We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in Lauderdale”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #2 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We spent five nights recently at The Pillars and it was so enjoyable that we wanted to extended out stay. The service is top notch and every request was honored quickly and with a genuine smile. The surrounding area is high energy Ft. Lauderdale beach, but once you walk through the front door of this intimate hotel the outside world goes away. Our room was complete with a bar area, mini fridge and micro-wave. Also in the closet is a fully stocked mini bar and safe. The pool area is wonderful with a views of the intercostal. The loungers are the most comfortable of any place we have stayed and are perfect for a entire day of relaxing in the sun. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are available either inside or on the dock. Our dinner on dockside was an experience with great food and the front row seat for a beautiful sunset.
The room was clean and decorated in a warm Florida style with an upscale contemporary twist. Linens are Frette..who would expect less from The Pillars. We are planning another escape to this great little gem in the future. Thanks again to the staff for a perfect stay!!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms offer more privacy from the pool area, but there is no elevator for handicapped a...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robjtjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,012)
There are newer reviews for The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

641 - 647 of 1,012 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2012

We recently enjoyed an excellent stay at The Pillars prior to our Caribbean cruise. We stayed there for 5 nights. It is a very nice small boutique hotel. The property is beautiful. The staffs were very friendly. All was very clean and the area peaceful and quiet. It is ideal for relaxing. It is in a great location just a couple of hundred yards from the beach but quiet also. The hotel backs on to a giant waterway with yachts and water taxis passing by, with lovely sights in the backdrop.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ECostoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Great service, great location, beautiful pool/garden area, watertaxi stop at the hotel. Dinner at the dock overviewing the causeway, minutes away from the beach... Would highly recommend this hotel, possibly one of the best boutique hotels I have ever been. Very helpful in recommendations and reservations for restaurants closeby as well. Very romantic, relaxed and personal style, very different to the other (big) hotels in Fort Lauderdale. In short, had a great time!

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Wderks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We recently enjoyed an excellent stay at The Pillars prior to our Caribbean cruise, the location by the waterfront is relaxing and yet the hotel is close to the beach and numerous restaurants.
The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arddak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in March.
I wanted to treat my wife and myself to something special and after reading the reviews on the Pillars I went for it.
This is a very nice hotel in a lovely setting, with luxurious sun loungers around the poolside. It is in a great location just a couple of hundred yards from the beach but quiet also.
The hotel backs on to a giant waterway with yachts and water taxis passing by, and with millionaire’s homes in the backdrop. That’s about it.
I booked a King Poolside Deluxe room at a cost of $1576 for the 4 nights. It was a king bed yes, but I feel it’s a bit naughty to call it poolside (being on the second storey with no elevator). I’m not quite sure what was deluxe about it either.
There was no complementary breakfast and no coffee making facility in the room (we were told free coffee was available in the lobby). On the bed, the pillows were the worse I have ever had in any hotel room in memory. They just flopped down both sides of your hand and support was none existent.
The pool was way too chilly for me, and a couple of other guests we spoke to.
Personally I don’t think that it was worth the money and I now wish I had done something else with that cash. If the room had been $270 I would be happier, but $394 a night, I could cry.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ukdryver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PillarsManagement, General Manager at The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Thank you so much for the high marks regarding our service, cleanliness and location.
As far as sleep quality is concerned you must have been referring to the pillows. All beds feature 2 high end feather pillows and 2 high end foam pillows. Since we are a boutique hotel, we like to give our guests a choice. I am sorry that you never mentioned to us during your stay that you would perhaps prefer a foam or firmer pillow. If you had we would have accommodated this request. We pride ourselves on the high level of personal service that we offer. Many guests are so impressed with the bed amenities that they inquire about where to purchase them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

My wife and I originally check in for 1 night to celebrate our 20th year anniversary. We injoyed the Pillars so much we turned around only to return an get another room. This would only happen due to the staff being warm, professional, beautiful rooms and a cosy ambiance. Can't wait for next time. Thank you Caroline and to all your staff.
Sincerely,
Terry Springer

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We had a fantastic break in this little peace of heaven. We loved having breakfast on the private dock, and enjoyed the "sunset view" as well.Thank you for the warm & very professional welcoming.The place to be for a rich experience!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ValRaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,570 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#27 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,124 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,813 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
5,293 reviews
Central Beach
Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club
Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club
#5 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Address: 111 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4313
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#6 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#13 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $233 - $561 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on New River Sound, a block from the beach, the Pillars Hotel is a beautiful mix of classical British Colonial architecture and 30's "Art Deco". Well-known for its magical sunsets, unpretentious service and its special dining experience, the hotel caters to travelers looking for a sophisticated intimate venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pillars

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing