We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Clam Chowder”

Tony's Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 32 Restaurants in Cedar Key
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: PLEASE NOTE: Seasonal Restaurant Hours: October- November 2016 Monday thru Thursday 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM ( NOT OPEN FOR DINNER) Friday thru Sunday 11:00 AM -8:00 PM Please call ahead to verify hours before making long drives from far away.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome Clam Chowder”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Tony's is well deserving of their 3x World Champion Clam Chowder title!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MountainJessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    785
    363
    130
    31
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
illinois
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Don't miss the Clam Chowder!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Walking around Cedar Key late afternoon and saw sign for 3 Time Champion Clam Chowder winner. Heard it was good do stopped in for a snack. Mmmmmm!!!
Went back for very good dinner same night. Friendly staff and good service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
669 reviews
322 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 368 helpful votes
“Pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Since the clam chowder was advertised as having won several "world" awards, we wanted to try it. We hadn't yet decided to eat supper there. We looked at the menu & figured for the prices, we'd go elsewhere. We did order the clam chowder. It was thick & creamy but very garlicky. If you like garlic, this could be the chowder for you.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hola4876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
448 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Excellent food but high prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stopped here for lunch following Trip Advisor reviews. My combination of a cup of clam chowder and grilled cheese was very acceptable. The grilled cheese was on LARGE slices of bread and the chowder was very very good. My wife chose the fried oyster sandwich and hers was excellent as I sampled one oyster.
The service is fast and friendly and our total bill for the food and a bottle of beer for me and iced tea for my wife was $26. Not super value but as expected in a resort/tourist area.
We would definitely stop there again as everything was fresh and tasty.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tatliturk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreno Valley, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Gotta Love that Clam Chowder!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Small place but advertises that is a 3 time Champion of the Knorr Great Chowder cook off. Had to try and did not disappoint! am from California and I know I will be missing this! Service was very good. Also had clam strips and motzarella sticks. Was average. Clam strips could have used more seasoning.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank LorenaGus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tony's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tony's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing