We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not a good choice” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
louisiana
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not a good choice”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Service is not very helpful or friendly. Much overpriced on everything. Pool was nice. Close to beach. Very confusing as to whether this is a stand alone Hilton, or part of the Sandestin Resort. Food was fair. Mixed drinks bad. Too many rules-we went to relax and enjoy.

Room Tip: If you must stay at Sandestin, consider one of the condos through Sandestin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank familytripper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,001
    669
    281
    178
    114
See reviews for
817
582
35
460
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mobile
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

I have stayed at this resort every year for about the past 6 years. My husband and I actually got married there and now we are bringing our son! Our most recent stay was for a work conference but we combined business with fun and had a great weekend. They have great facilities for conferences and meetings and this is a popular location for that. The rooms are great for families, as there are bunk-beds in a separate little area from main sleeping area and the sofa folds into a bed as well. There is a second vanity and sink in addition to the one in the bathroom. We had a partial ocean view room on the 10th floor and it was great.

There are 2 pools outside and a heated indoor pool, and a large deck area with direct access to one of the most beautiful beaches in the U.S. I was happy to see that they have re-vamped the outside bar and grill called "Barefoots." In the past, the so-called dacquiris were gross. This year, I was delighted to have a very delicious pina colada and they have various other frozen and fruity coctails that are very good. Looks like the menu is much improved as well and there is a sushi bar inside, but we didn't have a chance to check it out. The Serenity by the Sea Spa is very nice and offers a lot of great services, but it is pricy.

A negative is that they need more umbrellas by the pool and on the deck. It gets so hot and with a small child we really needed the shade. Of course you can rent umbrellas and beach chairs on the beach, but we like to stay by the pool most of the time. People get out there at the crack of dawn, and put stuff down to reserve chairs with umbrellas so get there early if you want one.

Overall, this is a great destination for couples and families, but if you are going for romance avoid times like spring break when it is PACKED with families and kids. Look for special rates offered by the Hilton. We love to go during the off season as well. Destin has great shopping and restaraunts. You cannot beat the location of this resort. Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KBearRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arkansas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Love this hotel! The fitness room and the spa were awesome, as well as my room. The rooms have a mini fridge and a microwave. Will definitely be going back here!

Room Tip: The Emerald Tower rooms have bunk beds for the kids and it is the taller of the two towers. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harley02chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

I am a frequent traveler and so I know the difference between a 2 star hotel and what a 4 star hotel should be like. This is NOT a 4 star hotel. I came with my family in March to spend a week on spring break. The receptionist was totally rude and in a hurry, did not explain anything about the room/ammenities, parking, etc., i mean i wasn't expecting a hawaian welcoming but she was rude.
Then, to reality - the room appearance was very nice, but the carpet on the room was wet and smell bad. I called the front desk to complain and they said that it must be wet from the cleaning service. The security box was terribly old (just a small box with a key instead of combination safe or electronic security code)
To the beach -- found out that I had to pay 40 dollars for a pair of chairs - when a lot of folks bring their own chairs from CVS or walgreens and save the money - it is a total mess out there and they have teenagers running the show - there are not waiters to bring you a cold beverage or food for the kids
The first day that I came back from the beach at 4:30 pm found out that my room was not clean yet (appartently this hotel cleans the rooms at 7 am when you are sleeping and they don't come back, i literally mean they don't!) when i approached the cleaning person to inquire about that, they literally threatened me and yelled at me - i felt like in a 20 dollars/night motel.
Apparently, all personel are in the same frequency: that is, being rude and disrepectful- the cleaning manager came the next day and assured me that the room would be better clean the next day - which did not happen - cleaning of the rooms was bad: they left ketchup and tootpaste in the sink, they did not wash the sink or the bathtub, they forgot to pick up cans of coke or even old cups of coffee.
The breakfast was very expensive and disorganized - i had to wait in line to be able to sit down for a cup of coffee - the buffet variety was not even close to other 4 star hotels i have been before -
THis is A BUSINESS convention hotel - be prepare to wait in line for everything, including elevators, restaurants, etc., they make you feel they don't care much about small families as they have plenty of business already
I think this property gets bad reviews because the Hilton probably doesn't care much about chaning or improving things as it seems to be the only 4 star hotel around - no competition means poor quality.
I would stay away from this hotel, unless you want to pay 300 dollars/night so you can clean your room.
oh, and don't bother bringing your laptop,ipad, they don't have wireless internet!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diazgel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

I and my wife stayed at Hilton Sandestin hotel for two nights in March. We loved this place! I had a great business meeting and enjoyed rest of our stay at this hotel. The view of ocean and pools from our balconies was simply breathtaking! It is easy to get in and get out of the hotel. Close to outlet mall.

We arrived into this hotel to find that all rooms were booked and we were allocated smoking room (I didn't indicate room preference in my reservation). I went to the front desk and spoke to the manager about our difficulty in staying in a smoking room. The manager understood our issue and then upgraded us to Presidential Suite (7th floor in the middle of hotel). Thank you Mr. McKee. We appreciate your wonderful gesture. Five stars service!!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are simply great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Day735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midwest
Level Contributor
160 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

We were headed to Panama City Beach (about 35 more miles), & had been driving all day. We were tired, & came on to Destin, Florida. We'd never heard of this area. The resort looked nice, so we thought we'd give it a shot for the night. We ended up staying three nights! This resort is on a beautiful section of the gulf. Beautiful pristine, white beaches. The resort was nice. The rooms could use a little updating---that would be my only complaint. The 2 hot tubs were great, as were the 2 outdoor & 1 indoor pool. They also had several restaurants. We ate off property all except for 1 lunch, which we had at the pool bar. My bronzed fish sandwich was tasty. The French fries lacked. All in all, we are glad we never made it to Panama---we heard that this area was a lot newer & cleaner, & we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Midwesternmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

First, let me say that i am a doctor, travel a lot, and never have the time nor interest to write a hotel review. But this hotel is so terrible that i think other travelers would appreciate some true facts:

Positive:
1 spacious suite with bunk beds
2 location appropiate

Negative, everything else!
1 expensive for what they offer - 3 star rooms at the price of 5 star
2 service is THE WORST hotel i have eer stayed at:
- welcome reception was Bad, without good explanation of the property
- everybody, i mean everybody is rude here- i think they should fire the GM - i tried to talk to him/her but no one was available- i will try to send a better review to an executive partner when i get back home:
The waiters are bad! They really dont care much about prompt service
The cleaning service came to my room at 5 pm! Can you believe that?
The beach is ok but they charge you 40 dollars for chairs and umbrella and they dont even provide with waiters or anybody to bring you drinks- people seat next to you with their own chairs avoiding the ridiculous price
The room had a security box from 1970s- required an old key - not electronic- so make sure you dont loose your key when you go to the beach!
Oh, breakfast buffett, prepare yourself to wait 30 mins in line ( and is not even spring break week)
Parking- pay 10 dollars a day and walk walk walk- or pay 20 for valet and wait wait wait
In summary, this hotel room was nice but old, the location is good, but the facilities are way overpriced and the service makes you feel like you are staying in a 40 dollar/night hotel.
This hotel needs some serious customer service upgrade, and the personnel needa training about what a 4-5 star hotel should be like.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank DrLung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
3.0 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
1.4 km away
Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
12.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
3.8 km away
Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin
11.6 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa
Address: 4000 Sandestin Blvd S, Destin, FL 32550-4279
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Destin
#1 Green Hotel in Destin
#1 Spa Hotel in Destin
#4 Business Hotel in Destin
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
#8 Family Hotel in Destin
#9 Romantic Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Sandestin Beach Golf Resort & Spa offers guests beachfront paradise with six restaurants, three bars, three pools, two whirlpools, four championship golf courses and Serenity by the Sea Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort And Spa
Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Hotel Destin
Hilton Hotel Destin
Hilton Destin
Hilton Sandestin Beach Resort
Sandestin Resort Hilton
Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa Destin, Florida
Destin Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing