We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Stay in your car if you wish.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Daytona Beach Drive-In Christian Church

Daytona Beach Drive-In Christian Church
Ranked #14 of 123 things to do in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ponce Inlet, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stay in your car if you wish.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Unlike any church I've seen. Right on A1A with stay in your car or inside seating during services.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank repok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    20
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Easley, South Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Honk If You Love Jesus!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

My wife and I live in the community and have always attended a "traditional" church in Ormond Beach. However, when snowbird friends come down we attend where ever they would like to go - which opens us up to new experiences as well as being able to be with our friends at the same time. A couple Sundays ago - all of us attended the Drive-in Church. They have morning two services for the convience of those who wish to worship at different hours for different reasons. When entering the drive-in - you will pass by the old ticket sales booth which now serves as a place for the "brothern" to stand and hand out the bulletin for the day. Parking is on a "first come first served" basis. There are no speakers to hang on the window as when the theater was operational but there is a radio frequencyto turn to which broadcasts the service. There is NO dress code - so if you've just crawled out of bed and still in pajamas or you've got a round of gold planned right after the service or you're going out for breakfast - it doesn't matter. In fact - bring your dog if you'd like - they get doggy treats during the offertory portion of the service. And, if you like what you hear during the musical portion - tooting your horn is perfectly acceptable. The bottom line is that you're here to hear the word of God and not worry about anything else. The denomination Christian and the experience - refreshing and well worth the time to check it out.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Gulliver911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach Shores, FL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great christian church with a great minister”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

My wife and I have attended this church when we are in Daytona Beach Shores since purchasing our condo there in 1997.
It is a wonderful church and you "come as you are" since you are in your own automobile. This is great for older folks since they avoid getting dressed up, getting out of and back into their car at the church and there are no steps to climb up and down and no hard bench pews. Simply get in your car, tune your radio to 88.5, and bring your pet. They give your dog, ours is a yorkie, a dog biscuit when you enter and when they take up the collection. The minister, Rev. Larry Deitch is fantastic, but is unfortunately retiring. He has been the minister since we have been going there and we will miss him greatly.
We were raised in the Methodist Church and this has a similar "main line" Protestant atmosphere. We sing and pray right along with the choir and minister right in our car.
Services are at 8:30 and 10 AM and last about 45 - 50 minutes total. Most Sundays we are able to enjoy the service under the blue skies and swaying palms with the top down on our convertible.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank montradwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach Shores, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Bible Based Church”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

When in Daytona Beach we always attend services here. It is a Bible based church with moving, thought provoking sermons, traditional Sunday hymns, a warm and welcoming membership, and you leave with a feeling of love and hope.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank mtoast50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orange Fl.& Kingsville Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My church”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

just drive in come as you are and you can bring your pets

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivaure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Daytona Beach Drive-In Christian Church also viewed

 

Been to Daytona Beach Drive-In Christian Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing