We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, excellent staff... our week was perfect!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Ranked #41 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Summerton, SC
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great hotel, excellent staff... our week was perfect!!!”
Reviewed 12 August 2009

We just had a perfect week at the Embassy Suites, Ft. Lauderdale. We were able to complete all of our "South Florida" business quickly and, as things were going very well... we spent a couple of extra days at the hotel just to relax and lounge at the pool. The hotel is beautiful and comfortable, the suites are lovely and so well equipped that we never had to call the front desk or housekeeping for anything... all week. We had occasion to talk, several times, to a member of the management team, Ed Timmons. Ed was ever helpful with area information and such...in a very amusing and personable way. He always left us laughing, what a hoot! We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magnolia10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,031 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,175
    994
    496
    233
    133
See reviews for
1,014
917
93
557
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (643)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2009

I reserved this hotel since it was near restaurants, shopping, Port Everglades, and downtown Ft. Lauderdale. It was only .5miles from the entrance to the Port Everglades teminal which we were leaving from the next day for a Royal Caribbean Cruise. We had to pay $17 for parking at the hotel.

The room was in dire need of a thorough cleaning. The carpet had stuff all over it and was nasty. It you stay here, bring your house shoes!!!
The air conditioner did not keep up with the heat. When the sun came up in the morning the windows from the east made the room hot, and the air conditioner temperature was turned as low as possible. My wife and I both woke up sweating.
The bathroom is in the interior or the room and had no exhaust fan to help remove the moisture or the heat. Very poor design. It was like being in the sauna.
As a Hilton Honor memeber, I was disappointed in this location.

On a positive note, the breakfast was good and plentiful, but the line to get a made to order omelet was long and slow.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twwintn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoosejawMoosejaw
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2009

The THIGPEN FAMILY REUNION is a tradition that dates back to the early 1970s. This year, nearly 150 adults and children celebrated our 34th biennial reunion.

We normally select '"suites hotel" for our reunions because they are family-friendly; however, we were especially pleased with our selection of the Fort Lauderdale, Florida EMBASSY SUITES HOTEL because of the hotel's close proximity to 1) stores for shopping for the ladies, 2) golf courses for the golfers, and 3) to water sports for swimmers and bathers.

Moreover, we were very pleased with the hotel's catering and sales teams which literally went the extra mile to satisfy our families. The rooms were very clean, and the public bathrooms were spotless. The support guys (who set up tables and chairs and our dance floor) were super friendly, hard working, and knew exactly how to get the jobs done for us.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoosejawMoosejaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, KS
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

I just stayed one night in July while traveling on business. The hotel is nice and has been updated as well. The rooms are very spacious and updated with granite and LCD televisions. Like all other Embassy Suites, the evening reception is always a bonus. The hotel was very accomidating as they allowed me a late check out since I had a business meeting and needed a place to change before catching a flight back out the next evening. The breakfast buffet was outstanding. So, why only three stars you ask? When I entered my room it was very musty. I chalked it up to the fact the airconditioner was set at 75. So I lowered the temperature down and headed out for a dinner meeting. When I arrived back several hours later, the room had not changed. I didn't think much of it and proceeded to get ready for bed. Right as I was about to climb into bed, I noticed a large area of black mold around the return air vent in the ceiling. The area was very soft. I knew then that I should have gotten a new room, but didn't. I woke up at 4:00 am with a massive sinus headache and totally unable to breathe through my nose. I had no doubt it was the mold issue that had caused this. You know, things happen and how a situation is handled will make the greatest difference on that circumstance. I let the manager know (after the fact) the room had an issue and he was more than accommidating. He acknowledged there was an issue and took the room out of service until it was taken care of. Because of how this was handled combined with the fact the hotel was great otherwise, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GT6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2009

Me, my wife and my son stayed at this hotel for 7 nights during the week of July 4th. I emailed the manger of the hotel (Don Freidman) a few times before our stay just to make sure everything would go smoothly since it was my wifes 60th birthday. Don was great and responded back very quickly. He even gave us a free dessert tray with chocolate covered strawberries and ice cream too our room the day of check-in. The room was great and had a digital thermostat which was great! also a frig and microwave. The room was very clean and room service was polite and courteous, I personal did not find the noise in the lobby very loud and I was there July 4th weekend. The complimentary breakfast was so Delicious and was always room to eat, so much to choose from. .The E spot restaurant in the hotel was very tasteful and priced reasonably. The pool area was also clean and plenty of chairs. Overall for the discounted price with AAA and the convient location I would recommend this to anyone. I had a blast and would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luccijc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2009

Stayed 1 night post cruise. Am HH member so its the only reason I booked it as I got it at a pretty good rate when they had their MVP specials early in the year.

Asked for higher floor room but was not available at check-in so accepted a room on the 3rd floor which I was assured was Non-Smoking. In fact told all rooms were non -smoking. Well this room reeked of smoke.I was not impresed, but apparently nothing else available and this was at about 2pm.Wonder if I was assigned the worst room in the place as I got a cheap rate.

Bathroom kinda old in terms of paint, towels thin, baseboards scuffed. Just a scruffy appearance. Bedroom clean, pillows awful. The whole place just smelt stale and smoky. Disgusting.

Lobby and atruim very pleasing. Free internet. Pretty decent free breakfast.Staff all pleasant and friendly.

Close proximity to port , airport and shopping. Parking $13.
OK for an overnight if you have no other option. You get what you pay for kinda place. Just not my cup of tea.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sungirlxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2009

We were traveling on the Enchantment of the Seas on
July 6 and decided to stay at the Embassy Suites for one
night prior to the cruise.

I emailed Mr Don Friedman, General Manager of the Embassy
Suites and stated that we needed an early check in for 4 rooms.
I told him that we were traveling for my mom's 70th birthday.

Well are rooms were not only ready but with the ocean view.
We enjoyed the manager's reception and the free breakfast.
The pool area is great.

Thank you for a wonderful start to a great vacation.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pa6782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
1.7 km away
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#43 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,838 reviews
1.0 km away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,302 reviews
0.6 km away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#32 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,240 reviews
1.1 km away
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#55 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,718 reviews
2.7 km away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#8 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Address: 1100 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-2131
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#27 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#32 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street 3.5*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the convenient location of the Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street hotel surrounded by shopping and dining options. This all-suite hotel is close to Fort Lauderdale attractions including Port Everglades and Fort Lauderdale Beach. Relax in a two-room suite and experience more living area, a kitchenette and work space to catch up on business. Expect a number of great amenities such as a heated outdoor pool and a modern fitness center. You can even bring the family pet. Start the day with a complimentary cooked-to-order full breakfast and savor cocktails, soft drinks and light snacks at our nightly complimentary Evening Reception (Must be legal drinking age). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Embassy Suites
Embassy Suite Ft Lauderdale
Embassy Suite Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing