to detail and excellent food. Unlike most Chinese restaurants here, this is not mass produced take out style food. The spring rolls are a great starter; crispy and filled with flavor. Some of our favorite entrees are the orange chicken, Kung Pao chicken, General Tso's chicken. The dinner specials are great for the price and include a cup of soup (I always enjoy the wonton and my husband likes the hot and sour).

This is now one of our go-tos and favorite for Chinese cuisine in the Cape.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank n4cer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 19, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I loved the ambiance and the food! So pretty and delicious! The waiter was sweet and efficient. The restraunt decore was I expectantly lovely. You will enjoy this place, the food and the reasonable prices!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chen's China Bistro also viewed

Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Chen's China Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing