We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice spot by the beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Ranked #20 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice spot by the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

In our late 20s took a few days off and traveled up from Key Largo. Found a good deal on priceline. Hotel a bit of a walk from the main strip on A1A but still a nice walk. With that being said beach was not as crowded but for a four star hotel expected them to have some beach chairs which I saw others offered, we paid 5 dollars a chair and thats the DEAL that the guy gave us seeing that he was closing in 2 hours. Room was nice not the biggest but only down fall was i specifically asked for a room with a good view and got a second floor room with a view of a palm tree and a little bit of the beach. Pool small and pretty crowed most of the time, 10 dollar drinks expensive but good. But over all i was say it was a nice experience and the staff was excellent! Would recommend!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Kanman13, thanks for your feedback. Glad to hear you had a nice experience and that our staff was EXCELLENT (love to get this type of comment from our guests)! Thank you so much for recommending us. I hope you come back soon to B With us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,065
    840
    298
    118
    64
See reviews for
570
981
118
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (649)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

This hotel is a year old and has a modern decor theme to it. The lobby is comfortable and looks out to the ocean. My main concern in a room is cleanliness and comfortable bedding. While this room had both the bathroom tiles had a grime on the floor and shower stall ( no bath) that was disconcerting
For a room in this price range it was small. The bed took up most of the floor space. There was also one small uncomfortable chair and a desk. No refrigerator or coffee/tea pot. I also found the room to be somewhat noisy. Internet service was complimentary but valet parking was quite expensive. There is a pool but it is small and congested, I prefer the beach directly across the street. You need to provide your own beach equipment. It can be rented from nearby shops for about 5 per item per day. There is a large variety of restaurants for all tastes and budgets within walking distance.
Lastly I had a late flight out but the hotel could not give me a late checkout.

Room Tip: Higher floor should be less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thanks APRO for your candid comments. Apologies for the housekeeping shortfalls; obviously our standards are quite high but we didn't deliver on them so we are definitely refocusing our efforts in this area. The size of our rooms is on the higher end of what is available at other upscale hotels in FLL. For coffee, please note that we offer free coffee on a daily basis in our B'stro restaurant. We offer it in a grab and go fashion at our counter. Our free WIFI is the fastest on the beach and are one of only a few locations where its free anywhere in the hotel, including in the room. The parking cost is very competitive with the majority of hotels on the beach. We accomodate many late checkout requests, but cannot extend it to every guest since we want to be considerate of those guests arriving that same day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We were dissappointed. The hotel is well positioned - near the airport and across AIA from the beach but the posh feel does not extend much beyond the South Beach wanna b lobby and the fabulous view of the Atlantic we had from our 6th floor room. Beyond that, the room was small for this family of 3 and lacked basics we've come to expect - fan in the bathroom, in room coffee maker, glasses / cups. We found the plush stuffed turtle left conveniently on the bed for our child to fall in love with for a $30 price to be as tacky as the $25 vallet parking (with no other parking option available). Not likely to visit again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank punchbuggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Punchbuggie, thanks for your candid feedback. Glad to see that you loved our location and stunning views. Let me take a moment to address some of your observations: The square footage of our rooms is in line, if not greater, than most hotels on the beach. The price of our stuffed turtle is tied to our conservation efforts and half of what we collect goes to a non profit organization. Parking space by the beach is at a premium anywhere up and down the South Florida cost. Our daily cost is competitive and in some cases below the price charged by many of the other upscale hotels on the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Superior, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Last year during Spring Break we saw that the B Ocean was just opening, so this year our teenage daughter begged us to stay there on our way to the Keys. What a complete disappointment! Instead of looking like a hotel that was only one year old, this hotel looked and felt 7 or 8 years old! We expected a posh, up scale room. Instead, our room was dirty. The solid white walls were full of scuff marks, the bathroom looked ancient, and the carpet was in need of a cleaning! The only silver lining to our experience was the staff. Every single employee was a star!! They came to our room immediately upon check in (9:00 at night), and made up the pull out bed without being asked. We needed a few extra things, and again, they were at our door with smiles on their faces!! What disappointed us so much, was the fact that our daughter thought it was going to be so posh, and instead it was a huge flop!

Room Tip: I feel that because we only reserved for one night (even though it was five months in advance), we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cutemrhobbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thanks cutemrhubbles for your comments. I am glad to hear that our team members went out of their way to make you feel special during your stay. On the flip side, it's disappointing to hear you didn't enjoy our facilities. We're quite proud of our facilities and have an aggressive upkeep program for both our rooms and public areas. Contrary to your assumption, we do not assign rooms based on length of stay - we focus on providing the room type confirmed when booked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed for a total of five nights before & after cruise. Very nice hotel, Rooms were very big with a great view. Beach just across the road and shopping mall a short walk away. Free coffee untill 10. The pool is very small but hay the beach is just across the road.......Would i stay there again YES...

Room Tip: All rooms are Ocean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alltradewindows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thanks alltradewindows for your great endorsement! Glad to see you enjoyed all the benefits that our resort provides... LOCATION, BEACH, SHOPPING and GREAT ROOMS! Come back soon to B our guest once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at the B Ocean in Fort Lauderdale in December 2011. The hotel has very nice rooms, all windows attempt to face the ocean. The negative was the mandatory valet fee of $50.00 per night. Luckily we pricelined this hotel and got it for $120.00 which was not bad for weekend nights. However, the parking was outrageous. The location is north of the "strip" action, but there is a neighborhood behind the hotel with enough bars and sidewalk restaurants to make up for it. Most of the time we would have a view of the ocean no matter where we ate. THe pool is too small to even mention and there was no jacquzzi. The rooms were nice - modern and very white and the beds were very comfortable. The other hotels are approximately a mile south of this hotel, but it is a nice walk to get back to the action. The hotel is right across from the beach!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irisnbloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thanks irisinbloom for your great comments. Glad you enjoyed all the great things our resort has to offer. Please note that the price to park a car overnight is $25, not $50 (unless you had 2 cars). This price is very much in line with what other hotels charge up and down the beach (parking is very limited on the beach). I appreciate your praise of our Blissful Bed. It is an incredible sleeping experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
133 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Just stayed here post cruise for one night and thought the room was lovely, nicely appointed King bed with stunning view across from beach-very modern, clean feel. Everything looks recently renovated. Bathroom nicely appointed with Aveda toiletries. I wish we could have checked in earlier-we were told to check back at 1pm and when we did, a different front desk person told me that I really shouldn't try to inquire again until check in at 4pm. She said it nicely but really did contradict the first person. After getting off a cruise ship with nothing but smiles and a "how can I help you attitude," I was a little put off BUT the person that ultimately checked us in(@3:30pm) was fantastic. When I asked about a place to print our boarding passes for the following day, she proceeded to check us in for our flights, print our boarding passes and book us for a shuttle the next morning. The location was nice-10 minute walk to the Galleria mall which we did because it was not really a beach day. It was a short stay but overall a very good experience.

Room Tip: Stunning king is worth the money for the views of the beach-floor to ceiling windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisac1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thanks lisac1962 for your great comments. Apologies for the delay in getting into your room on day of arrival, but its hard to accomodate all early arrivals when guests are trying to stay as late as they can in the rooms because they love them! Glad to hear that our team member at check in did go out of her way to accomodate your needs. I appreciate the away you sum up your visit: " Overall a VERY GOOD experience". I hope you will B back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#10 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,828 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#21 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,761 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#25 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Aqua Hotel
#8 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,464 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#7 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach

Property: Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Address: 999 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-3310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#33 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps away from the ocean and the beautiful Fort Lauderdale beach, Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach offers you a sensational experience among Fort Lauderdale hotels: oceanfront hotel accommodations, unique restaurants and lounging areas, and a variety of excursions for those guests looking to explore Ft. Lauderdale, Florida. Our ballroom and meeting rooms on the penthouse floor overlook the Atlantic Ocean, presenting a special setting for business meetings and social gatherings held at this Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b Ocean Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing