We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (886)
Filter reviews
886 results
Traveller rating
296
331
159
63
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
296
331
159
63
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sliders terrace suite wet bar across street ocean view hot breakfast free breakfast dairy queen room was large location is great cookies small pool yogurt a great place to stay third floor jacuzzi tub bed was very comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 886 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2018 via mobile

Stayed one night with six other couples to attend the Shrimp Fest. Nice hotel. Staff were very accommodating and friendly. Room was very good and was clean. Bed was relatively new and comfortable. Hotel provided a free shuttle to and from the festival. WiFi was fine as was the complimentary breakfast. We walked across the street to Sliders on the beach for dinner. We’ll definitely be back next year.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandi M, Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2018

Dear David M,

We are thrilled you chose to stay with us during Shrimp Fest. This is always such a fun weekend. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and look forward to seeing you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 8, 2018

We stayed here last weekend (early May). The staff was very nice and helpful. There was a terrible odor in the room. Maybe a previous smoking room and they try to mask the smell? Once you were there for awhile, you got used to it. But, just taking a shower and coming back out to the room, you could smell it all over again. The room walls must be paper thin. We could hear everyone and everything from several rooms down the hall and as we walked up the hall. Location was great, and again, the staff were very pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clbear40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandi M, Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2018

Dear clbear40,

Thank you for the kind words about our staff. We all take pride in what we do and strive to provide the best service possible on a daily basis. We want our guest's to enjoy their experience. If you ever encounter an issue, please always feel free to reach out to a staff member so that we can do what it takes to make your stay pleasant for you. I do hope that you will visit us again should you visit the island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 6, 2018

We stayed here for a week. The room was clean enough, and spacious. There are six drawers and a roomy closet, plenty of room for two people’s stuff. The bathroom is fine, with good lighting and a nice, long counter. No soap dish,so we put the hand soap on the box to minimize the mess. The shower pressure is .....well.....bad. Maybe their idea is to save water, which I could understand if the toilet were not running and re-filling 24/7. We left the bathroom door shut so that we didn’t have to listen to it all night. The bath products are Bath and Body Stress Relief, a very nice eucalyptus scent. Plenty of good towels.

The mattresses were very comfortable, but the pillows are low end, slab-like. Three per bed in a double. They do provide a nice, lightweight comforter between two top sheets, much better than a gross bedspread or other “decorative “ touches that go unwashed, between guests, so this is a real plus. Our room was simple, with nice curtains and dust ruffle, without any mass-produced art - another plus. Housekeeping was adequate, although they do not vacuum unless you ask. The hallway carpet was pretty littered with debris during our stay. The housekeepers were very nice one day when one of us was not well and we asked them to leave the room off their list. They made sure we had what we needed, offered to collect the trash, and checked again when they saw me later. They obviously work hard, but have a lot to cover.

Breakfast was fine. They have white bread, English muffins, and bagels to toast; dry cereal; biscuits with some kind of white gravy; scrambled eggs; sausage; three kinds of juice; muffins; and coffee. Oh, and fresh fruit - bananas and apples. Plenty of choices, including low carb. There is no tip jar for the breakfast lady, so use your own initiative and TIP her - she keeps everything fresh. There is a good fridge and microwave in the room, kind of a little kitchen are with a bar sink. Very handy, nice and clean.

Be aware: they will not check in your bag if you arrive early - a first for us after thirty years of pretty active travel! While they will let you park in their lot, they make it clear that this is not safe. The front desk clerk when we checked in communicated clearly, “This is not my problem.”

There is no in-room safe, AND no safe deposit boxes at the front desk. So while you are at the beach, you can leave your meds, passports, cash, laptops, and other valuables unsecured in your room (maybe locked In a suitcase?), carry them with you, or lock them in your car in the clearly identified as unsecure parking lot. No good alternatives here.

Parking is fine during the week, but on Friday evening, Saturday, and Sunday there was not enough parking. Guests were prowling the lot trying to find a spot, without success. People could not even park to check in. There is apparently “overflow” parking in an adjacent lot, which is actually the lot for another hotel, with NO clue that Amelia Hotel guests can park there. When I came in after trying to find a spot for 15 minutes, the front desk clerk (see above) said, “This has never happened before,” with the same “This is not my problem” attitude. When I went in a SECOND time after MORE driving around the lot, another (very nice, very helpful) clerk said that it happens all the time and told me about the adjacent lot. There is even less security in this lot.

Also, if you are looking for a quiet beach experience, this is not the place for you. The beach is, indeed, very nearby, but this section is actually a parking lot for huge trucks and 4-wheel drive vehicles, some of which are eager to share their taste in thumping music with everyone nearby. In addition, especially on Friday evening, Saturday, and Sunday, the blaring music from Sliders is inescapable unless you walk quite a way down the beach, well past the parking lot area. Even with earplugs, the bass from their music will rattle your liver. So, plan to walk quite a way down the beach carrying your beach chairs, umbrella, cooler, etc.,if what you want is a quiet day. We stayed here because one of us can’t walk too far, and had rented beach chairs and an umbrella to be set up for us, but we had to cancel that, buy our own chairs, umbrella, and a cart, then hike down the beach to find quiet. Not at all what we were looking for. Probably just fine for young people who have that taste in music. There is a small pool, right on the edge of the parking lot, not landscaped. Probably good for taking a dip with the kids, but not for relaxing.

The front desk staff (with one exception) are very nice and helpful. KIM is a star and should get a big raise! They provided a good map of the area, directions to a decent grocery store, and directions to the downtown area, with parking tips. A good crew (with one exception).

The downtown shopping area is a short drive away; there are grocery stores, drug stores, a laundromat, and no shortage of places to eat nearby. Jackshonville airport is about 35 minutes away. Take the scenic route A1A to St. Augustine for an interesting day trip!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank travveller95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandi M, Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2018

Dear Travveller95,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your feedback. Your feedback helps us grow so that we can provide the level of service our guests expect. I do apologize that the agent did not offer to check your luggage while we got your room ready. This is not typical and was a training oversight being that this particular agent was new (on day 3). She was corrected on this procedure upon the incident's occurance. Unfortunately, you had already departed to explore the Island while we prepared your room. Parking has been an issue for us that we are working on and have been able to improve significantly. We are working closely with a towing company for residents that utilize our lot for beach parking and have recently installed 2 brand new parking lot signs regarding parking. I do understand the local environment may not be for everyone; however, I do hope that if you find yourself visiting our beautiful island again, you will give us another opportunity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 24, 2018

I really cannot say anything bad about this hotel.Super rate for a Great location across the road from a public ,clean,safe beach,rooms a spacious,clean,hotel is a quiet,great pool, hotel,front desk is top shelf,breakfast was ok,nothing special,but enough,hot,fresh food,coffee could be fresh brewed coffee,instead of machine,,Restaurant a cross the Spinners was excellent.live music every night.Everything you need with in 1-2 miles.

Room Tip: any room some have a partial ocean view,others the pool view
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandyZim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandi M, Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2018

Dear RandyZin,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We love to hear about our guest's experiences. We would forward to your next visit while on the island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 22, 2018

I stay here once a month for work, they always make my stay a great experience. I highly recommend for anyone, great location easy walk to the main attractions. Very family type atmosphere. Great restaurants and beach across the street

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandi M, Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2018

Dear Tan S,

We would like to start by saying thank you for your loyalty. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us while you are here for work and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews