We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay for One Night”
Review of Ivey House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ivey House
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Okay for One Night”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Found via online search. Photos and info are accurate on website. Stayed one night at the Inn. Room was relatively small, especially with a rollaway bed. Showerhead only worked when held as it sprayed the wall when placed in holder. Small refrig keeps food cool, not cold. Heated pool was luke warm. Nice breakfast buffet with scrambled eggs, sausage, bagels, yogurt, juice, etc. Charming decor in public area. Great gift shop, including camping gear to rent/buy. Surrounded by commercial establishments (gas station, post office, airboat ride launch center). 5- to 10-minute walk to restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Live4Traveling2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Live4Traveling2:
Thank you for sharing your experience with us: we're glad to have your feedback. We don't often have rollaways in rooms, because as you mentioned, a room can get a bit cramped with 3 beds! I hope you were able to report the problem with your showerhead, but if you didn't, please email me separately at lisa@iveyhouse.com and let me know your name and dates you were here so I can check that the problem has been corrected with that and the refrigerator. Our maintenance staff is great about fixing things very quickly whenever there's any difficulty. We'll appreciate your help... and thank you again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    583
    396
    85
    20
    12
See reviews for
307
559
45
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Beautiful old(1920) Inn ..Rooms large ,clean ,more unique in style than the normal chain..very pleasant
location is perfect for exploring Everglades- the guided kayak trip arranged thru the Inn was fantastic..wonderful guide and beautiful mangrove lined tunnels.. It has several very good restaurants within walking distance..staff is pleasant and well informed..a couple of quibbles- the breakfast is nothing great..similar to a ramada or travelodge..nothing home cooked ..steam table scrambled eggs,make your own toast..just ok.. The soap is the nasty pink stuff put in pump bottles and same in shower,towels thin and a bit raggedy..that said still is a unique and unforgettable place

Room Tip: All equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabtravel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear fabtravel7:
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We're glad you had a great time with us! You'll be pleased to hear we are finishing up our supply of pink soap in our public areas and are switching to a completely fragrance-free "green" soap bu Dial for the dispensers there and in our guest rooms. The body wash and shampoo in the showers have always been an eco-friendly, clear product, so we are wondering if perhaps you didn't use those products? At any rate, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope we'll see you again sometime! p.s. I've put a request in with our housekeeping staff to make sure we have no "raggedy" towels: that is certainly something unacceptable for us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watsons Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012 via mobile

We booked at Ivey House after reading Trip Advisor reviews. An article in Condé Nast Traveller appeared shortly after we booked, confirming that Ivey House was indeed a good place to stay. We arrived at 1am after a long flight from Australia and the staff had left our keys and instructions for us. They had also arranged our kayak trip the next morning, which was fantastic. The room was spacious and well equipped. Not fancy, but comfortable, with good bedding. Aircon worked well. The staff were faultless. Helpful and gracious. Breakfast was good, again not fancy, but high quality and tasty. (We suspect the scrambled eggs were powdered, but this is America!). The pool and landscaped surrounds - are first class - and a swim was very refreshing after our travels and local activities. We will definitely recommend Ivey House to our friends, confident that the family management's attention to quality will satisfy any traveller seeking reasonably priced, clean and comfortable accommodation in the Everglades.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Etheldog:
Thank you for your kinds words: we're very happy you enjoyed your accomodations and kayak tour with us. It sounds like you had a great time and were well treated by all our staff: we always strive to do our best!
p.s. ... no powdered eggs here, only real ones!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Friendly and comfortable accommodations in a town time passed by located in the heart of Florida's Everglades. B&B guests get a substantial discount on Everglades EcoAdventures, guided kayak nature tours run by the owners of the Ivey House.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank He's Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear He's Anonymous:
Thank you for your short but sweet review of our Inn and eco tours! We're happy you had a good visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo, Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

A bit expensive for the type of hotel, beds were not so comfortable and made a lot of noise. Breakfast was pretty good, overall pretty good but I was previously staying at a Hampton and this hotel disappointed me a little bit.

Room Tip: Cottage is definitely better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Cani_Castro:
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. I hope you were able to speak with a manager while you were here about your noisy bed: we do address issues such as that the minute we're made aware of them. We've recently replaced all our bedding, so I'm sure this shouldn't happen to anyone else, and we apologize if you were not comfortable. We are definitely not a fancy place, but we do take pride in being the cleanest, friendliest place in the beautiful Western Everglades!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed at the Ivey House on March 31. My only regret is that we did not stay there longer. The room was cool and clean. The pool area was relaxing and lovely. Even the continental breakfast was fresh and well done. Our kayak trip was amazing - we'd all (my husband and I as well as our daughters 15 and 17) recommend the evening trip that comes back in the dark! My daughters were a bit skeptical about our time in the Everglades as we planned our trip, but after our stay at Ivey House and our kayak trip it ended up being a highlight of their vacation. If we come back to the Everglades, we WILL stay at Ivey House.

Room Tip: The rooms surrounding the pool area are lovely - and it is great to be able to step out of your door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Jo R:
Thank you for your great review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as your evening kayak tour... it really is special to be out in the Everglades at night, especially when there's a blanket of stars enveloping the sky and you can hear the peaceful night sounds. We're very happy that you, your husband and your teenage daughters all loved the experience! Safe and happy travels to you all... we hope we'll see you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Neat as a pin, extremely helpful, courteous staff, lovely little courtyard pool area, tidy and serviceable (but very un-fancy) rooms, quiet and a decent breakfast. Great for families, especially those with adventuresome kids who are willing to get out of the usual theme-park, tourist-trap rut that most families fall into during Florida vacations. DEFINITELY spend the money on a guided kayak tour and definitely try to get John Lewis as your guide. He is patient, knowledgeable and funny. Kayaking is totally do-able for kids too but I wouldn't bring a kid younger than 8, no matter what. They just wouldn't get much out of it and it would be stressful for parents to keep an eye on them. Overall just a terrific one-of-a-kind vacation experience that made us feel grateful that there are still unspoiled places left in Florida, and places to stay when we want to visit them.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Andrea S:
Thank you for hitting the proverbial nail on the head! We pride ourselves on being the best place to stay in Everglades City and on providing amazing Everglades experiences to our guests. It's so wonderful to have folks who still love nature and enjoy going off the beaten track to experience America's fantastic natural resources. I'm sure John will love seeing your comments: he is indeed a great guide and we are grateful to have him as our lead EvergladesAdventures.com guide! Happy travels to you: enjoy your explorations, wherever they may take you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Everglades City
16.3 km away
Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort
6.2 km away
Outdoor Resorts of Chokoloskee
34.8 km away
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#4 of 12 in Marco Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Everglades City Motel
Everglades City Motel
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.8 km away
River Wilderness Waterfront Villas, Everglades
1.0 km away
Rod and Gun Club
Rod and Gun Club
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivey House

Property: Ivey House
Address: 107 Camellia Street, P.O. Box 5038, Everglades City, FL 34139
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Everglades City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Everglades City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ivey House 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the magic of this secret paradise located in the heart of historic Everglades City. The Inn is the first Florida Certified Green Lodging in Collier County and features free WiFi, a scrumptious breakfast, a relaxing pool, and a friendly staff available to assist you easy access into unique and breathtaking areas of Everglades National Park. For 30 years the Harraden family has provided travelers ways to explore this World Treasure. Make a Dream Vacation Your Reality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ivey House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivey House Hotel Everglades City
Ivey House Everglades City, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing