We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pool area for kids”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Ranked #14 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great pool area for kids”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Stayed here with friends and family and had a great time. The pool area is the winner for the hotel. Excellently maintained by the staff with a cafe and bar serving all your needs and well priced too.

My daughter met lots of friends and played with all the toys provided by the hotel, what mor can you ask for as a parent.

Overall a great hotel, but be aware this is a conference hotel. There was a function on and the pool area got taken over on the saturday. To eat I would recommend the Columbia for evening meal and Maggie maes for breakfast both of which are across the road.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 70'sThrowback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSK1160, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
We are so pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable time at our pool! Our associates at the pool sincerely enjoy having activities and games for the kids to enjoy! Thank you for your review on our property, and we hope to welcome you back to the Sheraton Sand Key Resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,046
    978
    342
    128
    52
See reviews for
960
768
51
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wemo
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I know the word resort is in their name, and that is a bit deceiving to people who are used to a "typical resort" with lots of pools, clubs, etc. This really is not that sort of place. If you are looking for a beautiful hotel on a gorgeous beach with unbelievable service, this IS the place. The restaurants have great food, the beds are amazing....I have been staying at this hotel since 2001 and the employees I met back then- from the bellman, front desk staff, to the bartenders STILL remember my name.

Yes, the walk from the property to the gulf is a bit of a walk (and who doesn't need it these days!!). The property is right on the beach, but to get to the water itself will require that you put on your sand shoes and walk to it! What's great is, Sand Key is extremely close to all the Clearwater Beach activities, but it's not on Clearwater Beach- so if you are going during Spring Break season but are not interested in hanging out with college kids and crowds, you will be thrilled with this location. During busy season, the bar staff drive out on their sand gators to take drink and snack orders. I want to go back right now!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSK1160, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Thank you for such a great review on the Sheraton Sand Key Resort. We are aware how many options there are in the area for lodging so we greatly appreciate your repeat business! We also appreciate the kind remarks regarding the cuisine, and the comfort level of our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back yet again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raleigh,nc
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I was very pleased with a weekend stay here for a conference. Rooms were very
clean with a much better than average mattress. We upgraded for a view which was
worth every penny. The staff was much more courteous and helpful than I would
have expected at a Sheraton---always smiling and saying hello Ritz style.
The beach was lovely---it is a little walk to the ocean, but it is well maintained, clean
and feels secluded next to the park. And the soft white sand was much more Carribean
like than many parts on the Florida coast. I also highly rec. a trip up to the fitness center---
fantastic panoramic views and great range of equipment.

Room Tip: Pay for a view---the breeze and sunset will help melt the stress so you feel human again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raleighgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This was our third trip to Sheraton Sand Key. It has become our favorite getaway destination in Florida. The rooms are clean, beds truly heavenly, and we thoroughly enjoy dinner at Rusty's...the only restaurant located in a hotel that we've ever liked. This trip we were delighted when the wait staff remembered us from our last visit two years ago. The beach is gorgeous and invites long walks, while the water is typically calm in this area of the Gulf. This trip our room overlooked the pool, beach and sunsets. We spent an hour with some wine and cheese from the concierge floor sitting on our balcony, watching families with kids play in the pool as the sun set. Our second favorite Tommy Bahamas clothing store is a short walk up the road (surpassed by the TB Outlet in St. Augustine). Last trip we rented kayaks and went parasailing, while this trip was more of an R&R mission. We will return to this hotel.

Room Tip: We are Starwood Platinum members and were upgraded to a suite without asking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBrand22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

This a top resort destination on the barrier islands of Clearwater Beach. It's right next to the Sand Key State park and in a prime location. The rooms were clean and cleaned daily. All the room ammenities were replaced without asking. Free coffees and teas in the room with complimentary bottles of water.
At the bar they served me a delicious half pound Kobe beef burger with more fries that I could eat in a sitting. The main restaurant has a nice breakfast buffet in the AM and turns into a top notch resaurant in the evening. I recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mralexanderb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

First...yes, this property is more hotel than resort, and yes, this property is in need of a make-over...but....the staff will make you feel like you made the right choice. Without exception we ran into nothing but the most accomodating people who work here. If we called for something to be fixed in the room, someone was knocking on our door within minutes...usually someone like my dad who came in, asked how you are doing, where are you from...there you go, all fixed! Have a nice day. Service can mean more than location and facitilities most times. BTW, prices in the restaurants...quite good. One more tip...book a meal at the nearby ISLAND WAY GRILL for one of the best dinners you will ever have.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin_Frankish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montecito, California
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I had a bad experience all around at this hotel - not a resort as they named it - but want to be specific so you can choose. I went there to relax on the beach at a resort. Here are a few things I consider that make a hotel a resort; Several Big Pools for different styles - not here, a waterfall - nope, a slide - nope, lush vegetation - nope, a grotto - not here, a beautiful location on the sand - nope, quiet luxury - nope, an upgrade floor - not here, big room, uh uh, sun filled room, nope again, balconies to enjoy the sun on – not here. I could go on and on describing expectations and they are not in this Resort. What do you get? A single medium size pool where because of positioning and other surrounding buildings gets little sun shine and with loungers that fill up fast and are hard to get. The rooms based on the way they laid out the hotel and their positions are quite dark and smaller for a Sheraton. Although I paid for the Club floor (there is none) I got a smaller room "facing the beach" which in fact faces a tennis court, a small bog, two tractor trailers, the dog park and the uphill on ramp to the bridge which makes it impossible to keep your patio doors open at night due to the road noise. Wouldn't you think you could keep the door open at night at a resort? By the way there is no club floor but they allowed me to use the club lounge which had snacks. I asked if I could move the second day to the Marriott across the street without penalty and they miraculously found me a room facing the pool. This is an older hotel. Every room has a small balcony with the old sliding glass doors which when you close them slam shut with the noise that will make you bolt up in bed at night.. By the way the beach is a fair walk; no beach towels supplied just small bath towels which is not resort either. If you do go for the walk the beach it is about 1/4 of a mile but take sandals as the entire beach is cracked shells and it is very hard on your feet. If this was a hotel charging $150 a night this would be a different review but when you see the pictures and you read the blurbs you are buying a Mercedes and getting a small Kia. The two women who work on the club room are wonderful and their service and attitude is great but you would need to clone them 20 times to fix all that is bad here.

Room Tip: DO NOT take a room facing the tennis courts the trucks and cars down shifting to get up the ramp wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jimnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
3.0 km away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#7 of 98 in Clearwater
2,392 reviews
2.0 km away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
2.2 km away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 98 in Clearwater
1,250 reviews
2.5 km away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#22 of 98 in Clearwater
4,672 reviews
0.3 km away
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Sand Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Property: Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Address: 1160 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767-2703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#6 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#16 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#16 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Sand Key Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White sand beaches and the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico greet you at the Sheraton Sand Key Resort, set on Clearwater Beach and surrounded by gorgeous views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Sand Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Sheraton Clearwater
Clearwater Sheraton
Sheraton Sand Key Resort Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing