We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Quaint and Quiet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Englewood Lighthouse Resort

Englewood Lighthouse Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Englewood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Englewood Lighthouse Resort
Brandon, Florida
Level Contributor
125 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Quaint and Quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

We stayed here the last week of April. Our unit was clean and well furnished. There is a nice pool and we caught a lot of fish off of their dock. We cooked our catch on the gas grill just outside our cabin. I would recommend this resort for someone who just wants to fish and relax. Internet is intermittent.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula33559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    14
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
10
23
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

We stayed in one of their cottages for a week and had a very comfortable stay. The cottage we stayed in had a full kitchen which made it a pleasure to cook in. We had a huge screened porch with water views. There is a dock for fishing and an in ground pool. We found the location to be a short bike ride to Dearborn street which has many places to eat and interesting shopping. It was also a short bike ride to the nearby beaches. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank artentdrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West palm Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

Cute, clean, and quaint but dated. Close to beach, shopping, restaurants.
Not alot of nightlife very quite sleepy town. Close to Venice, Sarasota.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shabchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wpb
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

I just loved Englewood Lighthouse Resort. The cottages were clean and had everything that anyone could ever need. It was very quiet and it was just beautiful sitting on the dock .
It felt as if you were on a secluded island, yet just mins away is every store and restaurant you can ask for.
I am hoping to make this a yearly trip. Cant wait to go back

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzwpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2010

Although I am reluctant to share this "Hidden Gem" in Englewood, Florida.... it is the right thing to do. This is actually my 4th visit here in the past 2 months. Each time I return, it is like "coming home". This is a small group of "old Florida" cottages with all the amenities you could want. Each cottage has its own kitchen with full sized applainces and a regular sized kitchen table., a seperate bedroom, seperate bathroom, a den and most have a screened porch with nice patio furniture. The grounds are scattered with patio table and chair groupings, BBQ's, and lots of trees with spanish moss providing good shade. Among other reasons, I chose this place because it has a nice long dock with two captains chairs and a place to filet your freshly caught fish. I am here with a fisherman, and Larry and Lisa have nice fishing poles to borrow. The catfish are hungry and there seemed to be a fish on the line every few minutes.
We have enjoyed sitting on the dock with a bottle of wine, and fishing poles in the water under the moonlight. This resort is all about relaxing and spending some quiet time.
Do not expect elaborate surroundings or fancy bathrobes and room service. This is not a chain or cookie cutter experience: and that is why I love it. Lisa and Larry treat you like family, but are only around when you need them. The value is great, and the location is very good with a short drive to Englewood beach and the restaurants there. I will continue to visit, so leave me one cottage to enjoy, and we can all meet there.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank planandcramtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2010

On my 2nd day, still like it! Pool is being refurbished; working on internet to all cottages. Owners great! Central to stores, restaurants, short drive to beach, dock on premises, small beach area (wear shoes!). They have amenties for water/fishing. Very quiet, kitchen well furnished, have grills for all but 1 unit. Units are not large but more like mini houses, love that! Quaint, cute gets my vote every time! Also have terrific pictures/decorations. Definitely will return. :)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Learical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

When we arrived there was no-one around (key was left under door mat which was nice), come to find out the owners werent even in the state. However as the evening progressed, there was no light for the pool for the kids to swim, there was no dock light for us to fish, there was no "beach" as it was over grown with grass. My kids were very disappointed that we would be staying here for 5 days. Later that evening, getting ready for bed, I took out a sheet for the pull out couch only to find a "fresh chocolate stain" on the sheet, GROSS. Next my inlaws had sand, dirt and a human hair on their supposedly "clean bedroom sheets". Needless to say, that night I got on the phone to find another place for us to stay, which we did. We left the next day! Think twice about staying here.
PS-the

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familyfunwithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KLELB, Owner at Englewood Lighthouse Resort, responded to this review, 5 August 2010
At Englewood Lighthouse Resort, we really try hard to please everyone. In all fairness, we would like our future guests to know that because this party booked several units, we waived all the extra person charges and gave them free early check-in. Also, when there was a problem with a sofa-bed in one of the cottages, we offered them free usage of another cottage for their entire stay. At their rate of $80 per night for bayfront cottages with full kitchens and free dockage, we still believe that is a real good value. In our usual way of accommodating our guests, we let them check-out after one day, even though we have a two-night minimum. We even honored their multi-day, multi-cottage rate for the one night. We continue to strive to make all of our guests happy, as best we can.
Point by point, we would be happy to address their concerns:
1. We have a staff that runs the resort in our absence. After all, we need vacations too! We have a cleaning staff that also does the check-ins and companies to do the grass and pool.
2. Our pool closes around dusk. This is for the safety of our guests and prevents louder, late-night parties. We like to provide quiet-time for our guests who like to turn in early.
3. We have a light and receptacle on our dock for our guests to use. When we returned after these guests left, the light was on. We’re not sure of why it was off during their stay. The light has a switch that can be turned off for those guests who want to enjoy our incredible night sky.
4. Our sandy beach on Lemon Bay has natural sea-grass and mangroves. These are home to our sand crabs, minnows, and even sea-horses! For people who know the area, there are very few bathers in Lemon Bay. Our beach is great for kayaking though!
5. Of course, our linens are washed and prepared for our guests’ arrivals. When there was a complaint about the linens, we had a fresh set delivered to their cottage within the hour.
We take pride in our customer ratings and would invite potential guests to read all of our reviews. It is obvious that we try hard to make all of our guests have an enjoyable experience. You’re not just staying at our resort, you’re staying at our home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Englewood
1.0 km away
Sun Life Beach Hotel
Sun Life Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Englewood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
19.9 km away
Inn at the Beach
Inn at the Beach
#2 of 13 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
15.8 km away
Sunshine Motel
Sunshine Motel
#7 of 13 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 km away
A Beach Retreat
A Beach Retreat
#2 of 11 in Nokomis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
2.2 km away
Palm Manor Resort
Palm Manor Resort
#7 of 10 in Englewood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
18.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ambassador Suites Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Englewood Lighthouse Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Englewood Lighthouse Resort

Property: Englewood Lighthouse Resort
Address: 784 S McCall Rd, Englewood, FL 34223-3766
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Englewood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Englewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a quaint, six-unit resort on Lemon Bay in Englewood, Florida. All of our one-bedroom cottages have full kitchens, and are fully stocked with linens, and kitchenware. Our guests are welcome to relax or fish from our dock out in the bay. One of our new additions is our underwater fishlight to see all the night-time activity in Lemon Bay. We also have a seasonally-heated pool right on the bay. A bayside patio with grilling facilities is a great spot to experience our sunsets. A second patio with a grill is available in the circular common area. Free WIFI and coin operated laundry are available onsite. For our guests between August 6 through December 15, as well as January 10 through May 20, we have a regulation-sized shuffleboard court, free rentals of bikes, tennis rackets, and fishing rods, as well as a guest clubhouse with a great view of the bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Englewood Lighthouse Resort Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing