We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
8
14
3
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
14
3
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 28 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2017 via mobile

So let's start with the not so good. The units are currently being updated, which is good. However it's maybe not being done quick enough. The AC in our bedroom was unusable due to an awful smell that can out of it. We did talk to management and it is definitely due to age. It will be replaced at some point. That and there's like no lighting in the bedrooms. They're dim at best. That was frustrating.

But onto the good.

There are planned activities many days of the week with the other people that stay at Sandcastle. For example, karaoke with Kentucky Bill (one of the unit owners) is super fun and he has just about whatever you want to sing. And there are potlucks and water volleyball. Also there's a covered dock into the back bay thing where you can picnic or fish, even feed seagulls should you choose.

The other folks staying there are awesome and many have been coming there since before I was born. They're like a big, awesome family. You'll love them!

The office folks are nice, helpful. The front office is loaded with touristy and local Fort Myers Beach info.

Number one reason to stay here? The location. You're literally right across the street from Fort Myers Beach park. We run back and forth all day! Times Square (also loaded with shopping, activities, dining) is just down the street. And you're within walking distance of most things on the island.

Of all the places to stay along Estero, I recommend this one.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank AshleyMessner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 21, 2016

A little outdated property but well maintained. The layout of the unit is a little strange due probably to the fact that the resort was a former motel. The resort's main asset is its location right in Fort Myers beach "downtown across the street from the beach and the pier. Many shops, restaurants and bars. The assigned parking space is a real plus, considering how busy the area can get. Wifi was a little weak and AC was noisy.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachcomber381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2016

Wonderful place to stay. Location is perfect because it is right across the road from the ocean and a lot of restaurants, shops and bars in walking distance. Staff is great! Will certainly go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AngieS2349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2016 via mobile

We did an exchange for the week here. I could tell from the pictures and map we were close to the beach and Times Square but didn't realize until we got there how close. The beach was right across the street. Times Square was less than a block away. The check in went smooth even tho we were early. They have a great handle on running the condos. We had booked a two bedroom unit for the week because my daughter her boyfriend and the two grandsons were supposed to come too. The unit would have accommodated all but been a little cramped. The bedrooms were large with plenty of closet space dressers and large beds. The newly remodeled bathroom was awesome. The dining room/living room area was decent sized. Never tried the pull out the boys were going to sleep on. The kitchen had everything you would need. Only downfall for me was the size of the kitchenette but who really wants to cook on vacation? The location is great, rooms are clean, other guests were friendly and helpful. I look forward to a return trip.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Diane_Goode72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2016 via mobile

Nice family atmosphere. We used a week of my parents timeshare. Had a great time. Overall cleanliness was fine. The beds were comfortable, but the pull out couch was terrible, in bad need of an update. We only had an efficiency so space was an issue, but for a beach stay where we were out of the room most of the time it was fine.

The location is great!! Walking distance to a slew of restaurants, bars and shopping. The beach is about a 100 yard walk across the street.

Overall we had a great time!!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews