We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Wingate by Wyndham Destin(Destin)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin(Destin)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$278
US$269
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$260
US$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin(Destin)(Great Value!)
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$228
US$209
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn(Destin)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$400
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$374
US$330
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,870)
Filter reviews
2,870 results
Traveller rating
1,361
815
338
211
145
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,361
815
338
211
145
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbunk bedssushi barjunior suitebreakfast buffetself parkingpartial viewindoor poolper daybaytowne wharfoff seasongreat resortspring breakbeautiful propertybring your ownfamily vacationwhite sandemerald coast
Filter
Updating list...
2,478 - 2,483 of 2,870 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2011

This is probably our 5th stay at the Hilton and we had another great time. Checked in early Friday and was upgraded to the junior deluxe suite on the top Hilton Honors floor. The room was clean and quiet. The property was recently remodeled and looks great. We like going during the offseason to save money and having to deal with fewer crowds in Destin. Beds and pillows could be softer.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GulfCoastFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 13, 2011

This place is designed as a destination resort, where you spend all your time (and money) in one place. Some of the charges you can avoid - like bringing your own beach chairs to avoid the rental fees. Others are just plain tacky, like the $10/day self-parking fee. Not to mention that there's no free breakfast. $10 just for the continental. Again, very tacky. This is compared to the other Hilton properties in town (like Hampton Inn) with excellent free breakfast. Lots of cigarette smoke lingering (especially in the ballroom area).

On the plus side, the location is fantastic - right on the beach! Good design so that basically every room has a great ocean view. The pool deck has been redone with low-profile fencing so you can really see the beach. Not a huge beach area, but you can easily walk to Topsail Preserve, which is deserted and peaceful.

Rooms are very nice and spacious, with great bunkbeds for the kids.

A nice surprise: we were there during November, and they had an outdoor fire pit on the pool deck!

Overall, a great place to stay - just annoying how they try to get your money with "extras" that should be included.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Stayed here for a company trip for a weekend - this is an all inclusive type-place and you don't really have to go outside of the resort for anything.
Rooms were big, we had a suite - had a seperate room w/ bunkbeds and a few LCD TVs. Bathroom was big and the room was clean - had a minibar, robes, etc.
Have a good bar/restaurant on the beach - and have assorted other places to eat as well, including Starbucks and Pizza Hut, onsite.
The breakfast buffet indoors was the only drawback - I'd skip that if I were going again - but we'd definitely stay here again if in Destin.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pacersguy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 10, 2011

My wife, 2 kids and I stayed here on Hilton points for our annual trip to South Walton. The renovations to the lobby and pool area are nice enhancements. As others have said, I was a bit surprised that guest rooms don't have wifi. We had the continental breakfast each day, again on Hilton points. The food was fine, but I felt that it was way overpriced. We likely would have made other breakfast arrangements if we hadn't received it through our points. The property was very crowded; there were multiple weddings going on during our stay. Staff was friendly and helpful.

This isn't a bad property but certainly not the nicest Hilton I've stayed in. It doesn't get more convenient than this one, though.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a beach view.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WGCx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Very mixed feelings about this resort. We were there for my stepson's wedding. Had trouble with reservations from the start. Seems like the hotel staff and the wedding planner not coordinating. Called several times and finally got the reservation right, or so I thought until two days before our arrival when I received an email that indicated we were in two different rooms for our stay. Not what my confirmation email sent. Again, several more phone calls but not fixed. So, I went on line and sent an email with the attached confirmation. Amazing what a complaint in writing will do. And voila, our confirmation was honored. However, I did not know that all was OK until I arrived as this was still being addressed when we had to start traveling. Not a great way to treat the parents of the groom.
The suite we had was beautiful as was the view, sunsets etc. Enjoyed the layout of the pools, decks and beach. Perfect for families with children who couldn't handle the rough surf conditions. Very good food at the restaurant but the breakfast options where a bit pricey. Staff was very friendly but unfortunately not trained in terms of wine, serving etc. One night we ordered a sauvignon blanc, got a reisling. Sent it back, corrected order came in time for dessert. Second night we ordered a cabernet sauvignon and received a sparkling white wine. Considering that this place is very pricey and is supposed to be luxury resort, this is just unacceptable and took away from enjoying the wonderful food. Poolside restaurant very nice - adds to the experience.
As with most resorts, towels were provided pool/beachside. One day they ran out of towels by 11 a.m. Not sure what that was about. Wifi in public areas but not in rooms which is a bit outdated for a first class hotel. Wedding was wonderful, great food at reception.
To sum it up, wonderful location, great food, friendly service, great rooms, very clean BUT reservation process was terrible, breakfast pricey, staff was untrained (though friendly) in terms of wine, serving ladies first etc. However it is definitely a great location for family vacations if you don't drink wine, need WIFI in your room, or expect exceptional service.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSBGeneralManager, General Manager at Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2011

Denise

Thank you for sharing your positive comments and constructive criticism regarding your past stay here at the Hilton Sandestin Beach Golf Resort and Spa.

Though I am pleased your overall stay was a good experience I will share your concerns with the appropriate department heads in order to correct our shortcomings. We take great pride in providing our guest with excellent amenities and great service. Whenever I am made aware that we have not meet all of our guest expectations we take action in order to prevent them from happening in the future.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Hilton Sandestin and we hope you visit us on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews