We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No need to waste time searching for a better condo.”
Review of Destin Gulfgate

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Destin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Destin Gulfgate
Certificate of Excellence
Olive Branch, Mississippi
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“No need to waste time searching for a better condo.”
Reviewed 7 October 2011

My family of six had never been to Destin so spent countless hours searching for the best family condo. Settled on Gulfgate. Decided to explore the other options once we got there for future reference. The more we looked the more we realized that we would return to Gulfgate for every Destin vacation. Huge condo with incredible balcony views. Front desk staff was incredible.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lumpsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    18
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
165
42
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We just got back from our week at the Gulfgate and had a wonderful time!! We normally travel with our 2 teenaged daughters, but this time went just as a couple. This is our 5th trip down and we've stayed in a different condo each time. Every room has been well decorated and very clean. We prefer to stay in the upper floors for the great view from the balcony. We stayed the last week of September and had wonderful weather.

Our only problem this trip was we had a group of younger (early 20's) people come in our Thursday evening right above us and they turned on their rap music (which i normally don't mind -- I have teens....) and HEAVY BASS at 11:30 p.m. and played it until 1AM. We called the front desk with the answering service -- but they wern't able to do anything about it -- and suggested that we call the police (which we did not). The music started back up at 8am. The contract specifically states quite hours are from 10PM to 10AM. When we talked to Monica and Phill at the front desk -- they assured us they would take care of it. Phill kept working on the issue intil it was resolved.

My only complaint was the music started back up the last evening we were there around 6pm (which - they were in their rights to do) so we were unable to sit outside and enjoy the sounds of the waves -- you couldn't hear them over the bass vibrations.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KynziekateMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Our family just returned from our 5th year staying at Destin Gulfgate and as always, it was perfect. We rent the same condo every year and it almost is beginning to feel like our snd home! The units are clean, spacious and have an amazing view of the gulf from both the living room and master bedroom. The staff is top-notch and so welcoming, from the front desk to the guys running the beach set-up. The fact that it is a 'private' beach is wonderful for those of us with kids. It is never crowded and when you look up and down the beach, you will know how crowded some of the larger hotesl get when they have multiple rows of beach set-ups. Gulfgate is very family oriented and perfect for your Gulf vacation!

Room Tip: Go on-line and view the photos and each condo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ljgale70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

First we have been to all parts of Florida, however never to Destin. Thought we would try it. We looked on the website as to where to stay. The Destin Gulfgate looked really nice. We wanted a condo this time around. Well it being the number one on tripadvisor made our decision. Also on their own website you can view the condos. We were assigned a condo that had been redecorated and was ready to rent. Well it was fantastic. We walked in and could not believe our eyes. It was so beautiful. We really want to thank Riley for getting us this condo and the other desk employees for all their help. Everyone was really helpful. We got an inside parking spot and that kept our car cool. We had perfect weather and visited from August 27th -Sept. 2nd. We left the morning before Lee hit the area. We would come to stay again and at the Destin Gulfgate. The building is the perfect size and the beach was beautiful. No crowds either. Since we are from NJ our kids go back after Labor Day and that helped with crowds. We will be back, thanks again to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samerga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

As with all websites, you never know what to expect until you arrive. At the Gulfgate website you are able to look at individual condos, but still you never know. It was our first time to stay in Destin, and we had read the reviews here and decided this was the place we wanted to stay. We were not dissapointed at all. It really looked just like the website photos and video. Overall, very impressed. All staff were very friendly and welcoming. Very secure, clean, well-kept grounds outside and inside! Pool is small, but never crowded. Loved the beach set-up every day! We also really enjoyed the huge balcony. Inside condo was nice and for the most part very clean. Jacuzzi in master bath had some residue along the sides. Decided not to use it. Walk-in shower had low water pressure, and it took an extremely long time to get the water to be warm enough to shower. Evidently, the shower head above the jacuzzi does not work (at least we could not get it to work). Definitely need two showers for a two-bedroom condo. Fixtures in bathrooms looked very old. Could definitely use some bathroom upgrades. Not worth complaining about at the time, because we did not want to be disturbed by workers during our stay. Everything else was clean and well-kept. Very quiet. Rarely heard neighbors unless out on balcony and even then was not too bad. Our condo came with reserved inside parking and was a nice plus. Would definitely stay here again, but maybe a different condo number.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sacgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

This is our 2nd year staying at Gulfgate and we really enjoy the location, privacy and service. The beach is "private" so there are always plenty of chairs and umbrellas without being stacked up behind others. You can walk to the Back Porch restaurant which is very good. Gulfgate is a very family oriented establishement and thats why we will contiue to return. We stayed in 702 this year and it was perfect.

Room Tip: Rom 702 is upated and is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank astrosll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

The Destin Gulfgate is our favorate place to stay in Destin ! We have stayed in 4 different condos and our favorate is # 901. We love to sit on the beach and the balcony is fantastic ! We love being right on the beach and having the Back Porch Restaurant so close is nice. We often go to the Destin Pass -- Lucky Snapper -- for a sunset dinner. We have stayed in late May, late Sept., and mid Oct.. All were great. Our only problem is that on some trips it may be just my husband and I so we need to find somewhere with a 1 bedroom and a lower price. We watch the live Web Cam often !!!! Phil and Monica are great ! We look forward to going again..... maybe in Sept. or Oct..

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jean7883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
9.9 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
1.5 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
2.8 km away
The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort
13.4 km away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Destin Gulfgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destin Gulfgate

Property: Destin Gulfgate
Address: 1180 Scenic Highway 98, Destin, FL 32541-8528
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Destin
Hotel Class:3 star — Destin Gulfgate 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Destin Gulfgate Hotel Destin
Destin Gulfgate Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing