We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic tacos”
Review of Agave Taco Bar - CLOSED

Agave Taco Bar
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Description: Agave Taco Bar: Agave Taco Bar was awarded BEST BITES on the Beach in the SOBE WFF! Voted {Best Mexican Restaurant} in South Florida by New Times Broward-Palm Beach! Born in Monterrey, Mexico, Ivan Alarcon’s passion for food began as a child in la cocina de Abuela Eli with home-style braised meats at family meals, street tacos on the way home from school and later on exploring various regional dishes during his travels throughout Mexico. Having migrated from Monterrey for a college education in the United States he began to crave those savory dishes and street tacos he had taken for granted so easily back home. A self-taught cooking aficionado he used recetas de la Abuela Eli to recreate those memorable flavors. Finding limited options of authentic Mexican food in South Florida led him in the early 2000’s to begin delving into catering parties to share his culture and the genuine flavors of Mexico. Ivan began to define recipes and envisioned the idea of a opening a neighborhood taqueria. In 2010 the opportunity presented itself, so he acquired a small 500 square foot catering kitchen that he then converted into the 1st of 4 locations for Agave.
Restaurant details
Description: Agave Taco Bar: Agave Taco Bar was awarded BEST BITES on the Beach in the SOBE WFF! Voted {Best Mexican Restaurant} in South Florida by New Times Broward-Palm Beach! Born in Monterrey, Mexico, Ivan Alarcon’s passion for food began as a child in la cocina de Abuela Eli with home-style braised meats at family meals, street tacos on the way home from school and later on exploring various regional dishes during his travels throughout Mexico. Having migrated from Monterrey for a college education in the United States he began to crave those savory dishes and street tacos he had taken for granted so easily back home. A self-taught cooking aficionado he used recetas de la Abuela Eli to recreate those memorable flavors. Finding limited options of authentic Mexican food in South Florida led him in the early 2000’s to begin delving into catering parties to share his culture and the genuine flavors of Mexico. Ivan began to define recipes and envisioned the idea of a opening a neighborhood taqueria. In 2010 the opportunity presented itself, so he acquired a small 500 square foot catering kitchen that he then converted into the 1st of 4 locations for Agave.
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

The best authentic tacos in south Florida. Same as you'd get in Mexico City. Great spot. Now on UberEATS so have gotten delivery too and travels well.

Thank FL_FOODLOVER999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvanAlarcon, Manager at Agave Taco Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Thank you so much for your review on Trip Advisor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (8)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2017

Everything tastes home made. All their tacos are delicious. Always ask for corn tortillas!!(Don't be a gringo) My favorites are Trompo (their version of Al Pastor) and the Spicy Shredded Chicken w/ Salsa Verde. The horchata is delish! And the Agave Nachos are THE BEST! I get them with everything, chicken AND pork, AND queso fundido!!! Hey, you only live once!

Thank MrsRivera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvanAlarcon, Manager at Agave Taco Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

We are thrilled to see you enjoyed our Davie location, looking for to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017

So, think of Moe's and a little better. That's this place. Not great, but a touch better than Moe's. I will come back when I am in the area

Thank johnU6171XN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvanAlarcon, Manager at Agave Taco Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2017

Hi, Thank you for your feedback and for your in store support. We hope to see you again at any of our South Florida locations so we can prove our concept to you! Agave Taco Bar Mgmt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

First time to this restaurant and at first it looks like CHIPOTLE, after I ordered and try the food it's a great experience, flavors and ambiance. Delicious fast service and reasonably priced

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JuanPablo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvanAlarcon, Manager at Agave Taco Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Thank you very much for visiting this location and for your online support with a review and rating of FIVE stars!
Hope to see you again!
AGAVE Taco Bar Mgmt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

I've been coming to Agave Taco Bar (previously Blue Agave) for YEARS...

This locally owned restaurant began humbly in 2010 at a small, hole-in-the-wall location in a Sunrise strip mall and has now expanded to four locations throughout Broward county.

The quality of the food is outstanding. I've visited the Yucatan peninsula of Mexico on numerous occasions and this is the closest you'll get to authentic Mexican food, not the typical Tex-Mex that is passed as real Mexican fare.

My favorite item on the menu is classically prepared Tacos de Trompo but everything on the menu is delicious!

Buen probecho!

Thank Jose R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvanAlarcon, Manager at Agave Taco Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2016

Wow, Thank you so much for taking the time to review this Agave Taco Bar location and for visiting us. Your feedback is important to us and our team, and we truly appreciate your comments.
Thank you and we hope to serve you again!
AGAVE TACO BAR Mgmt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Agave Taco Bar also viewed

Davie, Broward County
 
Davie, Broward County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing