We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Fancy but Very Clean and Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel
Ranked #5 of 74 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2016

Even though we live in Central Florida, we run away to the Beach every now and then. This particular trip was scheduled to celebrate our birthdays which are weeks apart. I reserved an Ocean front room and wrote to Tropical Winds ahead of time asking for the uppermost floor possible. Upon check in we were welcomed by Gwen, a cheerful lady who was also celebrating a birthday that week. She accommodated our request and set us up in a room on the top floor. When we opened the door to our room we were more than pleasantly surprised. It was bright, smelled fresh and had every single thing we would need to settle in for the week. I am a bit fussy about cleanliness so I began to inspect the room to ensure that it met acceptable standards. Don't get me wrong, I am not a prude or snooty, and I only have an average budget to work with, but I believe cleanliness should not have to come at a premium. Everything I examined in the room was squeaky clean! This hotel is not fancy; the appliances were somewhat dated but they worked perfectly. The bathroom shower, tub and sink area looked new. The room was quiet every night and we enjoyed restful sleep on their comfortable beds. The bedding linen looked like it just left the Chinese Laundry. The onsite restaurant had a full breakfast/lunch menu at reasonable prices. I guess the best thing I can say about it is, we can't wait to return. Thanks again Gwen and staff. We found a new little Gem in Daytona.

Room Tip: The upper floor had wide views to the north & south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2016

Thank you for staying with us and for your very nice review. As you said, we are not fancy, but we do take pride in what we have to offer and our staff works very hard in providing our guests with comfortable and "squeaky clean" accommodations and a friendly and home like atmosphere. Gwen at the front desk is certainly one of our biggest assets and I am happy to hear that she greatly contributed to the success of your birthday weekend. We look forward to your next visit. Christine Lane - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,082)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 1,082 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2016

Room was clean and nice view of the ocean good price for ocean front king room. Staff was friendly and nice. We haven't been to Dayton in a few years so it was a nice place to spend a couple of days of a week at the ocean.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2016

Thank you for choosing Tropical Winds for your Daytona Beach visit. It is nice to hear that you had a pleasant stay and that we met your expectations. Hopefully you will be able to return in the not too distant future. Christine Lane - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016

clean room comfy beds great price and great location had a room suite both rooms had a balcony, there was a fridge and stove and a couch, plenty of space for a family will be coming here in the future

Stayed: November 2015
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2016

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind words. Sounds like we met all of your expectations and like you found a new home in Daytona Beach. We look forward to your next visit. Christine Lane - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

the outside is nice, the lobby is nice, the staff are nice, the rooms are nice....this whole place is incredible! we checked in with Mrs. Gwen, and she is amazing! Ran into a housekeeper, and she was amazing as well! they welcomed us so heartily, and was so sweet! the view is awesome! It's clean, the beds are incredibly comfy! love it so far, and it's our home for the week. A+++++

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank BrittanySharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2016

Thank you so much for staying with us and for your glowing review. We are so grateful for guests like you who truly appreciate everything we have to offer, especially our customer service and the friendliness and welcoming attitude of our staff. Offering the utmost hospitality is our goal. Hopefully the rest of your week's stay was as enjoyable as your first day. We look forward to your next visit. Christine Lane - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2016

First time at this hotel. booked thru Expedia for price and location. Couldn't be happier from the moment I registered till the day I left after extending my stay. The hotel was clean and well maintained right on Daytona Beach. I arrived at 10 AM expecting to be told rooms are ready at 3 and instead because my room was ready she checked me right in ( what a great 1st impression), I was there 5 nights and any interaction with the front desk, housekeeping, and maintenance was always friendly and positive. I hope to return in September and I will not look elsewhere for lodging. I operate a Resort in New Hampshire and know how important service is and this hotel does a great job.

Room Tip: ocean view with open balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank hondabob2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Wow - thank you so much for posting such a wonderful review. As you mentioned - great customer service is what it is all about in the hospitality industry and as a Manager I am very proud of all my employees who truly deliver this and work very hard to make everyone's stay as enjoyable as possible. Glad we were able to get you checked in early - this is something we offer whenever possible. We look forward to our next visit. Christine Lane - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2016

Lovely location on the beach, rooms were a good size and very clean, beds very comfortable but pillows were a bit lumpy. Bathroom good but would have liked shower gel as opposed to tablet soap.
All staff were friendly and helpful, ordering cabs and directions etc.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Whizwen21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind words. We will certainly check into the minor issues you mentioned, but are happy to hear that you will stay with us again on your next visit to the area. Christine Lane - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2016

We stayed here in March of 2015 for Spring Break. We had a double, kitchenette facing the ocean. It is in a less crowded area a little further from all of the "action" which was nice. There was a lot around the hotel in terms of entertainment, food, etc. It has a nice sized pool as well. The rooms were good sized and clean, and the staff was very welcoming! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lsmiller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Thank you for spending your Spring Break with us and for posting such a nice review. It is always a pleasure to hear feedback from guests who truly enjoyed their stay with us and appreciated everything we have to offer. We hope that you will be back in the not too distant future. Christine Lane - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
5.1 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
1.3 km away
Best Western Daytona Inn Seabreeze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
4.9 km away
Nautilus Inn
Nautilus Inn
#4 of 74 in Daytona Beach
606 reviews
1.7 km away
Plaza Resort & Spa
Plaza Resort & Spa
#11 of 74 in Daytona Beach
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel

Address: 1398 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-3600
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#4 Best Value Hotel in Daytona Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range: $109 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Resort
Hotel Tropical Winds Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing