We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect is all I can say!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Berkshire on the Ocean
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We booked our week's stay through a time share reseller on craigslist. We drove by and checked out the place and fell in love with it. I immediately called Terry at Just Go Away travel and gave her our credit card number. This was the most perfectly beautiful place to relax and hang at the pool or lay on the beach. All the units are 1 bedroom apartments and are furnished in tropical decor and very comfortable. They offer two built in gas grills if you want to cook out by the heated pool. They offer beach lounge chairs and umbrellas at no charge on their own private beach. There's a shuffleboard court and a putting green as well. They offer daily housekeeping service for an additional fee but give you new towels every day. If you want to be pampered go to a resort. If you want to relax, have coffee on your balcony watching the sun come up stay here!!

Room Tip: Try to get an apartment on the second floor. You can see the ocean from there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Roadqueenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2011

We stayed around the last week of June, and love it! Loved the smaller resort! Only has 24 units but i would recommend it to any one!! Quiet and clean, right on the beach!! Nice staff and the place is well taken care of!! I lost the room key which was $25, they ended up finding the key and sending me my money back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GOLFKING77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2009

The Berkshire on the Ocean is like my second home. I come here with my family since many years, often more than once a year! The appartements are very cosy in the typically floridian style! Big enough for four persons (grownups). The pool area is very private, so you can relax and enjoy the sun without having your neighbor shoulder by shoulder! Above all Delray Beach is - in my opinion - the greatest place in Florida. Nearly no tourism, very peaceful and clean and a GREAT BEACH! And Berkshire on the Ocean is the best place you can stay in Delray Beach (an sometimes also Delray South Shore Club).

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nelly82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2009

Wonderful location, great staff and owners. Just feet from the sandy beach and only a short walk to downtown Delray. Clean rooms and beautiful grounds. We were so happy with Berkshire on the Ocean that we immediately bought four weeks.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank DickWaterford_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2008

This resort was a part of one of my most favorite vacations. The little resort only has 20-25 rooms, and what it lacks in size it makes up for with charm. The small size doesn't allow for many amentities, but it does have games to borrow from the front desk, a putting green, shuffle board, heated pool, a charming courtyard, and a private beach. My fiance and I spent many days sleeping on the beach, with no disturbances other than the crashing waves. We did some fantastic snorkling and visited a nearby nature preserve on a hunt for alligators. The nearby downtown area is small and lined with locally owned shops and restaurants (You have to try Boston's).

The rooms were nothing luxurious, cyramic tile and block walls. The kitchen fit one person comfortably, otherwise you are going to be dancing around each other while trying to cook (it was more like a full kitchen stuffed in a closet). I mean this endearingly, because I personally love this resort! While out on the putting green, the ambiance/look/feel made me feel like I had time traveled back to the 50's. The rooms do not have private patios, but do offer plastic chairs in front of the door facing the courtyard.

Note - all rooms open to the courtyard and only the upper level end rooms might catch a glimpse of the ocean.

  • Stayed: August 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
10  Thank Nikke99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delray Beach
1.8 km away
Delray Sands Resort on Highland Beach
2.5 km away
Delray Beach Marriott
Delray Beach Marriott
#4 of 15 in Delray Beach
1,070 reviews
0.3 km away
Delray Breakers on the Ocean
Delray Breakers on the Ocean
#11 of 15 in Delray Beach
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Wright by the Sea
Wright by the Sea
#1 of 15 in Delray Beach
415 reviews
2.4 km away
Residence Inn by Marriott Delray Beach
2.2 km away
Crane’s Beach House Boutique Hotel & Luxury Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkshire on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkshire on the Ocean

Address: 1775 S Ocean Blvd, Delray Beach, FL 33483-6560
Region: United States > Florida > Delray Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Delray Beach
Price Range: $252 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkshire on the Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Berkshire on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkshire On The Ocean Hotel Delray Beach
Berkshire On The Ocean Delray Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing