We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Expected more considering price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ivey House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ivey House
Certificate of Excellence
Montevideo, Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Expected more considering price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

A bit expensive for the type of hotel, beds were not so comfortable and made a lot of noise. Breakfast was pretty good, overall pretty good but I was previously staying at a Hampton and this hotel disappointed me a little bit.

Room Tip: Cottage is definitely better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Cani_Castro:
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. I hope you were able to speak with a manager while you were here about your noisy bed: we do address issues such as that the minute we're made aware of them. We've recently replaced all our bedding, so I'm sure this shouldn't happen to anyone else, and we apologize if you were not comfortable. We are definitely not a fancy place, but we do take pride in being the cleanest, friendliest place in the beautiful Western Everglades!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    372
    78
    20
    12
See reviews for
289
526
44
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worthington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed at the Ivey House on March 31. My only regret is that we did not stay there longer. The room was cool and clean. The pool area was relaxing and lovely. Even the continental breakfast was fresh and well done. Our kayak trip was amazing - we'd all (my husband and I as well as our daughters 15 and 17) recommend the evening trip that comes back in the dark! My daughters were a bit skeptical about our time in the Everglades as we planned our trip, but after our stay at Ivey House and our kayak trip it ended up being a highlight of their vacation. If we come back to the Everglades, we WILL stay at Ivey House.

Room Tip: The rooms surrounding the pool area are lovely - and it is great to be able to step out of your door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Jo R:
Thank you for your great review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as your evening kayak tour... it really is special to be out in the Everglades at night, especially when there's a blanket of stars enveloping the sky and you can hear the peaceful night sounds. We're very happy that you, your husband and your teenage daughters all loved the experience! Safe and happy travels to you all... we hope we'll see you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Neat as a pin, extremely helpful, courteous staff, lovely little courtyard pool area, tidy and serviceable (but very un-fancy) rooms, quiet and a decent breakfast. Great for families, especially those with adventuresome kids who are willing to get out of the usual theme-park, tourist-trap rut that most families fall into during Florida vacations. DEFINITELY spend the money on a guided kayak tour and definitely try to get John Lewis as your guide. He is patient, knowledgeable and funny. Kayaking is totally do-able for kids too but I wouldn't bring a kid younger than 8, no matter what. They just wouldn't get much out of it and it would be stressful for parents to keep an eye on them. Overall just a terrific one-of-a-kind vacation experience that made us feel grateful that there are still unspoiled places left in Florida, and places to stay when we want to visit them.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Andrea S:
Thank you for hitting the proverbial nail on the head! We pride ourselves on being the best place to stay in Everglades City and on providing amazing Everglades experiences to our guests. It's so wonderful to have folks who still love nature and enjoy going off the beaten track to experience America's fantastic natural resources. I'm sure John will love seeing your comments: he is indeed a great guide and we are grateful to have him as our lead EvergladesAdventures.com guide! Happy travels to you: enjoy your explorations, wherever they may take you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed one night in order to get an airboat tour and a kayaking adventure in. A nice room, non-friendly check-in, average breakfast. nothing memorable, not a bad stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wildfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear wildfoodie:
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on TripAdvisor, although I'm sorry to hear you didn't receive a welcoming and friedly check-in experience. If you email me separately at Lisa@Iveyhouse.com, I'd like to investigate and make sure all our front desk staff is following our normal procedures to make everyone feel welcomed: we don't want to be non-memorable! Thanks for your help... we hope we have another chance sometime to improve your experience and impression!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed at the lodge 2 nights. The breakfast is great.
The rooms are small and the first night the bed was very soft (difficult to sleep). But then we could change room and it was OK for the second night. The staff is very helpful. Shared bathrooms and restrooms are really clean. There is a lovely swimming pool inside the building. And they organized great tours !

Room Tip: In the lodge, prefer room 9 to room 5 (very soft bed).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Anne T:
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We're happy we were able to make you more comfortable on your second night, and that you found our Lodge to be very clean - and loved our breakfast buffet. We're also very pleased that you enjoyed one of our EvergladesAdventures.com kayak tours: they sure a great way to get a feel for the 'real' Everglades! Wishing you continued safe and happy travels...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Great place for staying in the Everglades, and the Cottage was perfect for our family. Staff very accommodating, friendly, and helpful. The pool was refreshing after our fabulous afternoon kayak trip with John--definitely a highlight of our trip!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Ellen M:
Thank you for sharing your experiences with us! We're very happy you enjoyed not only our Cottage but that you had a fabulous time on one of our EvergladesAdventure.com guided kayak trips. We're also grateful for your kind words about our staff: we try very hard to give our guests everything they need while they're here! Continued safe and happy travels to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocracoke Island, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

I vote with my feet. I keep returning here as a convenient base for exploring the surrounding area.

Room Tip: try the motel side to be near the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ocracorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear ocracorker:
Thank you for your short, sweet and succint review... we're glad you keep coming back: it's a pleasure to have such loyal guests! Continued safe and happy travels... we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Everglades City
16.3 km away
Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort
6.0 km away
Outdoor Resorts of Chokoloskee
34.8 km away
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#5 of 13 in Marco Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Everglades City Motel
Everglades City Motel
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.8 km away
River Wilderness Waterfront Villas, Everglades
2.4 km away
Glades Haven Cozy Cabins
Glades Haven Cozy Cabins
#4 of 4 in Everglades City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivey House

Property: Ivey House
Address: 107 Camellia Street, P.O. Box 5038, Everglades City, FL 34139
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Everglades City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Everglades City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ivey House 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the magic of this secret paradise located in the heart of historic Everglades City. The Inn is the first Florida Certified Green Lodging in Collier County and features free WiFi, a scrumptious breakfast, a relaxing pool, and a friendly staff available to assist you easy access into unique and breathtaking areas of Everglades National Park. For 30 years the Harraden family has provided travelers ways to explore this World Treasure. Make a Dream Vacation Your Reality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Ivey House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivey House Hotel Everglades City
Ivey House Everglades City, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing