We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Ranked #15 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at this hotel at the end of September this year (2017). We loved the location right across from the beach, as others have said there is a main road between the hotel and the beach but that didn't bother us. We didn't drive as we flew in but there is a fee for valet parking just to be aware of. The staff were very accommodating, they upgraded our room as it was our honeymoon which we greatly appreciated. The rooms are very clean, we loved stayed in a king bed room on the corner with the view of the ocean. The free wifi was great to have and they always have a free snack offered in the late afternoon in the lobby which was really nice. They give two free drink vouchers to use at the bar in the lobby which is a nice touch. We had never been to Fort Lauderdale before and so at night we were walking along the road that the hotel is on to search for a place to eat and we were offered a ride from a man in a big golf cart, these drive all along the main roads and are free of charge, they take donations and we really appreciated the drive and his expertise on where to go. The driver took us to the main strip with all the bars and restaurants and we went to Cafe Ibiza which had amazing live flamenko music and great food. The hotel was only about a 15 minute drive from the airport and I HIGHLY recommend taking an Uber vs a cab as it is way cheaper that way. The hotel is also about a ten minute walk from a mall across the bridge if you're looking to shop a little. The pool was nice to swim in, we took a late night swim which was really nice. All in all this hotel is clean, modern and in a good location near the beach. Happy travels!

Room Tip: I would recommend staying in a room on a higher floor facing the ocean, the higher the floor the les...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank LauraMxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much LauraMxox for sharing your wonderful review of your recent visit. I am thrilled that you enjoyed our location and all of its amenities - it sounds like you were able to experience and enjoy every aspect of our hotel, as well as the nearby venues in the Ft. Lauderdale area - all within a short distance from our property.

Thanks again for staying with us - our team looks forward to seeing you again - hopefully soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,827)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 2,827 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Its across a busy road from the beach. Hotel rooms have poor lighting, good thing as they are dirty. Must valet park at $25 night..spend the extra $75 and go stay south at margaritaville..this is NOT a 4 star property

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank kitty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you kitty H for sharing your feedback regarding your recent visit. We are very disappointed that you did no thoroughly enjoy your stay. We addressing the lighting issue in the room, as well as the housekeeping issues so that we can improve our performance in these particular areas.

I do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the near future. Please contact me when that time comes so that I may personally assist with your reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Thanks Jessica for locating a store that was open after 11pm on a Sunday for something I needed the next morning for a business meeting! You were a huge help!

The large bay windows facing the ocean are awesome.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks very much David for your kind words about Jessica at our front desk for assisting you with your meeting needs! I've already shared your comments with her and it brought a smile to her face.

We hope you will come back soon for another visit for some relaxation and enjoy those amazing views of the ocean!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed there with my wife for work, rooms are nice and comfortable, but if you come for vacation is not the best place, the area pool is small and enclosed, the beach was not in its best moment (hurricane Irma was a month ago) the area around is quite empty with few options for food or drinks.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank carlnunez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you carlnunez for sharing your feedback regarding your recent visit. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your comfortable rooms, but sorry you felt there is a lack of food & beverage options in our area. Perhaps you were not able to explore our area, as we are centrally located to many restaurants/shops and area attractions - most within a 5 or 10 minute walk or a short drive. Additionally, we are pleased to report that the City has done an outstanding job of getting the beach back into great shape since the departure of Hurricane Irma - it is now business as usual and we hope you will come back again soon to enjoy everything we have to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Took a 4 day break from the northeast to come to Ft. Lauderdale and finally, after years of driving by this hotel thinking it was a condo or apartment building, booking our stay. What a great place, especially at the price point!
For travelers unfamiliar with FTL, this is at the north end of the "strip" bisected by Sunrise Blvd.
The hotel is modern, hip and has outstanding staff, especially the front end manned capably by Alexis at the front desk. Our king room was spacious, faced the ocean, and was very quiet with great housekeeping. The pool area is a bit small but worked well for our needs. There are a couple of pubs in the immediate footprint for food options other than the hotel. The beach is right across the street and the hotel has reserved chairs for guests.
If you were thinking at staying at the W down the boulevard ( I have), this is a better, less expensive choice with great service and attitude from the management team.
Will book this hotel again, without a doubt.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the north end of the building have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank thomas n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you thomas n for sharing your positive feedback of our recent visit with us. I'm thrilled that you chose to stay with us and you were not disappointed by your first stay. It's great to know that you enjoyed our hip decor, fabulous location across from the beach and the wonderful service you received by our team, especially Alexis at the front desk!

Now that you have found us, we hope you will come back for more visits in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

After my daughters wedding, me and my wife wanted a little rest and relaxation. Could not have picked a better hotel. Surrounded by a beautiful beach and several of the top restaurants in Florida. The hotel and rooms are very clean. The breakfast was the best in Ft Lauderdale. The employees bent over backwards for us. The pool and bar was just what we needed. Pulling this whole experience together was Joe the bartender at the pool. He makes the hotel. WE will be back soon.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the ocean. Amazing sunrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twcondon6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Wow - thank you so much twcondon6 for your wonderful five star review! It's great to know that from start to finish you and your wife experienced a great stay with us!

We appreciate you choosing to stay at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach and our team looks forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

We stayed at the Sonesta 3 nights pre-cruise. The hotel is located right on the beach front and about a 10 minute walk from a supermarket and mall so plenty of dining options available.
The hotel is about a 15 minute drive from Port Everglades and a 20-30 minute walk from Las Olas.

Check in and out was very quick and the staff were very friendly. They charge a $20 a day resort fee which includes Wifi, bottled water daily, tea/ coffee in the room, beach loungers, beach towel use, a free drink from the bar and they hold themed evenings too, one of the evenings we were there was free corn dogs.

Our room was on the 5th floor and had a lovely ocean view room. (All rooms do) The room was light, airy and spacious.
The room is very white which shows up every stain/ mark. My bed the headboard was a bit tattered and our bathroom wasn't particularly clean, however the rest of the room was fine.
The beds were very comfortable, and we didn't have any issues with noise except from the air con.

The hotel has a small swimming pool and a good amount of sun loungers to use, then the beach is just across the road where you have loungers to use. There is also a gym and small bar in the hotel lobby.
The hotel has a restaurant attached open for all meals, however we did not use this so cannot comment on it.

Overall we had a good stay here. Unfortunately the weather was not great so we couldn't get to the beach to use the loungers at all during our stay, which is a little annoying considering you pay for them in the resort fee, however we spent a lot of time in the hotel and in our room so we made the most of it there.
We would stay here again, however it is a little far out for just a one-night pre or post cruise but for more than 2 days it's in a great location with the Mall, Supermarket, places to eat, Bonnet House and Hugh Taylor Birch Gardens all next door to the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Emily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you Emily J for your detailed review of your recent and letting us know just how much you enjoyed everything that Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach has to offer! 'm so pleased that you had an opportunity to experience all of our amenities that are associated with our Daily Fee - especially our Daily Delights. We are located close to so many area venues and attractions - all within walking distance, and it's nice to hear you were able to explore the area.

I hope your future travels will include a return trip to visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#45 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,021 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#28 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,177 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#19 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#23 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,452 reviews
Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,036 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#11 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
5,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach

Address: 999 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-3310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#32 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $218 - $514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps away from the ocean and the beautiful Fort Lauderdale beach, Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach offers you a sensational experience among Fort Lauderdale hotels: oceanfront hotel accommodations, unique restaurants and lounging areas, and a variety of excursions for those guests looking to explore Ft. Lauderdale, Florida. Our ballroom and meeting rooms on the penthouse floor overlook the Atlantic Ocean, presenting a special setting for business meetings and social gatherings held at this Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b Ocean Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing