We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (11,225)
Filter reviews
11,225 results
Traveller rating
5,208
3,479
1,545
513
480
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,208
3,479
1,545
513
480
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom unitbuccaneer baynice resortfamily vacationbig kahunagrocery storemain poolall ageswasher and dryertime sharegreat vacationwater parktimeshare presentationrecommend this resortzip linemini golfspring break
Filter
Updating list...
10,100 - 10,105 of 11,225 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We have been to Summer Bay before and the resort itself did not disappoint. We were with our grandchildren this time (6 & 9) and had a fabulous time. I can't say enough about the activities staff. We had such a good time. We stayed in the Villas which were perfect for our needs. Unfortunately, we also signed up for the timeshare presentation. We are owners here and were treated well before so just wanted an update and to see units we hadn't seen before. We were disrespected, bullied and told half-truths and the "90 min." presentation went on for over 2 1/2 hours. I can't believe they treated their own owners that way. We will never take another time share presentation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 14, 2013

My family recently stayed at this resort for one week, in a one-bedroom suite. The room itself was fairly clean, the pool seemed great (though we never had a chance to take a dip) and we had a nice view of the lake, however my compliments essentially end there.

The kitchen unfortunately lacked in adequate storage space, however it was still manageable. The pull-out bed from the couch was horrid. I have slept on many couch-beds, and none have contained a plastic-wrapped mattress and such sharp springs as this one, it really made sleeping difficult being poked and feeling/hearing the plastic with every move.

The service is truly the downfall of this resort. The staff is generally apathetic and dismissive. We had a nightmare checking in, and were fed up with being 'brushed off' by the staff anytime we had inquiries. The resort provides no service when it comes to towel changes (charged, upon request), garbage removal nor general room cleaning. This resulted in having to anxiously call the front desk several times when we were constrained for time and needed items ASAP. (Having to wait upwards of half-an-hour for simple amenities!) Furthermore, the resort charges a ridiculous amount for terribly slow Wi-Fi which was absolutely frustrating.

Summer Bay is nice to look at, but it would be in their best interest to hire helpful staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NSIY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We love Summer Bay and have stayed there many times on timeshare points. It is a perfect, quiet resort for seniors and families. Just don't agree to the timeshare "presentation" as it really depends on who you get as to whether you are treated with respect or not. We are timeshare members and agreed to attend the presentation to get an update and to see the houses which we had not seen five months earlier. When we told the representative that we had been there in May and only wanted an update and we were holding him to the "90 minute" presentation that we had signed up for he said, "Good luck, they lied to you". For over 3 hrs. we were told half truths about our previous timeshare (that's why we didn't leave), treated with disrespect and bullied. I have been to many timeshare presentations and have never been treated like this. It isn't worth anything that they promise you at the end. Just don't do it!

Room Tip: The Villas (2 bedroom/2 bathroom) are roomy and very nice. People should be aware that you may be some distance from the 2 heated swimming pools in the winter. There are 8 pools in all but only 2 are heated.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank novascotialea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Everything about this Florida hotel was great! Nice clean rooms, Very spacious, very nice pools and spa tubs. Could not find anything wrong with this hotel. We are parents of 3 young very energetic boys and they always had something to do. Nice beach area with watersports and fishing. Gas grilles near the pool areas to grille your dinner to perfection, Would highly recommend to anyone. Scott, Lisa Jervis and boys

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jervy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We just returned after a week stay in a 1 bed condo at Summer Bay Resort. This resort has extremely poor sevices, almost "Zero" services. No cleaning, no towel changes and not even garbagge removal. I have stayed in sevral resorts this is first one where we do not get any periodical services! Their service desk at the check-in is a joke, nobody knows how the system works. We personally checked-in on the arrival day during morning hours with credit crd imprint/hold etc. and were told to come in at 2 pm for the room to be ready. We drove out some visits and called the front desk to check for the room and they found no information. Obviously alarmed we drove in at 4 pm cutting short our visits and was again apalled that they donot have any records of our morning check-in, they even lost our cerdit card imprint!!! There were a lot of agents at the counter but nobody knew what to do. We waited for the "Manager" to get free, who incidentally was having a loud argument with another customer right by our side. The customer an elderly gentleman was mildly trying to explain to the Manager how the resort should be dealing with his request and all I could hear was the Manager yelling back to him repeatedly "this is how we do it as per our policies". After the frustrated gentleman finally walked away the Manager came over to us but did not bother even hearing out the lady agent explain the situation. Looked like he was too familar with such situations and so he quickly keyed in a few things on the computer and got us a suite and just walked away with out even looking at us. We were glad and considered ourselves lucky to get a suite (after having booked 6 months in advance!) grabbed the keys and rushed out to check to check out the unit, wondering wats waiting for us in this "customer unfriendly" resort. The resort looks good as you drive around with a decent size pool. Fortunately the suite was ok, not great by any means. It was clean but the bedroom carpet was dirty, begging for a change. The bathroom counter is tiny, too tiny even to hold my shaving stuff around it. The kitchen was small with very limted utensils of poor cheap quality. The pullout couch bed is the worst quality I have ever seen, you can feel the steel rods under! My girls had a tough time catching any sleep on it. We will never ever go back there again!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CalBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews