We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not the best”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Didn't honor the price that was told to me on the phone. I arrived and they said that they wouldn't go with that price. Person behind the desk was young and not very professional. The lobby wasn't very clean.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kim01Utah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Dear our guest;

We would like to apologize due to the fact that the room rate, which you were given was not honored when you arrived. We have different room types, such as standard, beach front, studio and suites. Surely, the availibilty fluctuates based on demand; and the rate is different for each type. Unless a guest books a room right away, there is no guarantee that he or she will find the same room when walking to the front desk. In your case, the room type and price which you were quoted was not available. As result, our staff quoted you a different room type. We wish we could have given you the reasonable explanation before your posting. Nonetheless, we thank you for the feedback.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    502
    301
    155
    97
See reviews for
691
512
33
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

we attended a sunset wedding , which the resort did a great job. the music, food and mood was great. The workout room, the tiki bar, and the beach (with complimentary chairs and umbrella), more smiles from friendly and helpful staff. Our room was clean, as always at...my family had a great time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear our valued Guest;

We are glad to see that you enjoyed all the features and amenities, which our hotel has offered. Elsewhere, we would like to thank you for taking some time away from your daily agenda to virally share your great experiences with us, and other prospective and repeat guests. We are very appreciative of your business and your feeback. Once again, your feedback proves that we are on the right track of the continued improvement of our product and service quality.
Thanks again! We are looking forward to seeing you again.


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

My family and I stayed in this hotel for Spring Break. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The beach front suite that we stayed in had all the comforts of home (living area, seperate bedroom, full refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, oven, sink, dishes, utinsels). The view of the gulf from our balcony was spectacular. The beach was just a few feet away; whilte the complimentary beach chairs and umbrella was definitely a plus. My kids really enjoyed swimming and watching a movie by the pool. The hotel property was very clean and tranquil. We will stay at this resort again on our next visit to Florida.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Dear our valued guest;

First, we would like to thank you for having chosen our Resort as the best place to spend your spring break vacation along with your kids. We are pleased to know that you and all of your family members enjoyed all features and amenities including the dive-in movie, which our Resort offfers. We hope the kids took some pictures with our mascot, Johnny Jaws. Additionally, we appreciate the time, which you took to share virally your feedback with other prospectieve and repeat guests. We cannot wait to see you and your family again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

As I walked to the counter, i was greeted with a smile. The staff is very helpful and willing to help. Great atmosphere for the kids..lot of activities for them to do. (free popcorn, movie night, karaoke, bingo, etc). I had a balcony overlooking the ocean, which was a few steps to the beach. (complimentary chairs and umbrella) (free parking)
Con: no continental breakfast. the restaraunt inside the hotel is subcontracted out. the food is pricey.
i recommend this hotel that is traveling on business, family, etc.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn B, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this review, 25 February 2016
Greetings Reviewer,

Thank you kindly for your feedback! It has certainly been a few years since your visit. We are now the Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin Hotel. Throughout the years we have transformed into one of the favorite resorts in Fort Walton Beach. Under our new flag, we invite you back into the Wyndham Garden, to create a memory that will last for many generations to come.

Sincerely,

Evelyn B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

we drive 12 hrs to come to fl.....holiday inn ft Walton resort is th only place we stay.....we love the atmosphere the rooms and staff....the staff is always willing to help.......

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah0729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear our valued guest;

We would like to reply to your great feedback to say thanks for your business. We also appreciate the time you took to virally share your everlasting experience with others. We are very honored to be your host. We cannot wait to see again. Your great words hotel atmosphere mean a lot to us and our prospective guests. Thanks again!


Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

As we walked in to register, a beaming smile greeted and registered us. As we checked out the two pools (one with a slide; another with ping pong table), the workout room, the tiki bar, and the beach (with complimentary chairs and umbrella), more smiles from friendly and helpful staff. Our room was clean, as always at Holiday Inn's, with a balacony overlooking the ocean, a large frig, microwave, and DVD player, and comfy beds. We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear our valued guest;

We thank you very much for taking a few moments from your time to describe the features and the amenities, which our Resort offers. We are delighted to know that you had a great experience while you stayed with us. We have been refocusing our attention to what can create an everlasting experience for our guets. Your feedback has shown us that we are on the right track. Nonetheless, we will continue to use guests 'comments like yours as motivating tools toward being the hotel of choice in the area. Meeting all guests' needs is our objective.
Also, we are happy to know that you are intending to come back. We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

I stayed at this hotel in March of 2012. This hotel was randomly selected for us when we booked on priceline.com. Upon arrival at the hotel, Evelyn, the front desk manager allowed us to check in early and was extremely accomodating and nice. Our room was nice and clean. The beds were very comfortable! The beach is merely steps from any room on the property which is a HUGE plus! There is a snack bar, restaurant, and mini convenience store on site which was amazingly convenient for us since all we intended to do was to relax on the beach. Jess from the restaurant and snack bar was funny and made our stay enjoyable in every way possible.

The only Cons from this trip was that I ordered room service one morning and my order was for blue berry pancakes and a side of sausage which added up to $21.00. With that said, while convenient, the restuarant is a bit pricey. Secondly the main pool was out of service during our stay which left us at a very small pool with several children (which I didn't mind all that much), but the water was as warm as bath water which defeated the purpose of a swimming pool on a hot day in Florida.

I reccomend this hotel to anyone that is traveling for romance, family, solo, etc.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aweiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear our valued guest;

Thank you for having chosen our hotel as your spring break spot! We are glad you enjoyed your stay here. Also, we appreciate the time that you took to virally share your great experiences with others. Your feedback is very invaluable to us. We will use it as a motivating tool to inspire our team toward excellence. Thanks again for your business!

We are looking forward to seeing you again.


Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Walton Beach hotels
1.7 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#1 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfro...
#2 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
1.9 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- ...
#7 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Courtyard Fort Walton Beach-West Destin
Courtyard Fort Walton Beach-West...
#8 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
1.4 km away
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
#5 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.9 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walt...
#3 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin

Property: Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin
Address: 573 Santa Rosa Boulevard, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-6912 (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach/Destin, Florida is a family oriented beachfront hotel tucked away from the Destin traffic on Okaloosa Island. No other location compares to the world's whitest beaches and emerald green waters. With fishing, golf courses, shopping, and other attractions nearby, you are sure to find a way to pass the sultry Florida days. Our full service resort features all the helpful amenities needed for a comfortable stay, including luxurious penthouses and one bedroom suites with kitchens. Romantic getaway? Our fabulous honeymoon suite presents cozy bedding in a warm setting and a deluxe view of the Gulf of Mexico from the Jacuzzi tub. Visit the Crab Island Cafe specializing in seafood entrees, or our seasonal poolside Manatee Grill & Bar. We haven't forgotten the business traveler or conventioneer. With 3,500 sq. Ft. Of meeting space, we are ideally suited to accommodate any function from a business conference to a wedding celebration. Relax, our professional event and catering staff can offer creative, budget-conscious ideas for a successful event. Want to add some fun to your day on the beach? Take advantage of all that is offered for free - bikes, ping pong, bingo by the pool, beach service with chairs and umbrella. Our Dive-in movies deliver drive-in quality in a wet atmosphere as our main pool becomes a cinema. Guest under the age of 24 must be accompanied by parent or guardian. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Fort Walton Beach
Fort Walton Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing