We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DiamondHead Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, New York
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful location and staff”
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Beautiful beachfront resort within walking distance to food and entertaiment. The staff was probably the nicest we've encountered in our travels. Everyone was friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and just the right size for a couple. The beachfront condos have an amazing view of the sunsets from the screened lanai. I did not like that there was a charge for beach chairs but the hotel offered them for free during our week due to renovations going on by the pool. That was a nice touch. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ann14223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    627
    334
    104
    44
    26
See reviews for
333
512
24
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We have stayed at Diamondhead several times, as we try to come to Fort Myers from Michigan once a year. We absolutely love the location, the view, and the private screened balcony. We have stayed in beach hotels all over the country and most simply charge a lot for the ocean experience rather than try to maintain a quality hotel. Diamondhead is clean and comfortable. While it is a tad pricey, we find that it is worth it to stay in a place that has been consistently excellent. If you want fun and excitement and roaches, check out the reviews for the Lani Kai right down the road. Yikes.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lauren g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wakefield
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Very good location with excellent views of the beach. Fort myers beach is a lovely quiet location, if you are into partying fort myers beach is not for you. The suites are lovely and the staff are great. We had a power cut while we were there, not the hotels fault, even so they could't do enough for you. They arranged for hot snacks to be available and free drinks at the bar. We stayed at the best western last year and when there was no gas (which meant no hot water etc...), they were rude and unhelpful. The staff and the diamond head were lovely and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RuthnRobinM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berea, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

I did not enjoy my stay. In fact, I checked out early and headed to a more reasonable location while in South Florida. While the rooms were large, I felt as if I was being charged for every little expense while attending a conference. My recommendation is that if you enjoy the 1950s and 1960’s Diamondhead maybe the spot for you. My time, my funds, and my recreation require a higher standard of hospitality performance.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hackbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunStreamMgmt, General Manager at DiamondHead Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Dear Hackbert,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at DiamondHead. Because we value our guests’ opinion of us, I was able to look into your reservation to try and understand your experience. It appears you made your reservation the same day you checked in and only made it for the 1 evening that you stayed. Based on the time of your arrival and departure and the fact that DiamondHead does not charge any resort or parking fees and provides free Wi-Fi throughout the resort & a daily newspaper, I am not sure what ancillary services you feel you were charged for.

If the information about your stay that I have presented is incorrect, I welcome you to contact me directly so we can sort out what may have occurred during your stay as we strive for complete guest satisfaction.

Sincerely,
General Manager
DiamondHead Beach Resort & Spa
239-765-7654
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We only stayed one night on our way to Key West. Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. Room was clean, great view and plenty of space. Dinner was great at Chloe's. Service was exceptional. Jeremy's attention to detail was second to none. He was friendly and prompt. It is evident that he loves his job. We will definately return!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Norma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
479 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed at Diamondhead beach resort early August, 2011, Fort Myers off season. We had mixed reviews.

First the pro's - Very friendly staff, especially (((STEVE))) the bellman. He went out of his way to make our stay enjoyable. The pool & beach were nice. The place was clean / well kept, we loved the room & screened in balcony. Beautiful views of the gulf.

Now the con's - There was very little entertainment, the bar closed 10 pm Sunday, 11pm during the week. It rained one morning till early afternoon. When it cleared up, the pool & pool bar never re-opened. The resort has no beach chairs; you could rent them for $25 per day. There's no in room safe, you need to ask at the front desk for a security box, if there's any left. The touch screen computer in the room never worked. The location of the hotel was ok, not great.
The hotel offered no tours. If you don't rent a car, the taxis are very expensive, from airport $50 + $5 surcharge, $38 to Fort Myers River District, $30 to Sanibel + $6 to go over the causeway, $68 to Naples. We found Beach Taxi --------- the cheapest to the airport at $45, no surcharge.
There is a trolley that stops in front of the Hotel for 50 cents per person. One day we went south bound (right of hotel) to Bonita Springs. But the trolley stops in a Kmart Plaza, what a waste of time, there are small retail shops / restaurants / ECT…
So…………on the way back we decided to stop at Lovers key State Park. (make sure you get an all day bus pass for $1.50 per person, to get off and on as much as you want). Where the trolley drops you off, it is about ½ mile walk (in 90-95 % heat) to the tram shelter that takes you to the beach. There’s a $2 pp charge, walk in entrance fee. The beach was ok for shelling. We liked the beach at the hotel better. North bound on the trolley takes you to Times Square, which has a number of restaurants, not much shopping. (10 minute walk from hotel)
We found a couple good restaurants: For breakfast a must see, a couple blocks to the right, Heavenly Biscuit, 110 Mango Street, they sell homemade cinnamon buns. Terra Nostra (Italian food) just to the left of hotel & Mantanzas Inn, 414 Crescent Street, not far from Times Square, we walked here also, the seafood combo was excellent. We had a late dinner @ Yucaton Beach Stand on 250 Old San Carlos Blvd next to Times Square, just about the only place open after 10pm, the food was very good & reasonable.
For lunch to the left of hotel at Burgers on the Beach, looking out at the beach / ocean, very nice. Across the street we ate at the Beach Whale (on the rooftop), it was just ok. Near Mantanzas Inn we had lunch (2) times at Nervous Nellie’s, 1131 First Street, viewing the bay while dining, we loved it.
We felt there was so more to do in Treasure Island, FL just north. The Treasure Island Trolley’s took us to St. Petersburg, Gulf Port, Clearwater, Pass-A-Grill (St Pete’s beach) & Johns Pass, a village of shops & restaurants.
One day it rained & we checked out a time share of the hotel. It lasted about 1½ hours & we received a voucher for $100 resort credit.
Overall, our trip was very relaxing, but we probably would not return.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a screened in balcony...........touch screen computer that never worked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank RRanella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunStreamMgmt, Manager at DiamondHead Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
Dear RRanella,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at DiamondHead Beach Resort & Spa. We are thankful that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay at our resort, however apologize that Ft. Myers Beach as a whole did not meet your vacation expectations.

There are some other really great places in Southwest Florida and hope you will consider visiting this area again in the future.

Sincerely,
The Management Team at DiamondHead Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Just returned from DiamondHead and if traveling to Ft. Myers Beach in the future will stay there again. We experienced poor weather (two days and 5" of rain, unseasonably cold, windy) but still had a good time when the weather improved.
Pros- Very clean hotel. Extremely friendly staff, good size suites with view of gulf and/or pool. Screened full size patio with sliding glass doors to bedroom and living area. Walking distance to shopping, restaurants, and bars. Nice heated pool and two hot tubs. Hotel is right on the beach.
Cons- $25/day optional beach chair charge, no security safe in room, music played at pool needs improvement. Hotel restaurant/lounge a bit pricey, and pool side bar closes too early.
Would recommend eating off site, and if you have the time travel to Sanibel or Captiva for dinner/drinks right on the gulf. There is also a very good ice cream shop within walking distance down by the pier.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunStreamMgmt, Manager at DiamondHead Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
Hi Fred C,

Thank you for your recent review of DiamondHead! We are so happy that you will return to our resort in the future and that overall you enjoyed your stay.

I wish I could predict the weather for you - typically it is Sunshine all the way! Even though you enjoyed your stay, I will wish nothing but beautiful blue skies for your next trip!

See you again soon!

Sincerely,
DiamondHead Beach Resort & Spa Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
5.8 km away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#13 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,633 reviews
1.5 km away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,804 reviews
1.2 km away
Edison Beach House
Edison Beach House
#2 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
383 reviews
8.6 km away
Lovers Key Resort
Lovers Key Resort
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
550 reviews
2.2 km away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DiamondHead Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DiamondHead Beach Resort

Property: DiamondHead Beach Resort
Address: 2000 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-3215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DiamondHead Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DiamondHead Beach Resort is a landmark beach resort in the entertainment district of Fort Myers Beach, featuring spacious 1-bedroom suites, Cabañas Beach Bar & Grille, Chloës Seafood & Steaks, spa services, beachfront pool, guest bicycles, fitness centers, and endless recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your DiamondHead Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamondhead Beach Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Diamondhead Resort In Fort Myers Fl
Diamond Head Beach Resort
DiamondHead Beach Resort Fort Myers Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing