We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean beach front hotel, check out some other spots before you book.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sun Tower Hotel & Suites on the beach
Certificate of Excellence
Windermere, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Clean beach front hotel, check out some other spots before you book.”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Good location, right on the beach, which is nice because the street in front is very busy. We opted for the ocean front room, the view was pretty however, the balcony was very narrow with an odd triangular shape that made it impossible to sit outside. Our room was clean and fairly comfortable but it was dimly lit and it had very little closet space. Things to know - Parking was free, but space is limited. They offer free Internet – BUT it is only available in the lobby (a narrow hallway with no sitting space) or poolside (noisy and wet). The Sands Bar and Grill offer a happy hour special featuring reduced prices for appetizers and drinks BUT they do not have a liquor license so if you order a cocktail, instead of beer or wine, it will be prepared with a flavored wine rather than the real deal. We were visiting during Spring Beak season and paid about $180 per night, I did not think that it was a good value. We stayed the next night next door at the Pelican Grand Beach Resort for about the same cost. That was a MUCH better deal offering many on site amenities and a lazy river!

Room Tip: Opt for beach front room to avoid road and pool noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ACM_912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    171
    36
    19
    8
See reviews for
206
281
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

This hotel is right on the ocean. The water was only a 150 (or so) feet away. The room was very clean and was a true suite. We arrived during the Sand Bar Grille's (the hotel eatery) happy hour and there was nowhere to park. The man at the front desk just asked us to leave our key and he would handle the car. Nice touch. After settling in, we went down to the "pub" and had several beers and conch fritters. The beer was good, the fritters not bad, and the service colorful (as were numerous other patrons). We had a great time. My husband thought he left his cell phone on our table. When I called to ask, the staff was very nice and even looked in the sand below the table we were sitting at (the phone was left in the cab). The desk staff also offered information on local restaurants. In the morning we went back down to restaurant for breakfast and it was great. The portions were large and the prices good (not for orange juice though...$5 a glass...don't do it!!). I could not finish my meal. The staff was again colorful. I had a great time and will definitely go back. My only wish was that I had a different room. Ours was right above the eatery and we did not sit on our balcony because we would have felt uncomfortable looming over the other patrons. I also would not want the ground floor room next to the eatery. Overall I loved it and will definitely come back

Room Tip: All the rooms are ocean front but the upper floors seem like they offer more privacy. Aim for 4th or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArmyLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2012 via mobile

Positives: spacious suites, very welcoming and helpful staff, if it were any closer to the beach it might wash away, every room has a great view of the ocean, small but nice pool, decent restaurant, worked well for a family with a toddler.
Negatives: Bathroom is in need of renovation. There was no hot/cold indicator on the tub faucet, so it was hard to get the water right.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank BoomerMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medfield, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Love staying at the Sun Tower Suites!!! Have always had a good experience. Just had a family get together and it worked out great!! The food is excellent! Love having the beach a few steps away and the pool area is nice (not huge but nice). There are compimentary beach chairs and free parking. It is a nice small casual hotel (6 floors) It is an older building but all the rooms have been redone. The only negative is hotel is not within walking distance to anything - would need a car or take bus. Sometimes parking can be a problem but the front desk always figures something out. We always get the king suite. Plenty of room (kitchen, small dining area and living room(pull out couch) The bedromm is separated by a door and shutters. The rooms are decorated nicely. It is a little pricey in March when we went but April rates start going down. Christine , the manager is great!! It is easy going back and forth to your room since there sre only 6 floors. This hotel is not one of those fancy hotels - that is one of the reasons I like it so much.

Room Tip: Get a king suite on floors 3-6
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rainbow534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleport, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This hotel was a great choice for us. We wanted to be right on the ocean and relax and enjoy the sunshine. We were there the week of Feb. 28-March 7 2012.The minute we got there, all the staff was very helpful and made you feel comfortable. Ask Carlos or John if you need assistance while you were there.They are great. The managers are on site daily to help in any way they can. Setting up umbrellas, beach chairs,hammocks, etc. It is a small hotel, away from the hectic downtown area. We loved opening our balcony and having the ocean and the wave sounds to wake up to. The beach was very clean and private. The bed was so comfortable!!!! The pool was nice and has a nice atmosphere. The Sandbar Grille restaraunt is a great place to eat. I recommend the breakfast flatbread. All the locals came there to eat, so you know it is good. The rooms were clean and the parking was free. Was close to downtown, without the crowds. We definately recommend this hotel if you are going to Ft. Lauderdale. It is small but worth every penny. Is next to the Pelican Grand Hotel, which is double the price of this.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank werhare2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

This was a delight. Everything we were looking for. Right on the beach, you could not be any closer to the sounds of the ocean. Lounge chairs, umbrellas and hammocks. In a nice area of Ft. Lauderdale, close enough to things but more near a residential area, which kept things very quiet. The pool, the Sandbar and having everything you needed on site was a joy. Carlos was really great as was all the staff. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swankmodern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
binghamton ny
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed at the Sun Tower hotel for a long weekend[3/2 thru 3/4]. Most hotels in Fort Lauderdale are quite expensive this time of year. Based on mostly favorable reviews on Trip Advisor, we choose this hotel. We were not disappointed. We had a sixth floor suite which was very spacious and comfortable. The room was very clean and as the reviews will tell you, you are right on the beach. Parking is free[ which is not usually the case for most hotels on the beach] and although spaces are limited, the staff would always take care of your car if a space was not immediately available. We found the staff to be very helpful and courteous[ contrary to some recent reviews we had seen]. We ate breakfast at the hotel grill each morning and it was quite good. Overall, this is not a fancy hotel. But, it does provide you a very comfortable and clean room that is right on the beach and at a relatively reasonable price for Fort Lauderdale. We would stay here again if we ever return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank creagh5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,682 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#18 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,970 reviews
Ocean Manor Resort Hotel
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,777 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,682 reviews
Pelican Grand Beach Resort, A No...
#9 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Tower Hotel & Suites on the beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Tower Hotel & Suites on the beach

Property: Sun Tower Hotel & Suites on the beach
Address: 2030 N Ocean Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33305-3727
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sun Tower Hotel & Suites on the beach 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fort Lauderdale's Premiere boutique style hotel, located DIRECTLY on 350 ft of private beach, offers 23 NEWLY RENOVATED oceanfront suites and standard accommodations with private balconies. Enjoy our Sandbar Grille located on our expanded oceanfront terrace or relax by our heated pool. Lounge chairs & umbrella's are provided along with complimentary use of kayaks and paddleboards. Self parking on property is available for no additional cost. There is nothing between you and beach when you stay at Sun Tower Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sun Tower Hotel & Suites on the beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Tower Hotel And Suites On The Beach
Sun Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Sun Motel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing