We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Florida House Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$151
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amelia Hotel at the Beach(Fernandina Beach)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island(Fernandina Beach)(Great Value!)
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$173
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaside Amelia Inn(Fernandina Beach)(Great Value!)
US$203
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort(Fernandina Beach)
US$348
US$305
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge(Fernandina Beach)
US$295
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$231
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island(Fernandina Beach)
US$439
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveller rating
147
68
40
21
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
68
40
21
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmermaid barthe green turtlebridal suitejose martibreakfast was deliciousamelia islandfront porchwithin walking distancequicheother guestsoverlooking the courtyardjacuzzi tubhistoric districtchain hotelvalentine's dayboth morningsdowntown fernandina
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 289 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2017

Was looking so forward to my stay and enjoying staying in such a historic place. Such as shame. The room was no larger than a closet and the staff were not on hand at night to be contacted as we needed help to turn down the air as it was cold as a meat locker in our room. I left a message and NEVER received a return call back. The staff who served breakfast acted like they were being put out. Dropped the plates and never came back to the table. Such a shame. The whole stay there was very sad.
They say there is free wifi, but you can't get a connection to save your life. The staff confirmed this and suggested we sit on the front porch for the best reception.

Room Tip: Do not get a room by the bar next door way too loud most of the night.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felicia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2017 via mobile

The last time I was at the Florida house the food was not very good. I must say the renovations are wonderful and the food was great. The waitress could have been a bit more friendly but it was a large group and she may have been overwhelmed although it was only lunch and three choices. I will go back it was great. The mermaid bar is gorgeous!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Ebrutscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2017

A very, very long wait for our order - table of 4. 2 orders of grits were burnt and smelled like an old ashtray. Server said "Oh, we have a new chef" - she did however, graciously replace the item with alternative of watermelon slices or berries. 2 orders of Fried chicken tenders on the "Hoss" were beyond being over-fried. Admittedly, it was fully booked out so a busy Sunday, but we were disappointed overall.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank usbaileys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2017

Room Number 7 is an absolute disgrace. Very small, cramped, out dated! An old 13 inch TV sitting high on a tall dresser, of which cable TV did not work. Bedding was old and smelly, nobody around after 5PM to discuss issues with. Although the facade is cute our recommendation is to stay away, there are many lovely hotels on Amelia Island, this was so not worth the money

Room Tip: At least stay away from room 7
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grant Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2017

Our room itself was lovely. We arrived at around 7, and the front desk staff was gone for the day, leaving check-in to consist of just grabbing our room key from the front desk.

That was odd, as we were new to the area and wanted to ask for recommendations. Also, the private side-door that led to our room was locked and it took us longer than it should have to realize that the second key was for that exterior door.

Anyway, we were in Room 12, which is the closest room to the bar next door -- nobody likes this room. Closing the bathroom door and the window shutters helped alleviate most of the noise, and they were finished by 11, which worked for us. What actually bothered me more was the hallway light peering in through the top of the glass window on the door. Not very helpful if you like to sleep in a dark room like I do!

The next morning, we actually met with a staff member, and she was most helpful. She offered to move our rooms, offered us earplugs, and was generally very friendly. The staff, on the whole, was really helpful when they were available, which appears to be between the hours of 8-5 or thereabouts. An after-hours line for emergencies or questions or something would have been appreciated, even if it was just operational from 5-10 or something. It seems weird to not have an innkeeper available during the early evening hours.

Otherwise, the wifi extender didn't work on that far side of the building, so there was no wifi. We tried to reset the device, but it still wouldn't take the password the staff had provided. They really need to get someone in with some tech savvy to fix it, because that was pretty annoying.

Breakfast was one of the best I've ever had at a place like this, with delicious buttery croissants, fresh fruit, and plenty of other options. The complimentary bottled water and Keurig in the lobby 24/7 is also a welcoming touch.

Overall, I'd stay there again. The staff was great, the beds were very comfy, and the location was excellent if you wanted to be downtown. Our room location wasn't great, but I'll try to avoid getting that room next time, and I think it would improve things considerably.

Room Tip: Room 12 is the room right next to the Green Turtle. Avoid that room for a quiet sleep.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews