We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very friendly.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marina Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marina Bay Resort
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Benton, Kentucky
Level Contributor
53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very friendly.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

The resort is small, so if you are looking for a resort that has a golf course, two or three swimming pools, etc. this is not it, but that does not make this resort bad. It has a heated swimming pool that is 9 feet on the deep end and a great hot tub. There is also a game room with pool tables and video games.
We had an Admiral Suite so we had two bathrooms and one bedroom with a balcony off the bedroom and one off the living room overlooking the Santa Rosa Sound.
The worst part of our accommodations was the kitchen. Along a 7-8 ft. wall there was a tiny stove, single sink and small refrigerator. It you wanted to cook shrimp or the fish we caught on the boat, it was very cramped. Also, not that well equipped. The second worst part was that there was no washer, dryer in your room or dishwasher, and I am used to those amenities. So needless to say, we ate out almost all the time, and went home with dirty laundry.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank zimmeryolanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    57
    36
    11
    11
See reviews for
93
55
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

My parents have had a time share here for years. Granted, its not the Ritz, but it is clean and cozy. The decks overlooking the bay are wonderful. Only a short drive to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jolieo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

Usually very good, but a few times there have been issues that were not accomodated for. A few months ago the pool was being renovated and we were told it would be operational when we got there - it wasn't. We got no discount or accomodation. My kids were disappointed. Last week when we went the hot tub was dirty & the sofa sleeper in our room was wet & we discovered the ceiling was leaking. Plus our kitchen outlet didnt work. Maintenance kept coming out to fix things but couldn't, As we were only staying the weekend, it was too late to move to another room, so we were told we would be accomodated. I told them I wanted a complimentary stay next weekend and the reservation was made. When I called to verify, suddenly no one remembers anything about a complimentary stay and instead offered a discount, saying only the general manager could offer a complimentary stay and they would never do that. I am very upset!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fortville, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

Traveled with my wife, son, and parents. We stayed in the admiral suite and had a good time on vacation. This resort/hotel is an affordable place to stay on a family vacation. The room and property were clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. The resort has a pool which my son loved, but it is dominated by kids so not alot of relaxing by the pool. The location is close to downtown ft. walton very close to local restaurants and not far from the big chains if you would rather eat there. I grabbed a bike and rode through downtown and through a nearby park. A couple of our favorite restaurants were the magnolia grill, sealand, and staffs all excellent food and service in relatively quiet atmospheres. The resort provides boat docks if you have a boat, which i'm sure is convienent to boat owners. The beach is a short drive (about 2 min) across the bridge, we liked the beasley pubic beach access the best, plenty of space to relax and enjoy the beach. It is the whitest beach i've ever seen, been to clearwater,sarasota,and several places in the caribbean the beaches in ft. walton are the whitest my wife and I have seen. If you prefer more hustle and bustle then destin is a longer drive down the coast. There is a ton of shopping, eating, and just about everything you can think of in destin, i just think the typical beach tourist town. We ate at mcguires in destin (overrated) and really enjoyed a locally owned place in destin called the lighthouse excellent food and great prices (half the menu was half price got steak and lobster tail for 22 bucks). We attempted fuddpuckers in destin,but wait was 1 hour and 45 minutes so good luck if you wanna eat there, they say go at 11am or 430 if you wanna get a table. My wife and i preferred the quieter ft. walton area. Our only complaint about the area is its seems to roll up the sidewalks about 8 or 9pm if your lucky. We brought my parents along to watch our son so we could have a couple nights on the town, but we were hugely dissappointed. We really wanted a place on the beach to sit, talk, drink, and enjoy the coast at night, but the only place we could find open was the swamp and it is impossible to talk in that place. Other places were open but we can get bars anywhere, we can't get bars on the beach anywhere. We did enjoy a few drinks at the salty duck if you like a good "beer bar" large selection of micro/craft beers at reasonable prices, but again beer bars are everywhere. We just wanted a good beach bar and ft. walton didn't have one at least open past about 9 or 10pm. Overall we enjoyed ourselves and the marina bay resort was great for the money we spent, but i would characterize ft. walton as a family place with little "beach night life" for tourists.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nunny16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Look, this is basically an old hotel that was converted into condo units. So it is really a condo-tel. There is a hot tub, pool, exercise room and game room. That's about it. Don't expect anything close to a resort. The rooms are the same size as hotel rooms, except they now have mini-kitchens. They are about the same size as any extended stay suite-hotel room. We chose this hotel for two reasons: It was in the RCI family of timeshares and it had a dock for our boat. We enjoyed that we could take the boat out on the bay or to crab island in the morning, and then play in the pool in the afternoon. Otherwise, we were not impressed with the hotel location or the hotel grounds. Not that they were bad, they were not ideal. The number one reason I would not return is because there is no beach nearby.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bubba375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

This is a motel not a hotel or a resort...the pictures speak for themselves (smelly, moldy and dirty should not be associated w a 3 star rating). If you are charged $50 or less per evening than maybe, but if you are asked to pay anything above that---your getting cheated.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank noann2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

This hotel should be ashamed of it's self to be called a resort! Our rooms had a horrible odor and mildew was on the ceilings and floor panels. The place reminded me of a cheap motel from back in the 70's.

The staff was very nice and accommodating but we could not
bear to sleep there. This hotel is way overpriced for what it is. It's only worth $20 per night.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dsmith89001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Walton Beach hotels
1.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfro...
#2 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
1.3 km away
Emerald Coast Inn & Suites
Emerald Coast Inn & Suites
#14 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
1.6 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#1 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- ...
#7 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
0.9 km away
Courtyard Fort Walton Beach-West Destin
Courtyard Fort Walton Beach-West...
#9 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.4 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walt...
#3 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Bay Resort

Property: Marina Bay Resort
Address: 80 Miracle Strip Pkwy SE, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-5882
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marina Bay Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Marina Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Bay Hotel Fort Walton Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing