We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great spot to spend a night and have a great adventure!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plantation on Crystal River

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Plantation on Crystal River
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great spot to spend a night and have a great adventure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed for only one night and went on the Manatee tour. We saw 25-30 manatee! The place was clean, comfortable, great food and atmosphere. For 100.00 a night you can not go wrong. Two double beds for 3 of us in a large room. Wish we had more time to spend at this spot. They had all kinds or snacks in the bar at dinner during the wait time. Drinks were pured generously, Highly recommend a visit- Manatee tour great for adults and teens of all ages! You can not go wrong with this resort!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calvin1435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    513
    186
    73
    47
See reviews for
434
555
28
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We returned to the Plantation on our way home from Naples. I had mistakenly booked a room that looked at the garden and the desk quickly switched us to a water view room and got us a rollaway. The front desk was helpful and quick as we were trying to make our 2pm mantee tour. The our large room opened to a patio and the river. The rooms in our wing have all been redone and ours was lovely. The grounds are immaculate and the pool on the river is beautiful. This is the nicest place in Crystal River by a long shot. We had great cuban sandwhiches for lunch and dinner on the river at The Ale House. Went with Capt.Stacy to swim with the manatees,this was our second trip with her and you couldn't ask for a better guide. Stacy has a small boat ,so its essentially a private tour. A great way to top off our trip to the beach.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank letmepack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, GA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

They are painting and updating the rooms and halls. Our room was a king upstairs. After two nights of not sleeping we discovered the cooling unit for the airconditioning was above our room...noisy! Leave your fan to block the noise. Bathroom very compact. The only mirror is in the bathroom. The kindest help was the maid, who was polite. The rest of the staff is distant and not very helpful. This is a hotel that does not offer free breakfast nor free internet in the rooms. Our fried was given a totally different price than our exact same room. I recommend calling the hotel direct and check their website for deals.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank momkidsSCUBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Just returned from an overnight stay at the Plantation. We had booked the "Manatee Package" which includes one overnight, breakfast, and a snorkel swim with the manatees. It was one of the most amazing experiences of my life. I will submit a separate review for the tour, but highly recommend booking this package as it has great value for the money. As for the hotel, we had a pleasant stay in a water-view room, generous breakfast and extremely nice staff. They are very accommodating, you can request a late checkout if you are booked on the tour with their dive school right next door.

Room Tip: definitely water-view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPeachM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

The Plantation on Crystal River is a wonderful destination vacation! The Plantation is an oustanding full service facility. The entire family can enjoy all the excellent ammenities the resort has to offer, from the guided tours to just playing on the grounds. The hotel has undergone an elegant refurb this year, inside and out, yet still maintaining the old Florida charm. We stayed on the main level which had sliding doors opening up to a patio overlooking the green lawn and waterway. We dined in the restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner and enjoyed some fantastic dishes. The staff is friendly and attentive. There is a full service spa, golf and of course the dive shop. We really enjoyed relaxing by the pool which over looks the river, a very scenic peaceful view. As a family with two young children, we find that this is the perfect vacation. The boat ride to Three Sisters, snorkling with the manatees, playing shuffleboard and croquette on the lawn, a spa retreat and healthy dishes served up. It's a wonderful nature experience and makes for an excellent vacation memory. We look forward to staying at the Plantation again!

Room Tip: We really liked staying on the main level, nearest to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed in the golf villas in February, after they had completed a partial renovation. All they seemed to have done with the renovation is update the flooring and repaint everything. The villa, though otherwise dated, was spacious, well-maintained and clean. We loved that the “back door” opened onto the edge of the golf green, so our young children could play out there while we sat outside on the patio and had our morning coffee. The staff at the hotel is very slow (seems to be understaffed), but very friendly. The room was pricey for what it was, but it still seems to be the nicest, most spacious option in town.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sir911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky,USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I can't say enough about how lovely our visit was to the Plantation on Crystal river. Our room was spotless, all the furniture and carpeting new. Every staff member we met had been with the hotel for many years and seemed genuinely proud to work there. The restaurant and bar area served wonderful food, my favorite, the macaroni and cheese in a bechamel-like sauce and the shrimp and grits with andouille sausage.

We took a manatee tour from the dive shop 2 minutes from our room one day, (which was incredible,) and rented a johnboat another day. In both cases, the staff was incredibly helpful and accomodating.

The whole experience was relaxing, comfortable and very pleasant. Can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: The garden view rooms let out onto the green bank on one side of Crystal River and water birds were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thelmagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crystal River hotels
2.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Crystal River
1.0 km away
Hampton Inn Crystal River
Hampton Inn Crystal River
#1 of 9 in Crystal River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
2.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Port Hotel and Marina
The Port Hotel and Marina
#8 of 9 in Crystal River
3.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
4.8 km away
Days Inn Crystal River
Days Inn Crystal River
#6 of 9 in Crystal River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
5.7 km away
Quality Inn Crystal River
Quality Inn Crystal River
#7 of 9 in Crystal River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation on Crystal River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation on Crystal River

Property: Plantation on Crystal River
Address: 9301 West Fort Island Trail, Crystal River, FL 34429
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Crystal River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation on Crystal River 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Plantation on Crystal River A hidden gem located on the Nature's Coast of Florida and the Gulf of Mexico, our beautiful 50-year-old eco-friendly and green luxury resort hotel's surrounded by the natural springs of Kings Bay. This bay, in Crystal River, is one of the largest spring systems in the state and home to more than 500 West Indian Manatees that migrate each year to the warmth of the springs. We sit on 232 acres of lush preserve land with emerald greens and grand oaks, and house hundreds of birds and wildlife that include: Osprey, Sandhill Cranes, Blue Heron, Red-Bellied Warbler, Yellow-Bellied Warbler, Neotropic Cormorant, Great Egret, Eagles and Grey-Horned Owls to mention a few. OUR HOTEL IS THE PLACE TO STAY & PLAY IN CRYSTAL RIVER, FL Centrally located from Tampa and Orlando, we are a great location for your next • Florida vacation • Corporate Meeting or Retreat • Florida golf vacation • Incentive Group • Florida Wedding • Family Reunion • Fraternal Groups Should you have frequent business in the Citrus County, we have corporate rates available. We have over 12,000 sq. ft. of flexible indoor meeting space and beautiful outdoor locations with water views a great backdrop for your special occasion, team building event, or to simply relax and take in the Florida Sunshine and perfect weather. Remember to visit Spa Bleu at Plantation while staying at the Resort to experience a moment of wellness at our first class Aveda Spa. Offering facials, massage therapy,body treatments, Vichy shower, pedicures, manicures, and a full hair-care Salon. And don't forget we are a world class fishing destination as well. Our Adventure center offers guided fishing charters as well and many other water based activities. Including our Trip Adviser top rated "Swim with the Manatee tours". We are the place to play and stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Plantation on Crystal River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation On Crystal River Hotel Crystal River
Plantation Hotel Crystal River
Plantation Resort Crystal River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing