We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rooms, close to beach.”
Review of W Fort Lauderdale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #64 of 132 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2018

The hotel is very big and strangely disjointed into two towers and is hard to negotiate.
If you can find it, there is a great cafe called (for some reason) 'Steak' right at the front opposite the beach and on the ground floor. Breakfast on a sunny day is really wonderful!
The main action is up on the 4th floor where the check-in is oddly located, and the 5th The swimming pool on the 5th is excellent and has a great view of the beach.
The guest rooms are roomy and well appointed, most seeming to have sideways views of the beach from the narrow balconies.
Loungers and towels on the beach a definite plus!
Wifi log-in peculiar and quality 2nd rate.

Room Tip: Weird layout of hotel makes it hard to work out where the best rooms are!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gra1Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haley D, Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Hello gra1Sydney,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Our Steak 954 restaurant by James Beard Award Winner Stephen Starr serves up the beach's best cuisine from breakfast to dinner. Soak in all the action at our oceanfront WET pool deck with live DJs spinning cool beats every Saturday and Sunday. Our views beckon you for another stay soon!

All the best,
Haley Dagan
Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

Having stayed at the W in other cities this is by far the worse. There was mold in the bathroom. The balcony paint was peeling off and there was stains by the door. We asked for extra wine glasses as we were meeting friends before dinner and they were filthy. We sent them back. The second night we left to go to the Westin as we are SPG members.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Pablo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haley D, Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Hello Pablo S,

Thank you so much for your loyalty to W Hotels and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are concerned to hear of the issues you mentioned, and would like the opportunity to discuss your experience further. Please feel free to email us directly at GM.WFortLauderdale@whotels.com so we can assist.

All the best,
Haley Dagan
Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

Awesome property, amazing staff. The renovation is absolutely stunning and the room we had (Two bedroom suite) was beautiful. We came here to relax and sleep off a week of partying in Miami and we were not disappointed. One of my favorite W properties that I have visited, and although we were there during one of those lovely and sporadic South Florida storms, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be sure to return during our next trip. Thanks for the early check in and late check out, we needed it .

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Elliot B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haley D, Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Hello Elliot B,

You flatter us with your feedback about our $55 million makeover and being one of your favorite W Hotels! We're happy to hear that we were able to accommodate a much needed early check in and check out for you. Sounds like you fully enjoyed relaxing in your two-bedroom suite with its full kitchen, living room, dining room and washer/dryer unit. We can't wait for your next stay with us!

All the best,
Haley Dagan
Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

Having stayed at my share of Florida hotels, this one clearly had the AC turned off for a long period of time, which will give any FL hotel room a very musty smell. Once I run into that, I cross it off the list. Never again will I stay here. This is the 4th property I've stayed at on Ft. Lauderdale beach but this was my first time at the W and the only one where I had that "FL mold smell" to the room. As soon as I walked in the room, I could smell the mold. It was also really hot in the room. I complained to the bellman who got an AC guy there right away. That helped a little but once that mold smell gets into carpeting, it's pretty much impossible to get it out.

I am a platinum member and I was treated as such - I will give the hotel credit for that. They upgraded me to an ocean front room and it was nice. A corner room with a nice lanai overlooking the beach. Unfortunately, it was overlooking the pool area - I was 3 floors above the pool on the 8th floor. Over the weekend, they had the boombox going at the pool, it was so loud, I could hear it in the room and it ruined sitting on the lanai during the day.

The hotel is seriously understaffed and it has a weird layout. One side has a elevators that only go to the 4th floor from the parking to where the lobby is - then you have to catch other elevators on the other side to catch an elevator to your room.

The room itself is 70's meets Miami Vice 80's and tries to be modern. CHEEZY. The baseboard of the bed had a 70's wooden baseboard painted to look modern with gold shiney paint. The night stands have that white laminate furniture so big in the 80's. There were outlets on either side of the bed but they often didn't work. There's a nice desk and TV but the desk has so much stuff on it - like a big tray of snacks they want you to buy, that there's hardly any room for anything else. Along with bottles of water they want $4 a piece for.

The room has a nice expresso maker. They will give you a regular coffee maker upon request, which they promptly did.

The bathroom was nice but there was hardly any water pressure in the sink.

The pool area is very small and there are two pools. People go down to the pool at 7 am and reserve their space and then don't bother to show up for the day. The pool areas are way too small for the size of the hotel. It was hard to find a lounge chair.

We had drinks at the bar, it was decent for a hotel bar.

The one positive I will say with this hotel is despite it being so understaffed, the staff really did try to bend over backwards for our visit. They brought up the coffee maker and gave us plenty of coffee - if we had a request, we got it quickly. The valets were also really nice but the lines were always really long. Lines were long everywhere.

I felt ripped off like a tourist, which isn't usually my experience on Ft. Lauderdale beach.

Room Tip: The pool is on the 5th floor overlooking the beach but they play loud music & you'll hear it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank clubnev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welcome T C, Front Office Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2018

Hello Clubnev,

Thank you for taking the time to share your disappointments concerning your stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for the challenges you experienced. Your feedback has been shared with our Leadership Committee to ensure that is an incident that is corrected moving forward. Please know it’s through comments like yours that will keep us on task until we provide each of our guests with a memorable stay.

All the best,
Carmie Augustine-Grant
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

The hotel has a good location right in front of the beach, but without beach exit, you have to cross thru car lobby ,rooms are ok but not superb, pool is full but ok and the views are stunning
Front desk personal was kind, for the price isn’t the better choice


Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Anafofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haley D, Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Hello Anafofi,

Our central location gives guests incredible access to glittering Fort Lauderdale Beach as well as the area's top restaurants and nightlife. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the stunning views as well as the service you received from our Welcome Agents. We hope you'll stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to the area.

All the best,
Haley Dagan
Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

There is really nothing to W at all, its cold the architecture is bizarre. The pool is ridiculous and huge. Restaurants beyond awful. Not a family place unless you like to drop off your offspring in the semi dark heavily AC ed game rooms

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank DISSAPOINTED123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welcome T C, Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Hello DISSAPOINTED123,

Hoping all is well.

Thank you for providing feedback on your previous stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for the challenges you experienced. It’s comments like yours that will keep us on task, until we provide each of our guests with a memorable stay.

All the best,
Brian P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Many things were wrong with this hotel but nothing that the hotel manager did not handle. Any issues that my family or any other guests encountered the managers was very good at filling in for the problem. The hotel had a great 2 pools and a great spa. One pool for all hotel guests and one pool only for the condo side of the pool, slightly quieter then the main pool. The hotel shampoo and conditioner etc are all from the company bliss which provide great products. The spa is also ran by bliss so you can expect great products available all across the hotel.

The hotel lobby had a newly opened sushi bar. The food was decent but the price was outrageous. The hotel had just undergone renovations so the club that used to exist no longer exists. The lobby had a patio deck over the road but that also has a great view of the beach, great place to be for sunrises as well as sunset. The hotel rooms were clean with great amenities.

The general public hotel pool is a rooftop pool overlooking the same street and beach as the deck but really cool to see when you are in the pool. The terrace that allows you to transfer from both towers of the hotel has some turf great for some games. There were a few kids playing soccer on the turf. From the terrace you can see the channel which once again is really cool and great for pictures and videos. The experience at the hotel was overall pretty good with a few issues that were all handled very well.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sydney J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haley D, Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Hello Sydney J,

We are thrilled to hear how much you loved the property's $55 million restyle and renovation. Sounds like you loved witnessing the sunrises from our Living Room Terrace as well as soaking in the views of the ocean and intracoastal from your balcony. We strive to provide our guests with stays that fall nothing short of perfect. We look forward to your next escape with us!

All the best,
Haley Dagan
Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Conrad Fort Lauderdale Beach
Conrad Fort Lauderdale Beach
#3 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
197 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#15 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
2,085 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#7 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#16 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
2,946 reviews
The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdal...
#2 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
1,063 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#39 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
4,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Fort Lauderdale

Address: 401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#12 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#16 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $429 - $1,085 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — W Fort Lauderdale 3.5*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking South Florida beach with unobstructed ocean views, W Fort Lauderdale has sand and surf on one side, and intercoastal elegance on the other. A daily resort fee of $26.50 will be collected at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your W Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
w Hotels Fort Lauderdale
w Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing