We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Best Stay Yet!!!”
Review of Destin Gulfgate

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Destin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Destin Gulfgate
Certificate of Excellence
Poplar Bluff, Missouri
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“My Best Stay Yet!!!”
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Was truly amazed at this Condo Unit and facility. We arrived December 29th and stayed untill January 1st. Upon arrival we checked in at they front desk located in the entrance of the building. We were greeted by a friendly employee and was checked in very quickly. When we got to our condo and opened the door I was truly in bliss. This 1400 sq. foot unit was in super shape and very clean. The balcony doors open in the master bedroom and also in the living room. The balcony is 30' long with stunning views. The beach is right there just a short walk from your room. For the non beach goes there is also a swimming pool. There are some covered parking and some outside parking. Depending on what Unit you get. I am not a beach type person But will come back to Destin and Gulfgate Condo's.


P.S. I am keeping the Unit number a secret so that I can enjoty it for my self!!!! I joke #202 .

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank JMOOREEllsinore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    18
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
165
42
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
525 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We have visited the Destin area seven times over the past several years, including five years at Sandestin and one year at Sundestin. The Destin Gulfgate was far and away our favorite rental. The two-bedroom condo (#304) was very spacious, clean and comfortable, and was filled with top of the line upgrades such as stainless steel appliances, granite countertops, beautiful tiled ceiling, and fully equipped kitchen. We also loved the 30 foot balcony with a table, several chairs, and two lounge chairs. There were also nice flat panel TVs and Blu-ray DVDs in every room. We were also VERY impressed with the staff, who were extremely friendly and instantly fixed a few small problems, such as a dead lightbulb. They really made us feel welcome. The location, near the harbor and the Destin Commons is also very nice. Staying here cost us less money than Sandestin has in the past, and we enjoyed it a lot more, both for the great unit and since we were right on a very nice beach. Gulfgate is actually only a few buildings down from Sundestin, but we felt the Gulfgate unit was much nicer and more modern. Overall, we had a great stay here and we'll be booking again soon for next year!

Room Tip: All the rooms have the same layout, so just go to their website, look at the room pictures, and use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

The Good---
For a rating on the overall Destin Gulfgate property, I give it 5 out of 5 stars. On the beach in front of the Gulfgate, I give it a 6 out of 5 stars ... really. The problem is with unit 1105.

We've been coming to Destin for 13 years and this was our second stay at Gulfgate. We love the staff, the property is well kept, and the beach is THE best (but please keep that a secret). The Good also includes its central location in Destin and it is in walking distance of The Back Porch restaurant.

The Good of 1105 is that David, the owner, is very nice and easy to work with, the condo is very large, and the view from the 11th floor is phenomenal. The sheets were nice as well as the heavy duty towels -- and the noon check-in is a great plus... but that leads to ...

The Bad and the Ugly---
The Bad and the Ugly of 1105 are what other reviewers have said and I should have listened to.... the place was filthy, outdated, and in disrepair. Bookcases, furniture, and light fixtures were covered in thick dust. Bathroom faucets were worn, closets were off the hinges, remotes didn't match TVs and didn't work, there was a section of the screen doors missing (so you couldn't leave the glass door open to enjoy the surf-sound without letting bugs in), and the kitchen is dated.

The simple reality is that with a 10am check-out and a noon check-in AND a one person cleaning crew, it is simply impossible to get the place completely turned over the RIGHT way. And it doesn't look like they have taken a full day to do a deep cleaning in a LONG time. Also, by not renting directly from Gulfgate, the front desk didn't know we were there so we had construction workers and even the fire department just walking in our place because they thought the place was vacant. Also, I found (no exaggeration THREE (3) ice scoops buried in the ice-maker by the bar -- while using a fourth one I found in the kitchen. Top hotels dump the ice between every guest – that obviously hadn't happened here in awhile.

So, we will return to Destin and will most likely stay at the Gulfgate again... just not in 1105.

And here's a little tip for Fall travelers -- wait till you get there to make reservations and get a 20% off walk-in special! Shhhh!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
29 Thank LivingLifeBarefoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaiden, Mississippi
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Condo 102 was beautifully decorated and very clean. We loved being right on the beach. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Parker Holly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carthage, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We have just stayed at the Gulfgate for the first time Oct 10 thru the 15 2011.The Gulfgate was great,from the staff to the grounds and room 306 was perfect.We are a family of three and wanted peace and relaxation and found it here.I would highly recommend this place. The room was clean and furnished with all the extras.When we come back to Destin I would look no further for a place to stay!My daughter was stung by a jellyfish and the beach attendant was great in treating the sting with windex { who knew}.I think his name was Kaci.The only thing I would change was the shower heads,which we noted on our review,they were just a little dated.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olive Branch, Mississippi
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

My family of six had never been to Destin so spent countless hours searching for the best family condo. Settled on Gulfgate. Decided to explore the other options once we got there for future reference. The more we looked the more we realized that we would return to Gulfgate for every Destin vacation. Huge condo with incredible balcony views. Front desk staff was incredible.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lumpsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We just got back from our week at the Gulfgate and had a wonderful time!! We normally travel with our 2 teenaged daughters, but this time went just as a couple. This is our 5th trip down and we've stayed in a different condo each time. Every room has been well decorated and very clean. We prefer to stay in the upper floors for the great view from the balcony. We stayed the last week of September and had wonderful weather.

Our only problem this trip was we had a group of younger (early 20's) people come in our Thursday evening right above us and they turned on their rap music (which i normally don't mind -- I have teens....) and HEAVY BASS at 11:30 p.m. and played it until 1AM. We called the front desk with the answering service -- but they wern't able to do anything about it -- and suggested that we call the police (which we did not). The music started back up at 8am. The contract specifically states quite hours are from 10PM to 10AM. When we talked to Monica and Phill at the front desk -- they assured us they would take care of it. Phill kept working on the issue intil it was resolved.

My only complaint was the music started back up the last evening we were there around 6pm (which - they were in their rights to do) so we were unable to sit outside and enjoy the sounds of the waves -- you couldn't hear them over the bass vibrations.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KynziekateMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
9.9 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
1.5 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
2.8 km away
The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort
13.4 km away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Destin Gulfgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destin Gulfgate

Property: Destin Gulfgate
Address: 1180 Scenic Highway 98, Destin, FL 32541-8528
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Destin
Hotel Class:3 star — Destin Gulfgate 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Destin Gulfgate Hotel Destin
Destin Gulfgate Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing