We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camelot Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Was very surprised upon arriving (pictures online did not do this place justice), friendly staff, great location, great rooms. Would reccommend to anyone, look forward to return visit.

Steps from Beach, close to bars.

Stayed for a wedding right around the corner with three other rooms in the same resort, not one problem between the four rooms for our three day stay.

Room Tip: Some rooms have two bathrooms vs other rooms with only one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    53
    17
    4
    8
See reviews for
81
87
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glastonbury, CT
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Just finished up our third visit to the Camelot! The weather was amazing and we had a great time. Vicki, Nick and Bob go out of their way to make you feel welcome and if you need anything just ask, they are very kind, hospitable and happy to help. Camelot is across the street from the very wiiiiide Clearwater Beach, and is in very close proximity to convenience stores, delis, bars, restaurants and gelato!!! The pool area is nice and extra sunbathing room is available on the north roof. A convenient laundromat is next door.

The style of this condo/tel is home away from home, so you basically look after yourself and do daily exchange for towels, etc. They also provide plenty of pool towels for your convenience. If you would like daily service, just tell one of the staff and they are happy to do it for you. This place is clean and comfortable and honestly I prefer to take care of myself instead of someone coming in my room everyday. The gas cooktops with modern granite counters and cabinets are also convenient if you like to cook on vacation (I only cook breakfast)!

Camelot has mostly studios and 1 bedrooms, and yes, there can be noise issues, especially if there are kids screaming in the pool/common area at 8am. It is what it is, not a big deal to me. We are just two people so a studio is plenty. Bathrooms are kind of tight, especially the showers, so if you need some space in that department ask for a room with a tub when you make your reservation.

Rooms can have varying levels of decor, based on the ones I have seen I personally like 101, 103, 105, and 202. With that said, these are individually owned units and it appears that owners are continuously making updates.

We will keep coming back, and look forward to next time!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colafina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mentor, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2012

At the end of February I spent a week at Camelot just for some R&R. I looked for a small, simple, safe place for an older, single traveler--and got Camelot! My suite was small, but perfect for my needs. The shower would be a tight fit for a big person, but the room itself was clean and well appointed. It was nice to have a stove-top and fridge.

I'd have liked a chair that was a little more comfortable than the high stool-types that were at the table, but that wasn't a major concern. The proximity to the beach was great. Also, the trolley made getting around an easy matter.

The manager was helpful in answering questions, and the general "tone" of the place was quiet and friendly.

If I have the opportunity, I would definitely return to Camelot.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Granny_B2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakeville
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

As a travel agent I would have no problem sending clients to The Camelot! I was on a family trip during the week of March 3rd thru March 10th, 2012 and we all had a fabulous time. There were six of us and we had rooms 105, 205, and 106 i believe. First I have to compliment the staff, they were wonderful and so friendly! Every day we were greeted with smiles and asked how we were doing and if we needed anything. Secondly I have to say that it has a great location. Right next door is a mini-mart where you can find pretty much anything you would need and there is also an open air laundry facility next door(units dont have washers/dryers). Right across the street is the beach and the Palms Pavilion which has a great outdoor seating area to catch the beautiful sunset. From the Camelot you can walk to anywhere on Clearwater Beach! The building is an older building and it does show some of its age, but all three of our rooms were in good condition upon arrival and clean. It should be noted that there are kitchens in the units as well.

All in all this is a wonderful property that I would definately stay at again and probably will.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank awholebigworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baden, ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

The pros- across the street from a beautiful beach and the people who work there are very friendly and kind.
The cons- Very dirty. At first we thought the bath was so old that the stains were engrained. But no, it was black with dirt that easily came off with some comet so it just had not been cleaned at all. There were pubic hairs in it and other hairs around and in the sink and toilet. The bed linen including the bed spread smelled of dirty hair. In fact, the entire one bedroom suite smelled liked dirty hair. The kitchen was also very dirty. We spent a couple of hours cleaning but the smell never left. I never sat on the couch or chair at all - that disgusting.

Also the walls are like paper - you can hear people's entire conversations as they sit and lounge in front of the pool.

I am afraid that I simply cannot recommend this place, no matter how nice the staff is.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lynn a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeminoleSteven, Director of Sales at Camelot Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Thank you for your review. The friendly staff as you stated are more than happy to help you with any issue you had during your visit. We only wish you would have given them the opportunity to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MN
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed at the Camelot Beach Resort for 5 nights last week, and we were very happy with our stay. This is a cute little motel/hotel that is walking distance from great restaurants, shops and of course the beautiful beach. Our room had a small kitchen area with fridge, stove top, microwave and sink. The bathroom was a bit small but served our needs, and had great towels. There are also beach towels available to check out during your stay. The pool is in the middle of the hotel and is heated to a great temp that is wonderful after a day at the beach or a long run or walk.
The staff is what made this place great! Vickie and staff checked on us each day to see if we were in need of anything. There was always a smile and hello from everyone we came across, including other guests. We would stay here again in a heartbeat! So, go and give it a try and enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MC85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fly Creek
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This is a nice place close to the beach very friendly staff help with any thing you need. Very clean not fancy but very nice. I would go back again

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.3 km away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#8 of 98 in Clearwater
2,372 reviews
1.1 km away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 98 in Clearwater
1,236 reviews
1.1 km away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
1.8 km away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
0.8 km away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#21 of 98 in Clearwater
4,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Beach Resort

Property: Camelot Beach Resort
Address: 603 Mandalay Ave, Clearwater, FL 33767-1630 (Formerly Royal Camelot)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Camelot Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Camelot Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Camelot Hotel Clearwater
Camelot Beach Resort Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing