We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful views and rooms” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Ranked #18 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed at the B Ocean for 5 nights. Upon arriving we found out that we could not use the restaurants or the pool from 10am-4pm for the 1st 2 days of our stay. The front desk staff did not offer to do anything to make up for this, just kind of brushed it off that they were booked for a conference and that was the way it was. When my husband asked for some kind of compensation they offered us breakfast.
The rooms were beautiful! The view is amazing. Unfortunately we upgraded to the "Captivating King Curve" room. If you wake up early then this room would be fine. Some of these rooms are next to the elevator and the service elevator so we were woken up daily at 7am. We asked to switch after our 2nd night, but they were completely booked. I would not pay for this upgrade. Every room has an amazing view, this room is just a little bit bigger.

The pool was great. Lots of seats to choose from. Also, the food around the pool was delicious. The service at the pool wasn't great, very slow but the food made up for it. We wished the pool bar would have stayed open a little later (closed at 11), but there were plenty of great other bars right behind the hotel.

The location is perfect and the amenities were great. Try the Parrot and Blue Fish for lunch or dinner or late night drinks. There was a little corner spot nearby that served smoothies if you want a quick and inexpensive breakfast.

Room Tip: When booking the room make sure you ask for it to be far from the elevator if you want sleep. We sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kitty33997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,110
    872
    307
    124
    66
See reviews for
597
1,021
120
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (666)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We booked this hotel through bookit.com as they mystery hotel and were pleasantly surprised. The hotel staff was very attentive and the lobby was great for taking pictures! We had a 2nd floor room with a very large window spanning the room that overlooked the ocean. Had we paid more for this room I definitely would have requested a higher floor for a better view and less street noise. The pool is small and a bit overcrowded so get there early, I can only imagine what it is like during peak season. Our room was modern and adequate for our one night stay. The bathroom counter is small but I did like the open shower with the rain shower head and Aveda bath products. We did have a good breakfast at the hotel when we learned there was not a coffee shop of our liking close. While we were there we had dinner at Trulucks and drinks at Blue Martini, both of which were walking distance from the hotel which was nice.

Room Tip: The higher floors have better views and less street traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuniBunni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Room was very nice, good amenities. Aveda products. The view was great, and it was across the street from the beach. I have no complaints about this establishment.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 44881Jaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Really enjoyed our recent 3 night stay at the B Ocean. We stayed at the Holiday Inn on this very site 6-7 years ago and it is simply amazing what they have done with it.

A beautiful hotel. Every room has an ocean view - we were on the 11th floor and loved it. Our room did not have a balcony, although the window was open-able for fresh air. The bed was fantastic. Appreciated the free wifi in the room. Room was very nicely appointed. As others have mentioned, the bathrooms are a bit on the small side, but still nice.

Disappointed that coffee makers were not available in the room, although free coffee was available at the bistro.

Having the beach across the street is awesome. There are a few restos, bars, shops within the immediate area, some of which are a bit on the tacky side --- T-shirt shops, tattoo parlours, etc. Some have called this area "seedy" but this is too harsh in my view.

The main Fort L beach strip is about a 15 min walk away where there are dozens of bars and restos; quite manageable.

I personally hate valet parking in general, and was not enthusiastic about the $25 per day charge at the B Ocean. Having said this, I was aware of this when I booked it, so guess I can't really complain. Easy to get to and from by car.

All in all, a very attractive, clean, well-located hotel with many amenities (we did not try the restos in the hotel). Not inexpensive, but decent value for the money.

Would definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: The higher up, the better the view. (OK...perhaps an obvious comment....)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RexT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FORT LAUDERDALE
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Beautiful Hotel, staff is outstanding; they go out of their way to make your stay one you will remember. The pool is small but nice and the seating around the pool is very comfortable, the outside bar makes it convenient to relax and enjoy the day outside. Yes the bathrooms are small; however what is a bathroom for? It is very functional for the intended purpose. All views are amazing and you only have to cross the street to access the beach.

Room Tip: High floor, great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GRACEM5371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

I just visited this hotel for a Dental Conference, and was very happy with the amazing staff. I actually called two of the people I met in the Bistro "Ms B" and "Mr B" They took care of details as if they owned the place. I'd highly recommend the place. It had an amazing view from EVERY room.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Just returned from a two night stay at B Ocean Ft. Lauderdale.

THE POSITIVES: Check in was pleasant, the hotel was recently renovated, the room
was clean and spacious. We stayed in a suite, room 901, what a view! It was not
right on the beach, meaning there was a road you had to cross, we didn't mind that.
Free wi-fi, that was nice. The bed was very comfortable.

THE NEGATIVES: The bathroom was TINY, barely enough room for 1 person,
parking cost $25 per night, no balconies or windows that open, the area around
the hotel was VERY seedy. The first night we saw police and prostitutes behind the
hotel. The pool area was VERY small.

Overall, our stay was pleasant, but I'm not sure I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor for a better view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Disneyfan95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,874 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,562 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,851 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#9 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#51 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach

Property: Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Address: 999 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-3310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#33 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps away from the ocean and the beautiful Fort Lauderdale beach, Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach offers you a sensational experience among Fort Lauderdale hotels: oceanfront hotel accommodations, unique restaurants and lounging areas, and a variety of excursions for those guests looking to explore Ft. Lauderdale, Florida. Our ballroom and meeting rooms on the penthouse floor overlook the Atlantic Ocean, presenting a special setting for business meetings and social gatherings held at this Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b Ocean Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing