We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location....but NOT a Resort!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location....but NOT a Resort!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and while we knew it wouldn't be the Royal Hawaiian, they could put a little more into upkeep. Carpet in room felt gross/dirty and it had a huge rip in it. Not much water pressure in shower. Elevators and halls were HOT, HOT, HOT..i don't know if they had A/C in them?? On Friday night they had karaoke by the pool...geez! Loud and annoying! Then on our 3rd day there, I go up to our room and my key doesn't work. They had locked us out!! Because we have a purchase limit set on our CC and over certain amounts it doesn't approve without our authorization, but Holiday Inn takes the whole amount for your stay when you check in??? Every hotel we have stayed at, many MUCH nicer than the Holiday Inn only take/put a hold for 1 nights stay until you check out. So when we checked in we gave them our card thinking they would take 1 night and we could call the day we checked out to authorize the full amount to be charged. NOPE they tried taking the full amount, so I go to the desk to talk to them...the manager tells me all this and I am like 1: Why didn't you tell us this when checking in that you were going to take full amount then and we would have had the limit set to be authorized? 2: Why didn't you call us? The MANAGER said he called our room twice, but they didn't leave a message on our room phone?? because the light was not blinking on our room phone. So how do we know to come fix this if you don't leave a message??? 3: Why did you wait until our 3rd day there if you were so worried about it? 4: When I asked them to turn the key back on so I could go get the card and call for authorization they acted like they didn't want to let me back in the room?? Seriously? How are you going to insult and guest at your hotel like that??? Nor to mention how do you expect me to fix it, if you don't let me in? It was just terribly insulting and ridiculous! We travel a lot and have stayed in many 4-5 star resorts (actual resorts) and never been treated like that! It was just handled poorly and the manager didn't really seem to care that they had troubled us, by locking us out of our room! He didn't really even apologize, it was sad! I have no issue with them taking the whole charge for your stay upfront, I suppose they have too, because I am sure people have stayed and then not had any money at the end, but just tell people you are taking the whole amount?? I can't imagine that we are the only people who have purchase limits on their cards!

Not that I actually expected it to be a resort, I knew better. At the same time though, I am not sure why they think they can call it a resort, resorts have much nicer pools, grounds and actual spa/salons. There is NO Spa, they have a hot tub and call that a spa. HA HA! Sorry a spa is a place to get facials, massages and relax, you have a hot tub.

Pros: On the beach. Chairs & umbrellas. Great views from Ocean front rooms. Free DVD's. Mini fridge. Heated Pools.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachiebibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear our valued guest;

We would like to thank you for taking time to give us feedback regarding your stay experience at the hotel. We normally require that a guest pays for the entire stay at check-in. We apologize for not having been able to accommodate you accordingly. Nevertheless, we will use your comments as a tool to improve our service, and our payment policy, so we can better handle any case like yours above and beyond expectations in the future. Moreover, we appreciate your business.

We are looking dorward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    485
    288
    147
    92
See reviews for
655
487
31
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
305 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

I stayed at this Holiday Inn for a quick trip to Fort Walton Beach over Easter weekend. The hotel itself is in a great location, right along the popular hotel-lined stretch of gorgeous beach on Okaloosa island.

The hotel is in-line with the Holiday Inn brand; it's clean, updated, and has all the amenities the traveler would need for a beach vacation. There were 2 pools, a 'tiki-bar' next to one of the pools that served snacks and drinks, a restaurant inside (albeit, a small one) where you can get breakfast, lunch and dinner (none are complimentary, though), a business center, a gym, a children's activity center, and a conference center. The hotel offers complimentary WiFi throughout the property, and as an added bonus, it's very nice that as a guest, you have complimentary use of two beach-chairs and an umbrella on the beach directly in front of the hotel. They also had nightly events in the main pool area, such as karaoke and "dive-in" movies shown on a big screen near the pool (assuming this is more of a kid-thing). We didn't have a rental car, but I believe parking was complimentary and you'd get a parking pass to put in your window when you checked in. Another added bonus was that each guest got access to a DVD rental machine in the business center. I didn't try it out, and don't think it was 'unlimited' DVDs, but I believe each guest got at least 1 or 2 DVDs complimentary.

Our room was facing the road (i.e., NOT facing the Gulf) which was a disappointment, but we knew it would be that way since we paid the lower rate. If you want a Gulf-view, be sure that's clearly indicated with the rate you're paying. We also would've preferred a king bed, but got 2 doubles (which were way too small for us), but again, if we would've paid the higher rate, I'm sure we could've gotten a king. The room we had was very large and comfortable, though, with udpated decor and helpful amenities like a large mini-fridge and microwave, flat-screen TV and Bath & Body Works toiletries.

The staff at this hotel was fantastic - everyone was friendly, happy, and willing to accommodate our needs.

There were only a couple drawbacks to this hotel. This first one is NO reflection on the hotel, but there really aren't many places to eat in the area, unless you want to eat on property (and we didn't). We walked about a mile down the road to some nearby restaurants, which was fine, but it would be really great if the local hotels and businesses would use some of their beach-front property to build some nice restaurants with ocean-views for tourists and guests. Right now, all the ocean-front property is used by hotels, which is nice -- but ocean-view dining options would be good, as well. The second drawback was that I felt rates were a little high for what I'd usually like to pay for a hotel of this caliber, but it could possibly have been due to the long holiday weekend we stayed there. I plan to return on a different weekend to see if the rates may be lower. Also, the breakfast buffet was a tad expensive, in my opinion ($10.99), especially for the mediocre quality of the offerings. The options weren't bad, just not stellar. Similarly, the lunch items we got from the pool-side 'tiki-bar' were okay, but not amazing -- and they were a bit expensive, along with the drinks. I suppose some of this is to be expected for a 'resort' on this popular stretch of beach on the Emerald Coast.

Overall, though, the benefits far outweighed the drawbacks, and I'd recommend this hotel and would go back again.

Room Tip: The best rooms face the Gulf - but be prepared to pay more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BethanieKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear our valued guest;

Thank you for taking time away from your daily agenda to share virally with other the great experence , which you had at our property. Also, we would like to thank you for choosing to spend your Easter weekend here. We profoundly appreciate your feedback and your business.
We hope to see you again in the near future. Indeed, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Didn't honor the price that was told to me on the phone. I arrived and they said that they wouldn't go with that price. Person behind the desk was young and not very professional. The lobby wasn't very clean.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kim01Utah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Dear our guest;

We would like to apologize due to the fact that the room rate, which you were given was not honored when you arrived. We have different room types, such as standard, beach front, studio and suites. Surely, the availibilty fluctuates based on demand; and the rate is different for each type. Unless a guest books a room right away, there is no guarantee that he or she will find the same room when walking to the front desk. In your case, the room type and price which you were quoted was not available. As result, our staff quoted you a different room type. We wish we could have given you the reasonable explanation before your posting. Nonetheless, we thank you for the feedback.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

we attended a sunset wedding , which the resort did a great job. the music, food and mood was great. The workout room, the tiki bar, and the beach (with complimentary chairs and umbrella), more smiles from friendly and helpful staff. Our room was clean, as always at...my family had a great time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear our valued Guest;

We are glad to see that you enjoyed all the features and amenities, which our hotel has offered. Elsewhere, we would like to thank you for taking some time away from your daily agenda to virally share your great experiences with us, and other prospective and repeat guests. We are very appreciative of your business and your feeback. Once again, your feedback proves that we are on the right track of the continued improvement of our product and service quality.
Thanks again! We are looking forward to seeing you again.


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

My family and I stayed in this hotel for Spring Break. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The beach front suite that we stayed in had all the comforts of home (living area, seperate bedroom, full refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, oven, sink, dishes, utinsels). The view of the gulf from our balcony was spectacular. The beach was just a few feet away; whilte the complimentary beach chairs and umbrella was definitely a plus. My kids really enjoyed swimming and watching a movie by the pool. The hotel property was very clean and tranquil. We will stay at this resort again on our next visit to Florida.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Dear our valued guest;

First, we would like to thank you for having chosen our Resort as the best place to spend your spring break vacation along with your kids. We are pleased to know that you and all of your family members enjoyed all features and amenities including the dive-in movie, which our Resort offfers. We hope the kids took some pictures with our mascot, Johnny Jaws. Additionally, we appreciate the time, which you took to share virally your feedback with other prospectieve and repeat guests. We cannot wait to see you and your family again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

As I walked to the counter, i was greeted with a smile. The staff is very helpful and willing to help. Great atmosphere for the kids..lot of activities for them to do. (free popcorn, movie night, karaoke, bingo, etc). I had a balcony overlooking the ocean, which was a few steps to the beach. (complimentary chairs and umbrella) (free parking)
Con: no continental breakfast. the restaraunt inside the hotel is subcontracted out. the food is pricey.
i recommend this hotel that is traveling on business, family, etc.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn B, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this review, 25 February 2016
Greetings Reviewer,

Thank you kindly for your feedback! It has certainly been a few years since your visit. We are now the Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin Hotel. Throughout the years we have transformed into one of the favorite resorts in Fort Walton Beach. Under our new flag, we invite you back into the Wyndham Garden, to create a memory that will last for many generations to come.

Sincerely,

Evelyn B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

we drive 12 hrs to come to fl.....holiday inn ft Walton resort is th only place we stay.....we love the atmosphere the rooms and staff....the staff is always willing to help.......

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah0729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear our valued guest;

We would like to reply to your great feedback to say thanks for your business. We also appreciate the time you took to virally share your everlasting experience with others. We are very honored to be your host. We cannot wait to see again. Your great words hotel atmosphere mean a lot to us and our prospective guests. Thanks again!


Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Walton Beach hotels
1.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfro...
#1 of 28 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#2 of 28 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
1.9 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- ...
#7 of 28 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Courtyard Fort Walton Beach-West Destin
Courtyard Fort Walton Beach-West...
#10 of 28 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.8 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walt...
#3 of 28 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
1.4 km away
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
#5 of 28 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin

Property: Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin
Address: 573 Santa Rosa Boulevard, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-6912 (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach/Destin, Florida is a family oriented beachfront hotel tucked away from the Destin traffic on Okaloosa Island. No other location compares to the world's whitest beaches and emerald green waters. With fishing, golf courses, shopping, and other attractions nearby, you are sure to find a way to pass the sultry Florida days. Our full service resort features all the helpful amenities needed for a comfortable stay, including luxurious penthouses and one bedroom suites with kitchens. Romantic getaway? Our fabulous honeymoon suite presents cozy bedding in a warm setting and a deluxe view of the Gulf of Mexico from the Jacuzzi tub. Visit the Crab Island Cafe specializing in seafood entrees, or our seasonal poolside Manatee Grill & Bar. We haven't forgotten the business traveler or conventioneer. With 3,500 sq. Ft. Of meeting space, we are ideally suited to accommodate any function from a business conference to a wedding celebration. Relax, our professional event and catering staff can offer creative, budget-conscious ideas for a successful event. Want to add some fun to your day on the beach? Take advantage of all that is offered for free - bikes, ping pong, bingo by the pool, beach service with chairs and umbrella. Our Dive-in movies deliver drive-in quality in a wet atmosphere as our main pool becomes a cinema. Guest under the age of 24 must be accompanied by parent or guardian. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Hotels.com so you can book your Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Fort Walton Beach
Fort Walton Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing