We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent pre/post cruise hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Ranked #20 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent pre/post cruise hotel”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I stayed one night pre-cruise and I was VERY pleased. The shuttle service was quick from the airport. Since it serves multiple hotels I was happy to find that the Crowne Plaza was the 1st stop.
The front desk area is a bit weird as it's 2 podiums standing in a small room off the underground type parking. There is a small lounge area right off the "front desk". Though it's oddly configured, the service was friendly, efficient and helpful. Very professional. And I don't spend time hanging around the front desk/lobby area anyway.

The rooms are lovely. Kind of minimalistic/boutique/oceany feel to the decor. Spacious and clean. Small but perfectly functional bathroom. Comfy beds. Nice TV. Great chaise lounge. And I could see the cruise ships from my window. There is a really nice pool area, a great little convenience store, (and a restaurant which I didn't use.) Just around the corner is Anthony's Coal Fired Pizza which is one of the best restaurants in Fort Lauderdale. About a 5 min stroll. (not a lot else to walk to however). I took a cab rather than the shuttle to the pier as it was cheaper and more convenient.

I can honestly say I'd stay there again, as I've already booked a couple of rooms for later this year pre-cruise. The entire stay was a pleasant surprise!

Room Tip: Walk to Anthony's for dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    611
    422
    148
    46
    39
See reviews for
329
483
66
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waukesha, WI
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We booked this room for a night before we left on a cruise. We used the free airport shuttle to the hotel. There is not much to do around the hotel so we asked the staff for suggestions. They were very happy to give us some suggestions. They also helped us arrange transportation to the cruiseport and for trasportation after we returned to the airport. The rooms are very clean but I expected that being that it is a fairly new hotel. The only problem we had was the bed. The bed was rather firm and very uncomfortable for the wife and I. The next morning we went to the resturant for breakfast to find it full of people, mostly other cruisers. They told us it would be 30 min before we would have a seat unless we sat at the bar, which we took. The service was a little slow but that was expected with the crowd but the food was good. As a hotel to stay in Ft. Lauderdale for a fey days, probably not. But to stay if you are waiting on a cruise or a flight home, it is pretty good.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cul8tr8320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I want to thank the Crowne Plaza for the excellent service we recieved from our stay on March 23. We had lounged at the pool for the day and Andres had been taking care of us with refreshments. After our day basking in the sunshine we decided to have dinner at Kiki's. We requested Andres to serve us and what a great meal we had. Kudos to Andres and the Crowne Plaza. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Not knowing anything about Ft. Lauderdale, I chose this for the reviews & the free shuttle to and from airport and cruise terminal. My husband and I stayed pre-cruise. The hotel is relatively close to the terminal, you could see the stacks of the ships, but certainly not walking distance. The hotel itself is nice, clean, and the staff friendly and helpful. Almost everyone who is staying there is there for a cruise, which of course makes for fun conversation. It is in a very industrial area, car lots, empty lots and oil storage so don't expect ambiance. But, the rooms were very nice, large, modern and clean. The pool area is nice and the restaurant & bar was also nice, which is good, cause there is really not much of a choice. If you have a long lay-over, you might want something more beachy or have places to walk to, but for our purposes it was fine.

Room Tip: There really is no veiw, but if you look over the pool, that's something I guess.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank schmidtgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Location is strange, building is strange looking looks like it may have been a public storge building in a prior life. I chose it due to the prox to the Broward Cty Conv Center and it was not over priced for the season, etc..I travel alot and cannot accept poor attitudes or the NO I cant attitude with hotel staff and I found this here as did my co workers. And I do not ever ask anything special or abnormal from any hotel staff. The rooms are fine and spacious, pool on the 5th floor seems fine- I will search a little more before the next event trip to FLL next year.

Room Tip: NO views to speak of so it does not matter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BiotechCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIManagement84, Manager at Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
We are very sorry that you experienced some issues with our staff. We care very much of what impression our guests take away from their visit with us. We take the time to read every posting and take them very seriously and can assure you, that we will be reviewing them with our team so we can continually improve our hotel. Thank you for your review, even though it was not a positive one , you took the time to write and we apreciate it. We hope we are able to welcome you back in the near future and turn around your impression of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I booked this hotel based on reviews from TripAdvisor and because of its proximity to the cruise port and free shuttle. This hotel is located right outside the cruise terminal/port gates.

We had a little difficulty finding the shuttle pick-up area at the airport. We made three stops at the hotel’s sister properties to drop off other guests. Ours was the last stop. If you aren’t in a hurry, take a taxi.

This was a one night pre-cruise stay in March. We were two adults and two children, I had previously contacted the hotel requesting a room on a high floor with a view of the cruise port and they were able to accommodate us. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and professional. The room was clean, spacious and bright. It was equipped with a coffee maker, microwave oven, and refrigerator. The hotel has a fantastic pool and patio area on the 5th floor that overlooks the surrounding area and is great for relaxing.

We decided to grab lunch in Kiki’s, the hotel restaurant and were pleasantly surprised. We found the food really good and prices in line with most national chain restaurants. We had lunch in the restaurant and placed a “to go” order for dinner, preferring to eat in our room. The hotel also has an on-site store that carries not only the normal items stocked in this type of establishment, but individual packages of dry cereal, oatmeal, fresh whole fruit, healthy snacks and various types of beverages.

On the day of departure, we elected to take a taxi to the cruise terminal. The hotel shuttle is $8/person to the cruise port. A good deal for 1 or 2 people but a little expensive for 4 people. And, for anyone who considers walking from the hotel to the cruise port to save a few dollars, I wouldn’t recommend it. This is in a heavy industrial area with heavy truck traffic.

I loved this hotel and will definitely return if I take another cruise out of Ft. Lauderdale.

Room Tip: If traveling with kids, ask for a view of the cruise port
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winniepoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Carl went above and beyond his duty with helping me and my 3 year old daughter after orbitz messed up our reservation. He was polite, professional and caring in helping us secure a room at 2 a.m. Thank you Carl for all of your assistance! Thank you Crowne Plaza for hiring a mannerly, understanding man.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluesky6002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#12 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
2.0 km away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#9 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
1.8 km away
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale...
#29 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise...
#49 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
1.5 km away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#32 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
0.7 km away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port

Property: Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Address: 455 State Road 84, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#21 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#22 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Fort Lauderdale's newest vibrant urban full service hotel! The Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port is modern, elegantly designed, chic, and centrally located to all Fort Lauderdale's South Florida events and attractions. Ideal for corporate or leisure and the most discerning traveler. The Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port is located at the entrance of Port Everglades Cruise Port and less than a mile from Fort Lauderdale Int'l Airport (FLL), Broward County Convention Center and 2 miles from Downtown Fort Lauderdale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing