We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience authentic Florida!”
Review of Ivey House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ivey House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Neat as a pin, extremely helpful, courteous staff, lovely little courtyard pool area, tidy and serviceable (but very un-fancy) rooms, quiet and a decent breakfast. Great for families, especially those with adventuresome kids who are willing to get out of the usual theme-park, tourist-trap rut that most families fall into during Florida vacations. DEFINITELY spend the money on a guided kayak tour and definitely try to get John Lewis as your guide. He is patient, knowledgeable and funny. Kayaking is totally do-able for kids too but I wouldn't bring a kid younger than 8, no matter what. They just wouldn't get much out of it and it would be stressful for parents to keep an eye on them. Overall just a terrific one-of-a-kind vacation experience that made us feel grateful that there are still unspoiled places left in Florida, and places to stay when we want to visit them.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear Andrea S:
Thank you for hitting the proverbial nail on the head! We pride ourselves on being the best place to stay in Everglades City and on providing amazing Everglades experiences to our guests. It's so wonderful to have folks who still love nature and enjoy going off the beaten track to experience America's fantastic natural resources. I'm sure John will love seeing your comments: he is indeed a great guide and we are grateful to have him as our lead EvergladesAdventures.com guide! Happy travels to you: enjoy your explorations, wherever they may take you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

568 - 574 of 1,119 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed one night in order to get an airboat tour and a kayaking adventure in. A nice room, non-friendly check-in, average breakfast. nothing memorable, not a bad stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wildfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear wildfoodie:
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on TripAdvisor, although I'm sorry to hear you didn't receive a welcoming and friedly check-in experience. If you email me separately at Lisa@Iveyhouse.com, I'd like to investigate and make sure all our front desk staff is following our normal procedures to make everyone feel welcomed: we don't want to be non-memorable! Thanks for your help... we hope we have another chance sometime to improve your experience and impression!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed at the lodge 2 nights. The breakfast is great.
The rooms are small and the first night the bed was very soft (difficult to sleep). But then we could change room and it was OK for the second night. The staff is very helpful. Shared bathrooms and restrooms are really clean. There is a lovely swimming pool inside the building. And they organized great tours !

Room Tip: In the lodge, prefer room 9 to room 5 (very soft bed).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear Anne T:
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We're happy we were able to make you more comfortable on your second night, and that you found our Lodge to be very clean - and loved our breakfast buffet. We're also very pleased that you enjoyed one of our EvergladesAdventures.com kayak tours: they sure a great way to get a feel for the 'real' Everglades! Wishing you continued safe and happy travels...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Great place for staying in the Everglades, and the Cottage was perfect for our family. Staff very accommodating, friendly, and helpful. The pool was refreshing after our fabulous afternoon kayak trip with John--definitely a highlight of our trip!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear Ellen M:
Thank you for sharing your experiences with us! We're very happy you enjoyed not only our Cottage but that you had a fabulous time on one of our EvergladesAdventure.com guided kayak trips. We're also grateful for your kind words about our staff: we try very hard to give our guests everything they need while they're here! Continued safe and happy travels to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I vote with my feet. I keep returning here as a convenient base for exploring the surrounding area.

Room Tip: try the motel side to be near the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ocracorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear ocracorker:
Thank you for your short, sweet and succint review... we're glad you keep coming back: it's a pleasure to have such loyal guests! Continued safe and happy travels... we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Great place to stay in the Everglades...also really like the tours that go along with it, especially the kayak tour.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eaglescoach31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed at the Ivey House with another couple and it couldn't have been better - we got rooms next to each other and outside each room was a table and chairs around the screened in pool - so was ideal for us to visit every afternoon before dinner having some snacks and drinks - the staff was 5 star, giving us advice and so helpful - the highlight of our trip however, was the kayak trip through their eco adventures - don't miss it and ask for John if he is available - went on the evening trip and that was definitely one of the most interesting things we have done - 2nd half was in the dark with headlamps - saw lots of gator eyes and so many stars! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The rooms around the pool have frig's and are nice and good size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear Carolyn M:
Thank you! We're very happy you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Ivey House, and also your kayak trip with John: those night trips surely are amazing! It's one thing to see and feel the Everglades in the daytime, but it's even more amazing to experience it by night. We're happy you enjoyed your adventure as well as your stay with us. Thank you for sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Everglades City
16.3 km away
Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort
6.0 km away
Outdoor Resorts of Chokoloskee
34.8 km away
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#4 of 12 in Marco Island
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Everglades City Motel
Everglades City Motel
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
640 reviews
0.8 km away
River Wilderness Waterfront Villas, Everglades
1.0 km away
Rod and Gun Club
Rod and Gun Club
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivey House

Address: 107 Camellia Street, P.O. Box 5038, Everglades City, FL 34139
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Everglades City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Everglades City
Price Range: $118 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ivey House 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the magic of this secret paradise located in the heart of historic Everglades City. The Inn is the first Florida Certified Green Lodging in Collier County and features free WiFi, a scrumptious breakfast, a relaxing pool, and a friendly staff available to assist you easy access into unique and breathtaking areas of Everglades National Park. For 30 years the Harraden family has provided travelers ways to explore this World Treasure. Make a Dream Vacation Your Reality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your Ivey House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivey House Hotel Everglades City
Ivey House Everglades City, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing