We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano
Ranked #7 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great room”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I spent one night here. The room was very luxurious and modern with a kitchen and a roomy bathroom. I had to call the desk because I couldn't figure out the tv remote and someone came up within 5 minutes.
One negative: there are a limited number of chaises for the canal and the air conditioning unit is close enough to be noisy. Better sit by the pool. On the other hand, the view of the canal is lovely, especially from my balcony.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naturalee0900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    818
    325
    74
    45
    22
See reviews for
315
585
61
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We recently stayed at the Il Lugano for 3 nights prior to our cruise. We were with friends and family for my husband's 50th. As a travel agent, we travel frequently and have very high standards. I am pleased to say that Il Lugano lived up to all all expectations. The service was great and the rooms were amazing. Shelia in reservations was amazing and patient will all of my questions on the phone and came out to meet us during our stay. Marianne was fanastic and a hugh help even before we arrived. She arranged for our pick up at the airport and our transfer to the pier, which all went without a hitch. as well as Happy Birthday cupcakes in our suite. When we were there she was always on hand to answer any questions with a smile. We also ate breakfast and lunch at the restaurant and it was great. I would highly recoommend this hotel and look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Donna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
We are pleased to hear you and your family had a great stay and were able to enjoy all the great amenities il Lugano has to offer, from our rooms to our spectacular restaurant da Campo Osteria. it is our goal to be able to meet our guests’ expectations. On behalf of the entire il Lugano team we would like congratulate your husband on his 50th birthday. We hope to see you again on your next Ft. Lauderdale vacation.

Maisa Palacios
Executive Administrative Assistant
il Lugano Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I can't say enough good things about this hotel..great rooms and amenities,very clean and spacious.the entire staff,from sheila at reservations to front desk to maid service went well beyond the call of duty to ensure a pleasant stay here.Quietly located but close to several ameneties just outside the hotel.We had a one bedroom suite facing the intracoastal waterway and enjoyed great views and sunsets.the bed was by far the best bed i have slept on away from home..the pool was heated on most days and unfortunately i didn't find out about the steam room till the last day but i still took advantage of it..Don't be surprised if they voluntarily compliment or reduce the cost of a service to you(sorry il lugano if i'm letting the cat out of the bag). it's a bit of a drive to las olas blvd,but well worth it.We enjoyed great breakfast and service at campo restaurant(wendy and dina were great) every morning with a great view of the passing boats..there's also a great italian bakery "pane e dolce" just outside the hotel with great espresso and bread ...and don't be too surprised to run into an A list celebrity or two in the hotel(won't say who,to respect the privacy of that person)..i would highly recommend this hotel for it's quality and quantity..again i would like to thank the entire staff at il lugano for a most pleasureable stay and i look forward to returning to your hotel the next time i'm in Fort Lauderdale..lou b ..

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lou b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Il Lugano is a great place to stay if you need a kitchen (no oven) and a washer dryer. Join I prefer to get an upgrade it's free and they gave us a double upgrade. If your staying here beyond a day or two you will need a car. They offer transportation but it's hard to get and only goes one way. The pool is small and poorly situated with little if any sun as the building blocks it. The day beds facing the inter coastal are lovely and the sun hits it around 1:00pm. Thereis no pool service at all. For the winter we got a great rate . However, if you don't need a washer/ dryer or kitchen you would be better served at a different resort with more resort environment.

Room Tip: Jr suites are lovely make sure if someone is sleeping on the sofa bed that you want the same bedding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank randyseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2012

What a great hotel with wonderful suites. There was 12 of us all staying in six different rooms for a wedding weekend. The rooms were the best I have ever experienced—very clean, great space, quiet, great views, balconies, kitchens…perfect space. We also have a condo just up the road where my parents were staying and will have overflow visitors stay there from now on. I would definitely recommend it to anyone; it is the best hotel in the area. The restaurant is a bit expensive but good. The location is off the main path a bit, but I like that because it makes things quiet, and everything was very easy to access. It is not a beach hotel at all, but it is very nice being on the Intercoastal. The views were nice. The staff was very professional and accommodating treating everyone is a personal fashion. It is a good size boutique with a very professional appeal. Well Done.

Room Tip: Price at the website seemed to be as good as any or by joining iPrefer club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
We appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear you had a great stay at il Lugano during this special wedding weekend. Though we in fact we are not located on the beach we have great Intracoastal views and are just a walking distance away to the beach. We look forward to your next visit to il Lugano Hotel.

Maisa Palacios
Executive Administrative Assistant
il Lugano Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal, canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2012

This hotel is an oasis in a desert. The service received by team members (without limiting the list, I specifically remember Luis at the door, MaryAnne concierge and Josselyn at the reception desk and Monroe who made sure I had a daily capuccino on the lounge chairs at the back of the hotel on the intercoastal), was outstanding.
The property is very well maintained and the cleaning staff is extremely efficient and effective. Dog and kid friendly, which is quite rate for a boutique hotel of this stature. Kudos to the leadership, they've put together a great place and team.

Room Tip: The beach front side has wifi, while the other side has the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sperss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Wanted to go for our honeymoon someplace warm on a budget. Did not think I would be getting this fancy of a hotel! The best hotel and service we have ever had, though we don't often stay in ritzy hotels like this. We got there a little too early and left a little late, but both times they held our bags for us and let us check in early! They also included a couple of bottles of champagne for us as it was our honeymoon. Got the free upgrade through their I prefer service and ended up with a very large suite for $111 (price gouge rated at $799), good luck finding that deal anywhere else. Although it is a couple blocks off the beach it is in a quiet (during offseason) safe little downtown area with lots of nice bars with reasonable prices and fancy dining options. CVS is a block away too. Also it's a watertaxi stop.

Room Tip: Go with Intercoastal view, much better than ocean as it's off the beach. BOOK THROUGH I PREFER...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Engineerer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
On behalf of the il Lugano staff, congratulations. We appreciate the opportunity to be a part of such a memorable moment. Il Lugano as you mentioned has great amenities and we are pleased to hear you and your wife truly enjoyed them all. We look forward to having you and your wife stay with us on your next Fort Lauderdale get away.

Maisa Palacios
Executive Administrative Assistant
il Lugano Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#18 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,558 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,910 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,651 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
985 reviews
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano

Property: Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano
Address: 3333 NE 32nd Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-7120 (Formerly Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal)
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#16 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A masterpiece of contemporary design rising 15 floors above the Intracoastal Waterway, il Lugano Hotel is Ft. Lauderdale’s most fashionable address. Experience the height of exclusivity at this spectacular Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel -- offering ultra-luxurious suite-hotel accommodations and lavishly appointed private residences. Stay only minutes from the city’s financial district, shops, beaches, restaurants, and nightlife. Enjoy stunning Atlantic Ocean and waterway views, world-class amenities, and availability to arrange private dockage for yachts up to 50 feet. Travel to nearby shopping and fine dining establishments in our luxury Cadillac Escalades* (based on availability, fee may apply). Blending the style of the world’s finest boutique hotels and a dedication to flawless personal service, we are redefining expectations for Fort Lauderdale hotel suite accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Lugano Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Il Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing