We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ivey House
Nearby Hotels
Everglades City Motel(Everglades City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 31/05
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Captain's Table Resort(Everglades City)
Free cancellation until 30/05
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$149
US$142
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marco Island Lakeside Inn(Marco Island)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 30/05
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott's Crystal Shores(Marco Island)
Free cancellation until 31/05
US$629
US$509
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,142)
Filter reviews
1,142 results
Traveller rating
602
416
88
22
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
602
416
88
22
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskayak tourmangrove tunnelsshared bathroomturner rivereverglades national parkbig cypressshark valleyair boat ridecovered poolplace to stayten thousand islandsbed and breakfastmorning kayakstayed one nightfresh fruithard boiled eggsold florida
Filter
Updating list...
579 - 584 of 1,142 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Beautiful old(1920) Inn ..Rooms large ,clean ,more unique in style than the normal chain..very pleasant
location is perfect for exploring Everglades- the guided kayak trip arranged thru the Inn was fantastic..wonderful guide and beautiful mangrove lined tunnels.. It has several very good restaurants within walking distance..staff is pleasant and well informed..a couple of quibbles- the breakfast is nothing great..similar to a ramada or travelodge..nothing home cooked ..steam table scrambled eggs,make your own toast..just ok.. The soap is the nasty pink stuff put in pump bottles and same in shower,towels thin and a bit raggedy..that said still is a unique and unforgettable place

Room Tip: All equally good
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fabtravel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear fabtravel7:
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We're glad you had a great time with us! You'll be pleased to hear we are finishing up our supply of pink soap in our public areas and are switching to a completely fragrance-free "green" soap bu Dial for the dispensers there and in our guest rooms. The body wash and shampoo in the showers have always been an eco-friendly, clear product, so we are wondering if perhaps you didn't use those products? At any rate, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope we'll see you again sometime! p.s. I've put a request in with our housekeeping staff to make sure we have no "raggedy" towels: that is certainly something unacceptable for us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We booked at Ivey House after reading Trip Advisor reviews. An article in Condé Nast Traveller appeared shortly after we booked, confirming that Ivey House was indeed a good place to stay. We arrived at 1am after a long flight from Australia and the staff had left our keys and instructions for us. They had also arranged our kayak trip the next morning, which was fantastic. The room was spacious and well equipped. Not fancy, but comfortable, with good bedding. Aircon worked well. The staff were faultless. Helpful and gracious. Breakfast was good, again not fancy, but high quality and tasty. (We suspect the scrambled eggs were powdered, but this is America!). The pool and landscaped surrounds - are first class - and a swim was very refreshing after our travels and local activities. We will definitely recommend Ivey House to our friends, confident that the family management's attention to quality will satisfy any traveller seeking reasonably priced, clean and comfortable accommodation in the Everglades.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear Etheldog:
Thank you for your kinds words: we're very happy you enjoyed your accomodations and kayak tour with us. It sounds like you had a great time and were well treated by all our staff: we always strive to do our best!
p.s. ... no powdered eggs here, only real ones!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Friendly and comfortable accommodations in a town time passed by located in the heart of Florida's Everglades. B&B guests get a substantial discount on Everglades EcoAdventures, guided kayak nature tours run by the owners of the Ivey House.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank He's Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear He's Anonymous:
Thank you for your short but sweet review of our Inn and eco tours! We're happy you had a good visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

A bit expensive for the type of hotel, beds were not so comfortable and made a lot of noise. Breakfast was pretty good, overall pretty good but I was previously staying at a Hampton and this hotel disappointed me a little bit.

Room Tip: Cottage is definitely better
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear Cani_Castro:
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. I hope you were able to speak with a manager while you were here about your noisy bed: we do address issues such as that the minute we're made aware of them. We've recently replaced all our bedding, so I'm sure this shouldn't happen to anyone else, and we apologize if you were not comfortable. We are definitely not a fancy place, but we do take pride in being the cleanest, friendliest place in the beautiful Western Everglades!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed at the Ivey House on March 31. My only regret is that we did not stay there longer. The room was cool and clean. The pool area was relaxing and lovely. Even the continental breakfast was fresh and well done. Our kayak trip was amazing - we'd all (my husband and I as well as our daughters 15 and 17) recommend the evening trip that comes back in the dark! My daughters were a bit skeptical about our time in the Everglades as we planned our trip, but after our stay at Ivey House and our kayak trip it ended up being a highlight of their vacation. If we come back to the Everglades, we WILL stay at Ivey House.

Room Tip: The rooms surrounding the pool area are lovely - and it is great to be able to step out of your door and be at the pool. The pool closes early so we had no issues with noise from the pool.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear Jo R:
Thank you for your great review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as your evening kayak tour... it really is special to be out in the Everglades at night, especially when there's a blanket of stars enveloping the sky and you can hear the peaceful night sounds. We're very happy that you, your husband and your teenage daughters all loved the experience! Safe and happy travels to you all... we hope we'll see you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews