We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like this hotel alot!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway
Ranked #14 of 59 Hotels in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Like this hotel alot!”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I stayed here while visiting friends in the area. It was excellent. The room was larger than the regular hotel room. It had a kitchen and was very clean. I spoke to the front desk staff and they were very friendly. I would reccommend this hotel to anyone. PS. The rate was great too!

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room! Quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    206
    57
    31
    23
See reviews for
198
286
57
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sun Valley, Idaho
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We have stayed at this hotel for the past 3 years. However, our latest experience there was just awful. First of all, we arrived at approximately 6:40PM. Check-in is noted to be at 4PM and yet our room was not ready. As a matter of fact, as was witnessed by the small group of people all waiting in the lobby, NO rooms were ready. We were told that 2 women were cleaning 40 rooms that day. We were given a key to a room only to find it occupied. Then, we were given a key to another room that looked like it had been cleaned in 10 seconds. The bed was still a bit rumpled and in looking at the sheets, I feared they had not been changed. Also, the best way to describe the smell in this room was "dirty socks". We did stay the night but I was up early the next morning and just wanted out of there. I will NOT return!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merizonsv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
We were very saddened to read your review and of your experience at our hotel. While our team works very hard to create the best guest experience, we obviously missed the mark in this case. All of our guests are appreciated, especially our repeat guests. After recent communications, we were very happy to hear that you will be giving us another chance a little later in the year when you return to Fort Myers. Thank you for the opportunity and we look forward to putting our best foot forward and for providing you with a memorable experience on your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I am so pleased my friends and I found this hidden gem. A great hotel that was close to the beaches, close to outlet shopping and was perhaps the cleanest hotel I have been to in this area! The rooms have fully operational kitchens for the long term visitor or for those that feel like saving money by cooking in. Convenient amenities like food items (which can be purchased across from the check in desk), a gym, free laundry facilities, pool, free dvd rentals and even free books to borrow makes this hotel stand out from the rest. The hotel was so clean with updated furnishings which made it very comfortable. The best part - the staff. The staff was friendly and attentive despite the fact my visit was during the busy season. Even the hotel manager was present, available and friendly towards the guests. The staff members really made us feel comfortable during our stay. A great find in Fort Myers!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, ME
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

It was located kind of in the back of an industrial park, and we missed the sign the first time. The room was very clean, laundry on site at no charge, as well as movie rentals. Pool was nice, not overly large, but nice. The great thing is that it was located close to Sanibel/Captiva, which was the main reason we were in the area. It was also close to restaurants and shopping centers so you didn't have to go far if you needed anything. I would like to see a plug in fan or ceiling fan in the bedroom of the suites, as my son slept on the pull out, and we were in the bedroom, he froze, and we were a little warm. I agree with others comments about service, had to wait a few times for someone to come to the desk. We also had left my husbands cell phone at the pool one night, and I happened to ask the front desk if anyone turned one in, and she had me describe it to her. I wanted to suggest that maybe next time, they actually call the number on the phone, to see if the person leaves their full name, that way they could win some brownie points by returning it. Otherwise, we would have lost his nice work cell phone if I wouldn't have asked.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsaw_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Côte d'Azur
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This is just The Perfect place to stay!!! Location is great 15-20 min drive to Sanibel and fort myers. 10 min to fort myers beach! Great hotel room (carpet) with a kitchen (wooden floor). BBQ for the guests next to the pool. Free laundry and a fitness room. For the price it's absolutely worth it instead of paying a fortune at Sanibel. We loved it and it was nice to cook our own breakfast and we used the BBQ at the pool one night. Other nights we made BBQ at fort myers beach and on Sanibel. The bed was big and comfortable. It felt like home and isolation is great, never heard the neighbors. The staff was helpful and we'll definitely come back one day! Keep it like that!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for the lovely comments and for sharing your review! We very much appreciate your comments and are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have a close proximity to the beaches of Fort Myers and Sanibel and by staying at our Candlewood, our guests can enjoy fully equipped kitchens in thier suites as well as free guest laundry and wifi. Looking forward welcoming you back! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stayed here two nights to see some spring training baseball in the area. Location is unique; didn't see another hotel in the area. Guess it caters to people using the nearby medical center. The location turned out to be good as the drives to the ball parks and Sanibel are fairly short. Had to wait to check-in due to staff change-over; apparently only one person on-site at a time. The room was fine but could have been cleaner. The location is about as safe as you can get and tucked away from any major roads so it was also very quite - depending on who your neighbor might be. Really good value for someone spending some time in the Fort Myers area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingwestI10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for being our guest and for sharing your comments. We love Spring Training in Fort Myers and are so excited to be close Hammond Stadium for the Twins and the new Jet Blue Park for the Red Sox! We appreciate your comments and also pointing out tips on where we can improve. We hope to welcome you back again next year when it's time for the boys of summer to return to sunny Southwest Florida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I felt parts of my last review were too negative (about BBQ) so we are giving Candlewood Suites another go when we head off soon to the Carolinas.

Look forward to reviewing that one

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExItteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for your comments and review. We are looking forward to your next stay with us and appreciate the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Myers
5.5 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway
13.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers - Colonial Blvd
2.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#9 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel
12.7 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Fort Myers Airport / FGCU
7.5 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Fort Myers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway

Property: Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway
Address: 9740 Commerce Center Ct, Fort Myers, FL 33908-3624
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Fort Myers
#14 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers
#19 Family Hotel in Fort Myers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel Gateway hotel conveniently located at Summerlin and Bass Roads, near Lee Memorial HealthPark and Lexington Country Club. This extended stay, all suite property is located near Fort Myers Beach and Sanibel-Captiva Island and is minutes from Everglades National Park, Manatee State Park, Tarpon Tournaments and just a short drive to Naples and Marco Island. At Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel Gateway, we put the amenities where they really count in your room. Our guests can cook meals in their fully equipped kitchen, relax in the overstuffed recliner while watching movies from our free movie library. Business travelers will work more efficiently utilizing the executive desk with 2 separate phone lines and free high-speed and wireless Internet. Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel Gateway provides our guests a free fitness center and a comfortable place to do laundry in our free guest laundry room. Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel Gateway is located nearby to many local favorite restaurants. For those guests that prefer to dine in , a fully stocked Candlewood Cupboard provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner options, as well as sodas, snacks, and ice cream.Earn more with each night's stay! Priority Club Members earn points and rewards every day at the Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway Hotel Fort Myers
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing