We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,992)
Filter reviews
1,992 results
Traveller rating
896
595
310
132
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
896
595
310
132
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building tarpon house main pool courtside steakhouse cabana bar dinner cruise self parking water view tennis courts toll bridge beautiful property long weekend fitness center spring break the entire staff nice pool ft myers
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 1,992 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018

We were really disappointed with our stay here. My husband is an Elite member and said that this was the worst experience he has ever had. What really gets me is the attitude of some of the employees there. They are just going through the motions and really don’t care about the customers. I think that’s the overall mentality here. They know that the location is prime and not matter what, people will come. I find it insulting.
1. We booked a room but didn’t know it was in Captiva Tower…away from the main building. The smell is horrendous. Every day it smelled like there was a sewage leak. I called the front desk and they said that when the tide was low the smell came from the mangroves…. Well, the smell was there the entire time.
2. The first night we arrived we went to dinner at the Tarpon restaurant. It took forever to get a glass of wine (the first one). Our dinner that night was delicious but we ordered another glass to go with our dinner. It never arrived. We had finished our food and told the waitress that we didn’t want the wine anymore.
3. The next day we went for a drink at Charley’s Cabana Bar. It was dirty…tables were dirty, glasses/dishes from previous customers were not cleared away. I ordered a drink and the glass was dirty. I couldn’t find our waiter. I went to the bar to ask for a new glass. The bartender got mad and while looking for a clean glass proceeded to use profanity. He had to look at 3 glasses before he found a clean one.
4. When we arrived, there was hair on our clean towels. Housekeeping didn't come until late afternoon. The one day they didn't even sweep the floor...ridiculous...

As I write this, I have more to say but realize it may turn into a novel. You get the point. It was disappointing and unacceptable. Would not recommend this place at all…

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank BCBTravel2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, General Manager at Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Dear BCBTravel2017,
Thank you for your stay at our hotel and for your comments. We sincerely apologize that you experienced difficulties during your stay with us. This is not the level of service we generally provide and it certainly does not meet our standards. We have shared your comments with our entire staff and we will take the appropriate action to prevent these issues from happening again. We hope that we will have another occasion to meet your expectations and to welcome you back in the future.

Tom Custo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018

Nice large resort that could do with some updating. We were offered a better view in the Captiva tower but decided to stay in the main hotel as you are closer to all amenities. Rooms could use some updating , pools are nice but chairs do get reserved pretty early. The saving grace are the employees , all of them were very friendly from the registration to the pool staff and especially the doormen. There is no beach to speak of but you can drive over to Sanibel island for beaches as it is only minutes away.

Room Tip: Stay in the main hotel if you want all the amenities
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, General Manager at Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Hello David,

We appreciate the detailed feedback about your stay with us. We are always looking for ways to improve and your comments have been noted for our future plans in developing the property. We apologize for not meeting your expectations and we are grateful for your business. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Tom Custo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2018

We returned to this property this year after a 25 year hiatus. Kids are grown now and we were looking for a return to where we enjoyed bringing them on vacation. Used points for a two night stay and felt they sent us to the Captiva Tower because of that. Wanted to stay in the main building but it didn't work out. The Captiva Tower is just too disconnected to enjoy the amenities. No social vibe at the pool at all so had to walk/shuttle to main property for the fun. Lots of young families with kids, so maybe we just are out of that scene, but we didn't find the adult vibe we were looking for.
They did grant us a late check out and the sunsets are amazing, so all wasn't lost. But is didn't impress like the first time we were there. Tip: Drive to Publix for a cheap sandwich for lunch and bring it to the pool.

Room Tip: Main Building over Captiva Tower
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ptodisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, General Manager at Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2018

Dear Ptodisco,
Thank you for the review of your experience at our hotel. We are sorry for disappointing you this time, and we hope we have another opportunity to welcome you again and provide you with a more favorable experience.

Tom Custo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2018

As an elite member we had stayed on the top floor of the Captiva Tower. While the suite had great view but the overall experience was very poor: the rug wet from mold, tiles were missing from the balcony. The room hasn't been updated for a very long time. We didn't even get complimentary breakfast (as we normally do as elite members), only coffee and a few fruit pieces were on the main floor. Twice we ate at the hotel and that was disappointing too. Definitely not worth the money we paid for our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank smartbaby0722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, General Manager at Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2018

Hello Smartbaby0722,

We appreciate the detailed feedback about your stay with us. We are always looking for ways to improve and your comments have been noted for our future plans in developing the property. We apologize for not meeting your expectations and we are grateful for your business and loyalty as an elite member. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Tom Custo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2018 via mobile

We stayed in this resort years ago when it was brand new. I have to say for a Marriott it wasn’t up to par with maintenance. For $400 a night we expected more. Had to request housekeeping 2 days at 6 pm because they never got to our room, housekeeping was on her phone every time you passed her. Got massages no one said the to was included so we double tipped. Thought the outside of the resort needed a lot of sprucing up. To top it off the guest either above or next to us smoked so all night it can right into our patio doors. The views were beautiful.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank MimiS908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, Manager at Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2018

Hello MimiS908,

Thank you very much for staying with us. We apologize for the housekeeping issues you encountered during your visit, and that we didn't promptly respond to correct them. We take the cleanliness of our rooms very seriously and have inspections in place to keep this from happening. Your feedback has been shared with our Executive Housekeeper and steps are being taken to ensure this does not happen again. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to prove this to you on your next visit.

Tom Custo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews