We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great staff, great pool, and free happy hour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Ranked #35 of 134 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great staff, great pool, and free happy hour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Staff is great. Complementary omelet breakfast. Free happy hour from 5:30 to 7:30. Great view from the room. Only place to stay in fort lauderdale. Grocery store within a five minute walk

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrs9900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,042
    876
    428
    193
    103
See reviews for
862
801
77
497
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Excellent staff and accommodations! Plus you can't beat the free breakfast where an omelet is prepared to order just how you like it!! There is also a free happy hour with drinks and snacks every evening!! Love this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nataliekay1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qualicum Beach, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Myself and 4 friends just returned from a 14 day Caribbean cruise which started and finished in Ft. Lauderdale. We were booked at the Embassy Suites and were absolutely delighted upon our arrival.
The suites are arranged around a lush tropical courtyard and parrots fly freely outside the grounds. The hotel has all of the amenities that you could want including a business center, great bar and atmosphere, lovely pool and hot tub complete a day's relaxation. We were invited to a Manager's party daily and received complimentary drinks and appetizers.

The hotel is across the street from Ross clothing store, Publix Market and an assortment of restaurants. It is situated only minutes from the cruise departure dock and we were provided a shuttle to the ship.

Upon our return from the cruise, we were able to leave our luggage in the Day room and enjoy the amenities while waiting for our flight back to Vancouver, Canada. To our delight, the handsome General Manager came out to chat to us and thanked us for being so pleased with the hotel and it's staff. We told him that we all felt like we were at a mini resort despite the location being on a busy road. Noise was not an issue, we'll be back asap!!

Room Tip: We found that noise was not an issue anywhere in or around the hotel, despite it being on a busy int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaroleC38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jersey shore
Level Contributor
81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed here pre-cruise. Location was perfect. Walked to a mall for a quick meal the first day, about a block away. That afternoon we walked to the Hilton and took the water taxi around town, can't beat the price or convenience for touring the area. About a 10 minute walk. The narrators on the taxi were better then those on a tour boat we took later, plus you can get on and off or ride all nite for one price. Breakfast at the hotel was tasty, but very busy. Wished we had explored the hotel more and found the pool before we had to leave. Transportation from the airport and to the cruise terminal was a huge plus!

Room Tip: The lobby can get noisy, so I imagine the higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank njnoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison,WI
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We chose the Embassy Suites in Ft. Lauderdale to spend the night prior to our cruise. We chose the property based on reviews we had read and because it allowed us to have some extra room after our long two day car ride. It was a splurge hotel for us.

We arrived at the hotel at 11:00 AM on a Sunday, in the middle of many cruise passengers getting ready for their trip. We let the hotel staff know we were there and gave them our cell phone number and told them we were going to spend the day at the beach with no hurry to get our room. They told me not to expect a call until at least 3:00 PM, and off we went to the beach. My phone rang at 2:00 PM with the notice our room was ready.

We spent a few more minutes at the beach and headed for the hotel. Our room was beautiful, clean and roomy. The room had two large comfy beds and a pullout as well. Our boys were happy as they did not have to share a bed. The pool was next on our list, it was warm, sunny and very clean. Could the hotel use a face lift and new colors? Perhaps, but it was still a nice property. Although our room was smoke free, I don't think it always was as it had a lingering smoke smell. Where we live the entire state is smoke free in all hotels, bars and restaurants so it is easy for me to pick up on the slight smoke smell. Turning on the air helped and soon we didn't notice it.

Self parking was easy, and $16 per day. There is a Publix behind the hotel which was handy for some last minute items we had forgotten. There is a managers reception, but we did not take advantage of that as we had made plans to go to dinner with some friends in the area. Breakfast in the morning was busy to say the least. We enjoyed a hot breakfast, but decided not to wait in line for the custom omelet station.

Our room did not have a view of the port, but we discovered if you go to the upper floors there is a landing on each floor that does look out over the port. It was fun to go up and see the ships in and locate ours before our trip.

It was a five minute ride to the port the next morning.

Room Tip: If you want to see the port, ask for a room with a port view at the time you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MyboysmomMadison_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

The Embassy Suites Ft. lauderdale was a disappointment in almost every way. My "suite" had a mildew/moldy odor. The carpeting was stained with a blood rec color and had several cigarette burns in it. I was really hesitant to walk around the room without shoes. The hotel has a tired 80's look.The evening cocktail hour had free basic cocktails beer and wine with pretzels, popcorn and chips for snacks.The morning greeted me with no hot water and a cold shower followed by a high school cafeteria like breakfast . The McDonald's breakfast next door would be a better bet. Be prepared for close to $20 per day parking fees and no free wifi. the location is good and valet parking staff are excellent When I checked out a day early and expressed my concerns to the front desk clerk the response was "you paid for the second night, no refunds"

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceano, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel the night before a back-to-back cruise began. We actually flew a red eye into FLL from LAX and got to the hotel at 6:30am and they were nice enough to find us a room to get into by 10:30am and let us have breakfast for free in the atrium while we waited for the room. It is a lovely atrium but kind of echo-y. The front desk staff is amazing and very accommodating. We had the whole day at the hotel to use the pool and just relax after flying all night. We were cruising with a group of 21 and they all stayed here and begain arriving during the afternoon.

The rooms were the standard Embassy Suite but you could tell they were older but some things had been refreshed like the wetbar area and bathroom countertops. Regardless, the rooms were comfy. Bedding was the old style (no duvet) but bed was comfy. Our room was on the 6ht floor and right in front of the elevator but we didn't complain since we got in so early. The pool was very nice and refreshing. We didn't get to partake in cocktail hour since we went to a hockey game that night. We did have evening cocktalis in tihe bar when we returned and they were very accommodating.

The next morning we had breakfast again but the staff at breakfast were crabby, regardless we had a good breakfast. We tried using the lobby internet kiosk but service was very slow. The concierge was very helpful in getting us a shuttle to the cruise port terminal and check out was very easy. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room in front of elevator bank as people coming and going can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RumRunner01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.3 km away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#14 of 134 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
1.0 km away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#20 of 134 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
1.7 km away
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#37 of 134 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#36 of 134 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
2.7 km away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#13 of 134 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
1.1 km away
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#54 of 134 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Address: 1100 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-2131
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#27 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#32 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street 3.5*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the convenient location of the Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street hotel surrounded by shopping and dining options. This all-suite hotel is close to Fort Lauderdale attractions including Port Everglades and Fort Lauderdale Beach. Relax in a two-room suite and experience more living area, a kitchenette and work space to catch up on business. Expect a number of great amenities such as a heated outdoor pool and a modern fitness center. You can even bring the family pet. Start the day with a complimentary cooked-to-order full breakfast and savor cocktails, soft drinks and light snacks at our nightly complimentary Evening Reception (Must be legal drinking age). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Embassy Suites
Embassy Suite Fort Lauderdale
Embassy Suite Ft Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing