We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colorful Euro-style Hotel with Scenic Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Ranked #14 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Don't know why people badmouth this hotel! It is lovely inside and out, overlooking the ocean with every room having a water view. The valet charge is typical of all oceanfront hotels, so no problem! The pool is on the small side but the water is warm and there are comfy cabanas that you can snuggle in if windy. We had breakfast in the Bistro and the buffet was wonderful for only $15. Happy Hour there is also a bargain for oceanfront spots. The front desk staff were helpful but young, probably going for the Euro-cool style. But you could look up restaurants on their touchscreen that lists dozens of spots in the area, by location and cuisine. We did the Water Taxi trip from the Doubletree just over the Intracoastal bridge, just a 5 minute walk. It was great, getting on after 5pm, you pay only $10/pp. The guides told us all about the expensive houses and yachts along the intracoastal. The best trip for the money in South Florida. And if you want a filling lunch, go to Primanti's, a Pittsburgh tradition, with stuffed sandwiches that will fill you belly.

Room Tip: Get either a King Curve room or Corner King on high floor for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank perfectlyfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,821)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,041 - 2,047 of 2,821 reviews

Reviewed 29 February 2012

Rooms are beautiful with a spectacular view. Checking in was chaos and the lady was rude and didn't even welcome us. No one gave us any info about the hotel. We were greeted with " I don't think u can check in early!". Then she proceeded to give us room keys. Elevators stink! Are so slow and take over 10 minutes to get one... Then they are packed to the Max. Rooms are spacious and clean. Housekeeping never came back after knocking at our door at 9 Am. Pool was small and not enough chairs. Parking is 25 dollars a day! And the towel rule is just insane!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jm311912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed here for a few days. The hotel is easy to reach and the beach is just across the Blvd. The rooms are not that large but clean, comfortable and new decorated. A great ocean view from our high floor room.

Dined at the hotel restaurant Saia. Good food and pleasant service. We also visited the hotel bar one night, but the two bartenders were busy with an inventory rather than pay attention to the guests.

The only negative issue we had was with the noisy room air conditioning. It was loud when it switched on and off during the nights. It needed to be switched on because you couldn’t get a room with balcony and it was not possible to open window.

The valet guest parking for $25 overnight didn’t impress us. It was quite overpriced.

Overall, a good and beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrandMrsPetersson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOceanGM, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Dear MrandMrsPetersson,

Thank you for choosing to B Our Guest. My team and I are thrilled that you enjoyed the view, cleanliness and dining experience at B Ocean Fort Lauderdale. I would very much appreciate it if you would let me know your room number so I may have my Maintenance team look into the Air conditioner noise. I hope to have the chance to welcome you back very soon and I wish you safe and exciting travels.

B Inspiring!

Joel Darr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed at the B Ocean resort for 4 nights and very much enjoyed it. The room ( number 803 ) was a very good size with a king sized bed on the eighth floor across the street from the beach. One side of the room had a floor to ceiling window and the other side had a large horizontal picture window. The views were spectacular. The room was definitely worth the $15 per day "upgrade" charge by the hotel from our Hotwire rate. ( and this was President's weekend!). The service was a little slow that weekend because the hotel was fully booked. However, we did receive a room refrigerator the first day of our stay ( you need to request these ). We did not eat at any of the restaurants but we did go to the ( very small and in the rear ) pool where we had to wait for towels because they were so overwhelmed that weekend. The hotel is somewhat isolated by the Bonnett House property in a very questionable neighborhood on Ft. lauderdale Beach. South of the Bonnett House property there are more upscale tourist type establishments but the B Ocean neighborhood is more tattoo parlors and young people's bars. The other complaint I have about the establishment is the parking. If you want to valet park there for the day and go to the beach or whatever the charge is $10. However, overnight parking is a whopping $25 plus tax. This seems outrageously expensive to park there. If you dare ( and we did ) there is an open lot right behind the hotel on NE 9th Ave ( in that iffy neighborhood) where you can park for $10 for 24 hours. However, it is not guarded. Overall, it was a very nice experience at the B Ocean resort.

Room Tip: Call the hotel and get the $15 per day upgrade on your Hotwire rate. Room 803 was very pleasant wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HH2165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed at the B Ocean for 5 nights. Upon arriving we found out that we could not use the restaurants or the pool from 10am-4pm for the 1st 2 days of our stay. The front desk staff did not offer to do anything to make up for this, just kind of brushed it off that they were booked for a conference and that was the way it was. When my husband asked for some kind of compensation they offered us breakfast.
The rooms were beautiful! The view is amazing. Unfortunately we upgraded to the "Captivating King Curve" room. If you wake up early then this room would be fine. Some of these rooms are next to the elevator and the service elevator so we were woken up daily at 7am. We asked to switch after our 2nd night, but they were completely booked. I would not pay for this upgrade. Every room has an amazing view, this room is just a little bit bigger.

The pool was great. Lots of seats to choose from. Also, the food around the pool was delicious. The service at the pool wasn't great, very slow but the food made up for it. We wished the pool bar would have stayed open a little later (closed at 11), but there were plenty of great other bars right behind the hotel.

The location is perfect and the amenities were great. Try the Parrot and Blue Fish for lunch or dinner or late night drinks. There was a little corner spot nearby that served smoothies if you want a quick and inexpensive breakfast.

Room Tip: When booking the room make sure you ask for it to be far from the elevator if you want sleep. We sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kitty33997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We booked this hotel through bookit.com as they mystery hotel and were pleasantly surprised. The hotel staff was very attentive and the lobby was great for taking pictures! We had a 2nd floor room with a very large window spanning the room that overlooked the ocean. Had we paid more for this room I definitely would have requested a higher floor for a better view and less street noise. The pool is small and a bit overcrowded so get there early, I can only imagine what it is like during peak season. Our room was modern and adequate for our one night stay. The bathroom counter is small but I did like the open shower with the rain shower head and Aveda bath products. We did have a good breakfast at the hotel when we learned there was not a coffee shop of our liking close. While we were there we had dinner at Trulucks and drinks at Blue Martini, both of which were walking distance from the hotel which was nice.

Room Tip: The higher floors have better views and less street traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuniBunni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Room was very nice, good amenities. Aveda products. The view was great, and it was across the street from the beach. I have no complaints about this establishment.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank 44881Jaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#45 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,017 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#28 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,173 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#20 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#24 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,452 reviews
Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#16 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,033 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#11 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
5,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach

Address: 999 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-3310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#32 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $219 - $510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps away from the ocean and the beautiful Fort Lauderdale beach, Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach offers you a sensational experience among Fort Lauderdale hotels: oceanfront hotel accommodations, unique restaurants and lounging areas, and a variety of excursions for those guests looking to explore Ft. Lauderdale, Florida. Our ballroom and meeting rooms on the penthouse floor overlook the Atlantic Ocean, presenting a special setting for business meetings and social gatherings held at this Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b Ocean Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing