We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,285)
Filter reviews
3,285 results
Traveller rating
1,588
1,071
378
156
92
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,588
1,071
378
156
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the streetsuzettefloor to ceiling windowspool areacorner roomvalet parkingocean viewgalleria mallthe penthousevalet staffper daybonnet housesmall poolfort lauderdale beachbeach chairshigher floorlobby bar
Filter
Updating list...
440 - 445 of 3,285 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2017

We stayed at the Sonesta 3 nights pre-cruise. The hotel is located right on the beach front and about a 10 minute walk from a supermarket and mall so plenty of dining options available.
The hotel is about a 15 minute drive from Port Everglades and a 20-30 minute walk from Las Olas.

Check in and out was very quick and the staff were very friendly. They charge a $20 a day resort fee which includes Wifi, bottled water daily, tea/ coffee in the room, beach loungers, beach towel use, a free drink from the bar and they hold themed evenings too, one of the evenings we were there was free corn dogs.

Our room was on the 5th floor and had a lovely ocean view room. (All rooms do) The room was light, airy and spacious.
The room is very white which shows up every stain/ mark. My bed the headboard was a bit tattered and our bathroom wasn't particularly clean, however the rest of the room was fine.
The beds were very comfortable, and we didn't have any issues with noise except from the air con.

The hotel has a small swimming pool and a good amount of sun loungers to use, then the beach is just across the road where you have loungers to use. There is also a gym and small bar in the hotel lobby.
The hotel has a restaurant attached open for all meals, however we did not use this so cannot comment on it.

Overall we had a good stay here. Unfortunately the weather was not great so we couldn't get to the beach to use the loungers at all during our stay, which is a little annoying considering you pay for them in the resort fee, however we spent a lot of time in the hotel and in our room so we made the most of it there.
We would stay here again, however it is a little far out for just a one-night pre or post cruise but for more than 2 days it's in a great location with the Mall, Supermarket, places to eat, Bonnet House and Hugh Taylor Birch Gardens all next door to the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Emily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2017

Thank you Emily J for your detailed review of your recent and letting us know just how much you enjoyed everything that Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach has to offer! 'm so pleased that you had an opportunity to experience all of our amenities that are associated with our Daily Fee - especially our Daily Delights. We are located close to so many area venues and attractions - all within walking distance, and it's nice to hear you were able to explore the area.

I hope your future travels will include a return trip to visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2017 via mobile

I would give a zero if I could. We were supposed to stay here for a wedding at Fort Lauderdale beach. We arrived around 10:00 at night with a prepaid reservation. Upon trying to check in we were told that they were “walking us.” I asked what that meant and the desk clerk said they did not have a room even though we had already paid. I then asked to speak with s manager and was told that there was not one on duty. The clerk said they had a room at another hotel that was 17 miles away in Hollywood. I spend approximately 50 nights a year in hotels and have never had this happen before. I would advise against trusting this hotel. They also walked the group in front of us who had reservations for ten days and had just flown all day to get there from Germany.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank belzweig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2017

Thank you belzweig for sharing your feedback. I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you and your family encountered due to our oversold situation. This is a rare occasion for us and want to assure you that we are taking measures to prevent this from happening again in the future.

We would love to make things right and hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future to provide you with an exceptional visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2017 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel atound noon after an early morning flight. Jessica Colangelo at the front desk checked us right in, no waiting till 4 my daughters would have fell asleep on the beach.The bell hops Brandon and Ryan were very helpful getting bags to and from room. I will come back again. Mark

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank MarkHeflin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2017

Thanks very much MarkHeflin for your kind words about our hotel and the great service you received from Jessica, Brandon and Ryan! I have already shared your comments with them and it brought a smile to their faces. We are excited to hear that you will coming back for another visit - hopefully soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2017 via mobile

Comfortable bed. Nice quality pillows. Staff good. Pool small plenty of chairs available. Beach across the street plenty of chairs included in resort fee of $20 per day.$20 extra if yoy want umbrella.Valet parkers quick, no other parking options. Best feature is ocean view. My 1st room had beds facing the wrong way would have to stand to see ocean. Whoever designed room was not thinking. It was no problem getting another room. They also have a small snack around 4pm. Pretzels one day. Next day delicious shrimp.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank paulam093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2017

Thank you very much paulam093 for sharing your wonderful feedback regarding your recent visit! I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed our location across from the beach and that amazing view from your room. So glad you had an opportunity to experience our Daily Delight offerings - they are big hit with our guests.

We hope you will come back to see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2017 via mobile

10•7•17 My son and I flew to Ft. Lauderdale to attend a Titans/Dolphins Game. We booked a room at The Sonesta. It’s a beautiful hotel, the lobby was spacious with lots seating, with a bar in the lobby and at the pool. The pool area was a lil small but nice.
Our room was on the 7th floor #709, beautifully decorated, it was very clean, no odors. Bathroom has also been updated, shower only, no tub. Beds were a bit too hard for me, but maybe not not for you. Flatscreen TV, mini-fridge & security safe. A beautiful view of the beach/ocean.
We eat breakfast in Bistro located just off the lobby. A bit pricey, but the food was good.
The hotel staff was very courteous, willing to accommodate in any way. There is a $22.50 hotel fee per day (see website for details). Valet Parking only $32.50 a day. We didn’t see any other parking areas to park your car, so they’ve got ya there. We used Uber to get everywhere, there’s lots of Uber drivers, so there’s never a shortage. There’s a few pubs/restaurants just around the corner. Sunday evening we walked to the The Parrot Bar, I had a good burger and a cold beer & watched football on one of their many TVs.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2017

Thanks very much Barry S for choosing to stay with us to attend the football game! So glad you enjoyed our accommodations, location and great service from our team. It's nice to hear that you had an opportunity to explore our immediate area and experience the nearby restaurants and shops - all within walking distance which is very convenient for our guests.

Our team looks forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews