We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Super 8, 11202 Krome Ave., Florida City, FL” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Florida City/Homestead

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Florida City
Certificate of Excellence
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Super 8, 11202 Krome Ave., Florida City, FL”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

This motel was definitely NOT worth the money we paid! It was $111.87. (again a Sat. night) and is rather shabby. The WiFi worked very well though!!! It includes a breakfast and has a mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker, iron and ironing board and a pool. It also has little tiny ants on the counter! I think they take advantage of people who want to visit the Keys as all the motels around here are expensive. Kissimmee is really the best deal! The beds are not the most comfortable and squeak when you move around in them. My husband went to have a shower in the morning and there was no hot water! The ants are sugar ants apparently and will do you no harm. They are prevalent in South Florida according to the girl at the front desk. They offered us 10% off which is not acceptable.

Room Tip: I don't expect much but a comfortable bed, hot water and no critters are certainly to be expecte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovebarbiegirl15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tjjtaylor, Manager at Super 8 Florida City/Homestead, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our Super 8. We apoligize for the ant problem and it has been addressed with the exterminator. Granted the Orlando area does have lower rates however the have many more motels in their area. They have the fun family attractions while we have the beautiful Everglades National Park and Florida Keys which is a wonder world right in our back yard.


John Taylor
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    341
    146
    49
    35
See reviews for
262
343
56
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MANNHEIM
Level Contributor
156 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

People who want the newest fads in a low-priced motel should look elsewhere. This motel is old with the regular Super 8 amenities, nothing less, nothing more. But it is just far enough off Florida Turnpike, so you are not bothered by the noise, in close proximity to several Restaurants like Cracker Barrel or Denny's anda Walmart Super Center is close by.
A nice sized outdoor pool and lots of palms make this a nice environment even for some days. I stayed only one night on the way to worse and overpriced motels in Key West. The manager Fred at checck-in did everything he could to clean up a mess that the central reservation of Super 8 was responsible for. I had prepaid and my paperwork fortunately showed it. But the property was not informed and had received no funds for the reservation. It was nice for a change that Fred took his time to clear the problem for us; another larger chain made me pay double for a prepaid reservation.
The motel is clean, breakfast is of course nothing to brag about but also nothing to complain about, just the usual fare that you can expect for the price.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VolkerS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tjjtaylor, Manager at Super 8 Florida City/Homestead, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Thank you for taking time to comment. Our front desk staff is a very helpful group and strive to make our guests experience a pleasant one. We are happy you enjoyed your short stay and hope you will return to our Super 8.

John Taylor
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Rooms were clean, bed was comfortable, breakfast was very continental.
Great value, and location.
laundry room- scary! light didn't work, and very old machines
All in all, a decent place to stay

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nderksen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tjjtaylor, Manager at Super 8 Florida City/Homestead, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Thank you for taking time to comment. We want our guests to feel free to let us know when they see something that needs to be improved. The laundry room will be our next priority. Hope you will stay with us on your next trip to our area.

John Taylor
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dieppe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

good location, somewhat clean... noticed ants traveling back and forth from the door to the bathroom, come to find out they had a huge nest in a towel that was on top of the toilet bowl. this must have been on going for a while...when we moved the towel there were hundreds of ants, and eggs..

the bed was broken, internet wireless signal fairly low (2 bars at most)

front desk staff were nice, breakfast was the usual continental, ice machine available.

Room Tip: look at the room before renting it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 935amy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tjjtaylor, Manager at Super 8 Florida City/Homestead, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
We apologize for poor experience at our motel. We have addressed all the issues you mentioned and do hope you we come back again when you are in the area. We want our guests to have a pleasant stay with us and your experience is not typical. Our staff is always willing to try to resolve any room problems that come up. Again thank you for your time.

John Taylor
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

I have never really stayed in a 'motel' before and was really scared about what I might find (especially bed-bugs, hair, dirty stuff, etc) but All I needed was a place to stay for 1 night and this motel provided the necessary things.Ok for the night, no really big compaints. I took my own desinfecting wipes, own bed sheets and towels. They even had a security rounding. Lots, lots of travelers on their ways to the Keys. Small fridge was included in the room. Decent price for the occasion

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anny-Yury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tjjtaylor, Manager at Super 8 Florida City/Homestead, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is the perfect stop when heading to the Everglades or the Florida Keys. Housekeeping takes pride in giving our guests a clean room to spend the night and all rooms have a microwave, small fridge, coffee maker, hair dryer and irons. Thank you for taking time to comment.

John Taylor
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homestead, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

reservations were made ten days before arrival yet hotel did not have proper room available. they claimed the present occupants didn't check out and that i would have to settle for an inferior room or go elsewhere! the owner was totally uncooperative and "terrible" is a charitable description of my experience in this rat nest.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tjjtaylor, Manager at Super 8 Florida City/Homestead, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Please accept our apology for your poor experience. There is no excuse for what happened with your room reservation. Thank you for taking the time to comment.

John Taylor
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montello, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Go elsewhere, unless you don't care about good hygiene & hospitality. Guest service wasn't welcoming or informable about the hotel. The mattresses, box springs & bathtub in our room were gross, old, stained, worn out & scary.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adventurecutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJTaylor50, Manager at Super 8 Florida City/Homestead, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Thank you for your comments. Your concerns have been referred to the proper departments and will be addressed. Our goal is to give our guests a clean and comfortable place to stay.


John Taylor
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florida City
1.8 km away
Quality Inn Florida City - Homestead
1.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys
2.6 km away
Floridian Hotel
Floridian Hotel
#3 of 14 in Homestead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Florida City
2.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City
1.2 km away
Ramada Florida City
Ramada Florida City
#9 of 12 in Florida City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Florida City/Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Florida City/Homestead

Property: Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
Address: 1202 N Krome Ave, Florida City, FL 33034-2428
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Florida City
#4 Family Hotel in Florida City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Florida City/Homestead 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Super 8 Florida City/Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Florida City/Homestead Hotel Florida City
Super 8 Homestead
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
Florida City Super Eight
Florida City Super 8
Super Eight Florida City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing