We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amelia Hotel at the Beach
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Reviewed 6 May 2012

The bed wasn't as comfortable as I would have liked, the AC wasn't very effective, and I could hear everything outside of my room. That said, the staff was very friendly and it is well located.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank goingtorwanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (771)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

564 - 570 of 771 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2012

Hotel is in a great location; just across the street from the beach. We had a beach facing room and while the view wasn't fantastic we could see the sunrise each morning and enough of the waves to know if it was low or high tide. Noise wasn't an issue; sure there were some street noises, but they weren't disturbing. We couldn't any noises from Sliders (across the street) at all.

Room was clean and had an open airy feel. Refrigerator, microwave, sink and counter space were nice.

Staff seemed distant at times but were friendly and attentive when asked a question.

Breakfast was adequate but with a 6 night stay a little boring.

Nice stay, and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debde45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

This is a nice hotel with good pricing for its rooms. However, I was there during the month of April. The hotel is near the beach and has an excellent breakfast featuring very good scrambled eggs, sausage patties, and fresh biscuits. This breakfast was far superior to the likes of a typical Hampton Inn. I stayed at this hotel twice and the second time I was upgraded by the desk clerk who recognized m e from a week earlier. She gave me an upgraded room with a view of the ocean. A nice thing to do on her part. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel was in the process of doing some updating work and was painting part of the exterior of the building while I was there. The only negative was that the bathrooms did need some work--some paint is chipped and the floor near the shower/baths should be repaired or replaced. Overall a nice (well priced) place to stay in the Fernandina Beach area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RF41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Great location. staff very helpful I needed a cab while was there and they called for me and gave me a card to come back. I read on other reviews about the noise from the bar across the street and my room was on that side and my husband and I never heard it and we went to bed early because of work. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KATHY1055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Excellent staff and service. Fine breakfast. Great location across the street from the beach. We had a beach-facing room with balcony. It was rainy during our stay and the rain came in under the balcony door. I am pretty sure there was mold on the wall behind the bed. The damp smell kept me awake at night, but the bed was comfortable. I think the mattress was Temper-Pedic. I should have mentioned the dampness to the staff. At the time I figured it was just part of staying so close to the ocean.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LvelyRita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed here at their Oceanside Terrace Suite on the top floor, and we loved everything about this Hotel. We stayed here from 4/1/2012 to 4/5/2012. I had requested the top floor for the view as recommended by TripAdvisor users because of the front of the building and I couldn't be happier. The view was amazing and the room was great as well. The tub was very spacious and was pretty quiet for a jacuzzi tub. On top of having a tub like that it still had a nice walk-in shower. The bathroom was just big in general, along with the rest of the room. The bed was a king-size bed and was very comfortable. The balcony was nice for playing cards and relaxing. House keeping was always cleaning our room by 9:30 at the latest, and did a good job keeping the room clean.The service was friendly and breakfast was fine, though we do not really eat breakfast so that was not that important. The location while having some buildings upfront and not being directly on the beach was no problem for us at all because the hotel was very reasonable priced. We paid about what nice rooms cost at any other regular hotel, let along for one with such a nice location. Over all if we go up there again, we WILL choose to stay there again, and will always opt for their Oceanside Terrace Suite.

Room Tip: For the best view, thew top story is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sp90378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

The location was good - right across from the beach and an awesome bar/restaurant. The rooms were clean. The beds were very comfortable. Not impressed with housekeeping. Had to ask for additional towels after the first morning - they did not replace all that we had used. On the second day housekeeping had not come by 3 pm and we needed to get ready for a wedding - had to request clean towels once again. Nice that they included breakfast, although the warm food wasn't even warm. Stick to the yogurt and fruit. Some staff was friendly, some were not. Probably would not stay there again.

Room Tip: The back room overlook the parking lot and the front the busy street - best room would be top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
3.2 km away
Seaside Amelia Inn
Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
669 reviews
0.1 km away
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island at the Beach
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island ...
#10 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
523 reviews
0.4 km away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,512 reviews
3.3 km away
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia ...
#11 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
402 reviews
9.3 km away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amelia Hotel at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amelia Hotel at the Beach

Address: 1997 South Fletcher Avenue, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-2329
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range: $104 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amelia Hotel at the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amelia Hotel at the Beach on Amelia Island features 88 guestrooms, including two Terrace Suites with whirlpool and balcony featuring partial views of the beach and ocean. We offer outdoor pool, complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi Internet. The famous Amelia Island/Fernandina beaches are just steps from our front doors, and we are just minutes to the historical Fernandina downtown area, and of course, our renowned Fernandina Beach golf courses. We also have facilities for small meetings, Beach Weddings and family events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amelia Hotel at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amelia Island Hotel
Hotel Amelia Island
Amelia Hotel At The Beach Amelia Island/Fernandina Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing