We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Customer Service - Amazing Views!!! Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach - Destin FL
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Reviewed 28 July 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at this property!! I like to read detailed reviews so I try to be as detailed as possible. My husband and daughter (21) and I stayed for four nights at the Wyndham Garden. We stayed from July 17 – 21, 2017. From the time we arrived until we checked out we found amazing customer service! Every single person from the maids to the manager were friendly and went above and beyond! We arrived at 2:00 (we were hoping to arrive around 3:00 but we just made great time so we went ahead and checked-in) and our room was not quite ready. So we walked around the property and checked everything out. By 3:00 our room was ready – we were excited to see it! Arnaldo checked us in – gave us lots of information and answered all of our questions – he was awesome! After you get your keys you are directed to the concierge to get your parking pass. There are three buildings – A, B & C. We stayed in a corner suite (Room 611 in Building B) with two double beds in one room, kitchen & dining (with a nice table and four dining chairs) and living area with a queen pull-out sofa. One bathroom with tub/shower combo. But the view from the balcony was absolutely superb – just break-taking really!! We are from land-locked Oklahoma so we don’t get to lay our eyes on the beach often enough! We feel the balcony truly makes the whole beach experience so much better! If you can swing a suite or even a room with a balcony we highly recommend!! There was great storage throughout the suite – large chest of drawers in the bedroom and living room and two closets in the bedroom. A large TV in the living room and a small TV in the bedroom. I agree with other posts that the rooms might be dated a bit, however, ours was spotless clean and smelled fresh! Our maid was amazing!! We came back every day to a sparkling clean room! The tile throughout the kitchen/bathroom was clean and the carpet was stain free! We would literally drag in a gallon of sand on our stuff each time we returned from the beach – we could feel the grit on the tile as we walked through. But the next day she would have it all cleaned up and our smooth tile returned! She really did a great job. We tipped her generously! The air conditioner froze us out – we set it on about 68 degrees. It did a pretty good job of de-humidifying but it was just so hot and humid! The beds were pretty comfortable – not the best we’ve ever slept on in a hotel, but average. The sheets and comforter were clean and fresh and each bed had 4 comfy pillows!! My daughter said the pull-out was average as well. By the 2nd night we were all so tired from swimming, snorkeling and walking in that sand that we just passed out when we hit the pillows! The room was EXTREMELY quiet!!! We did not hear a sound from anyone. When we were out on the balcony we could hear the pool noise but once we came in and closed the door we could not hear anything – even on the movie night. The kitchen was well-equipped. It had a stove, full size fridge, microwave, dishwasher and large sink. It had two pots, a square pan and a broiler pan. There were a variety of utensils, can opener and enough glasses, coffee mugs, plates and silverware for 4. There was a large plastic bowl and a strainer. We stopped by Publix on the way in to Fort Walton Beach and bought breakfast stuff and fixed breakfast each day and ate on the balcony – scrambled eggs, bacon, biscuits and hot chocolate just taste better on a balcony and with that view – so much fun!!! We ordered room service one night (we were just too worn out to go out to dinner) – it was outstanding! There are two restaurants on site – The Manatee is outside by the pool and is open until early afternoon. Then, there’s a more formal dining room inside by the check-in area. The food there was really good – we each had shrimp or chicken dinners and it was about $50 for the three of us. Not bad for room service! They have free DVD rentals (we did not use this service but saw lots of recent releases on the shelf), free bicycles, two free beach chairs/umbrellas per room (they put them out around 8:00 a.m. and put them up at 5:00 p.m.). There is a decent game room (all games for a quarter – haven’t seen 25 cent games for a while) and a fitness center area with workout equipment (we only saw this area through the windows). The elevators are indeed very warm and slow but adequate! Wifi was strong – we were so glad it was as we did not have very good Sprint service in the Fort Walton area! (Great Sprint service in Destin though…) We did not eat at the Manatee Grill but it smelled delicious. During our Monday – Friday stay they showed movies at the pool (there are two pools – one with a slide that tended to have more kids and a smaller one on the other side of Building B – there weren’t as many kids in that pool)– the outdoor movie is VERY cool for kids!!!! – on Tuesday and Thursday nights around 8:00 p.m. They served free popcorn (it smelled great but we did not get any). The movies were animated – perfect for kids but we did not stay and participate. Parking is free and ample. There are also ample handicap parking spots. There is a nice walkway to the beach – there are two flights of stairs (5 in each flight) up to the top and then the same down on the other side to the beach. (We did not see any handicap access to the beach.) There were a couple of shower heads on the walkway to the beach and then another shower by the pool at the foot of the chairs. The beach was AMAZING!! The sand – unbelievable – it is just like sugar – clean and beautiful! A giant tractor drags the entire beach each morning at sunrise to clean it up. (Yes, we got up one morning at 5:45 to see the 5:55 sunrise – everything is earlier – sunrise/sunset – due to Fort Walton’s location – sunset was around 7:49 p.m. each evening. In Oklahoma this time of year the sunset is late – like 8:50 p.m.) We did not do any research on the sunrise/sunsets and thought we would see them on the ocean, however, we discovered that from May-September the sun rises and sets on land there due to the position of the earth. Had we researched this at all we would have known going in and we would not have been disappointed. The hotel is close to everything they have in Fort Walton and just a very short 10-minute drive to Destin. After traveling through (very, very slowly) the streets of Destin we were very happy to get back to the laid-back vibe (and traffic) of Fort Walton!! On Wednesday night at 9:00 p.m. Fort Walton Beach does a fireworks display from the Pier at the Boardwalk and we could see it nicely from our balcony. There were lots and lots of people out on the beach watching it too! Each evening kids (and adults) would grab their flashlights and go crab hunting. To see hundreds of flashlights up and down the beach from our balcony was a pretty cool site! If you like to crab hunt be sure to pack your flashlight.

Now….for the unfortunate news regarding the condition of the water in the ocean. Remember – this is 100% not within the control of the hotels along the Fort Walton Beach. They were really suffering from what we think was “June Grass”. It causes the first 10-15 feet into the water to turn black and disgusting with seaweed floating all throughout the water. We tried to swim out over it to the clearer part but it was just so gross. There were about 4 dead fish along the shore when we arrived but after that we only saw a couple of dead fish the rest of the week. We did see maybe 3 dead fish floating in the seaweed stuff in the ocean but no more than that. On our first day we tried the beach, however, when we got out of the water we went straight to the showers on the walkway and then jumped in the pool to try get seaweed out of our bathing suits, however, when we went up to shower our tub was still full of seaweed – it was pretty disgusting. Once again, this was nothing the hotel could control and they 100% made the best of it!

Overall we gave this property 5 stars because everything they were in control of was excellent. They also said the “June Grass” is temporary and sometimes typical this time of year. We enjoyed our stay and hope to get to return someday!

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5inOklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherri C, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach - Destin FL, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Thank you for helping us in our continued efforts to become the absolute best beach hotel in Destin - Fort Walton Beach! We take great care in providing fresh, comfortable rooms in a resort environment rich with free amenities, while delivering the outstanding customer service excellence we know you'd expect from a world class beach resort, and we're delighted your experience reflects those benchmarks! We never get tired of hearing how our visiting families enjoy our family friendly hotel, and all the free amenities our beach resort offers family guests. Your feedback is highly valued, as we use this unique opportunity both to continue encouraging excellent customer service, as well as to correct any challenges experienced during your visit.
Thank you for choosing the Wyndham Garden Hotel, Fort Walton Beach - West Destin for your perfect family beach vacation, and we look forward to what we hope are your many returns to the pristine stretches of white sand beaches and sparkling waters unique to beautiful Okaloosa Island - truly the best kept secret of Florida's Emerald Coast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,888)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 1,888 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2017

Service has dropped significantly since our last stay in 2015. Staff was not as friendly (although there were a very few that were very friendly), even at initial check-in the staff at the front desk started with identifying the rules and not even a welcome. Service at the resteraunt has also dropped, breakfast buffet was poor, often ran out of entrees and did not refill. Stayed in Bldg D...frequently the elevator did not respond/work, most frequently when we were carrying items that were heavy or bulky. Was common to see staff texting on cell phones rather than working...it was obvious. Quality/service at the outdoor bar had slipped as well. Will search for a different hotel our next trip.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
1  Thank Stacy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherri C, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach - Destin FL, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit with us. We take great care in providing fresh, comfortable rooms in a tropical beach resort environment rich with free amenities, while delivering the outstanding customer service excellence we know you'd expect from a world class resort, yet your experience reflects differently, and for that we are truly sorry. Your candid feedback is highly valued, as we use this unique opportunity both to continue encouraging excellent customer service, as well as to correct any challenges which may have impacted your visit.
We welcome you to contact our hotel directly to discuss the items you mentioned, as well as to explore any opportunities we may have to earn your continued loyalty to our hotel for future stays.
We thank you for choosing the Wyndham Garden Hotel, and we hope to restore your faith in our beach hotel during what we hope are your many returns to the beautiful white sand beaches of Florida's Emerald Coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

We were there for our 35th anniversary. The first room we had was pretty disappointing. Too many things not quite right about it for what we paid. We stayed one night and I asked the manager if we could get a different room since the first room (in bldg C) was not what we thought we were getting. She was very gracious and understanding and she moved us up to the 7th floor and the room was beyond what we had hoped! That was worth the money we paid. The staff at the desk was very friendly and helpful. They manager, Lori, went above and beyond to make our stay a happy and memorable one. Gina, was the one that suggested this new room. We left a very happy customer. The pool was awesome and at night they show movies on a huge outdoor screen by the pool. You can see it from some of the rooms. too. I would just as to see photos of the room you are booking to make sure you're happy with what you're getting. All in all it was a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: our first room was in Bldg C and we weren't happy but we got moved to a better room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherri C, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach - Destin FL, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Thank you for helping us in our continued efforts to become the Trip Advisor #1 beach hotel in Destin - Fort Walton Beach! We take great care in providing fresh, comfortable rooms in a resort environment rich with free amenities, while delivering the outstanding customer service excellence we know you'd expect from a world class beach resort, and we're delighted your experience reflects those continued efforts! We never get tired of hearing how our visiting families enjoy our family friendly hotel, and all the free amenities our beach resort offers family guests. Your feedback is highly valued, as we use this unique opportunity both to continue encouraging excellent customer service, as well as to correct any challenges experienced during your visit.
Thank you for choosing the Wyndham Garden Hotel, Fort Walton Beach - West Destin for your perfect family beach vacation, and we look forward to what we hope are your many returns to the pristine stretches of white sand beaches and sparkling waters unique to beautiful Okaloosa Island - truly the best kept secret of Florida's Emerald Coast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sherri C, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach - Destin FL, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 July 2017

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank U3169ZFnicolea
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sherri C, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach - Destin FL, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 July 2017

PROS: A great spot directly next to the beach and super close (within minutes) to most (if not all) of the area's main tourist attractions (the aquarium, boardwalk, parks, etc.), along with the strip where all the stores and restaurants are set up. The hotel, along with a dozen others, are on a strip of island, so no loud noises in the mornings or at nights. Peace and quiet, and the beaches are as "private" as you can get, and though we were there on the weekend in July, plenty of spaces and then some.

Location, location, and location was why we chose this place, and glad we did. Check-in/check-out was super easy and housekeeping was super accommodating with towels, etc. There's an arcade for kids next to the gym, and the pools were a hit. Free DVDs and bike rentals, and the TV had HBO. Vending machines didn't always work, but eh, they have a restaurant in the lobby that had great service and a mini-store next to it where you can buy drinks. The ground staff were all pleasant and said "Hi" whenever you passed.

Great time here if you're not a new traveler who needs your hands held for everything. We wanted to do our thing and hot have to drive more than 30 minutes to do them, and that's what we got.

CONS: The place can feel a bit dated, especially the suites. Carpeting was a little tired, but the standard rooms were pretty clean. Elevators take forever, but then, they usually do everywhere, don't they? A great excuse to use the stairs. :)

OVERALL: Good value for the location and atmosphere, with everything we wanted to do a short drive away.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank iHopper_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherri C, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach - Destin FL, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Thank you for helping us in our continued efforts to become the TripAdvisor#1 beach hotel in Destin - Fort Walton Beach! We take great care in providing fresh, comfortable rooms in a tropical beach resort environment rich with free amenities, while delivering the outstanding customer service excellence we know you'd expect from a world class resort, and we're delighted your experience reflects those benchmarks! We never get tired of hearing how our visiting families enjoyed our family friendly hotel, and all this beach resort offers our family guests. Your feedback is highly valued, as we use this unique opportunity both to continue encouraging excellent customer service, as well as to correct any challenges experienced during your visit.
Thank you for choosing the Wyndham Garden Hotel, Fort Walton Beach - West Destin for your perfect family beach vacation, and we look forward to what we hope are your many returns to the pristine stretches of white sand beaches and sparkling waters unique to beautiful Okaloosa Island - truly the crown jewel of Florida's Emerald Coast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

We had a great stay at this hotel. The staff was amazing, the room was very clean and the view of the beach was breath taking. Only had on small issue and it was due to the weather. I want to thank Valarie, Mandi and Gustav were outstanding in the front desk. And our house keeper Wendy did a splendid job in the room. My kids loved the free movie rentals. #noregrets

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherri C, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach - Destin FL, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Thank you for helping us in our continued efforts to become the TripAdvisor#1 beach hotel in Destin - Fort Walton Beach! We take great care in providing fresh, comfortable rooms in a tropical beach resort environment rich with free amenities, while delivering the outstanding customer service excellence we know you'd expect from a world class resort, and we're delighted your experience reflects those benchmarks! We never get tired of hearing how our visiting families enjoyed our family friendly hotel, and all this beach resort offers our family guests, including the free movies. These are just one example of many extra touches brought to you by our generous hotelier, himself, and we enjoy sharing your excellent reviews with him to continue motivating his generosity in this, and so many other free amenities throughout our family friendly beach resort. Your feedback is highly valued, as we use this unique opportunity both to continue encouraging excellent customer service, as well as to correct any challenges experienced during your visit.
Thank you for choosing the Wyndham Garden Hotel, Fort Walton Beach - West Destin for your perfect family beach vacation, and we look forward to what we hope are your many returns to the pristine stretches of white sand beaches and sparkling waters unique to beautiful Okaloosa Island - truly the crown jewel of Florida's Emerald Coast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Walton Beach hotels
1.8 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#3 of 30 in Fort Walton Beach
628 reviews
1.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Fort Walton Beach
Hilton Garden Inn Fort Walton Be...
#1 of 30 in Fort Walton Beach
203 reviews
1 km away
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfront
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfro...
#2 of 30 in Fort Walton Beach
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- ...
#10 of 30 in Fort Walton Beach
975 reviews
0.3 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach-West Destin
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Walt...
#7 of 30 in Fort Walton Beach
153 reviews
1.4 km away
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
#6 of 30 in Fort Walton Beach
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach - Destin FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach - Destin FL

Address: 573 Santa Rosa Boulevard, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-6912 (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range: $113 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach - Destin FL 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for Fort Walton Beach Hotels Near Destin, Florida? You've found your home at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Hotel. Escape to a place on Florida's beautiful Emerald Coast that overlooks swaying palms, turquoise waters and white sand beaches at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach. Exceptional among hotels and resorts in the area, we offer well-appointed accommodations, a variety of amenities, and friendly, attentive service to make your stay a pleasure. Whether you're in town for a family vacation, romantic getaway or are here on business, Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Hotel has everything you could want in a beach front hotel or resort. If you are looking for a great place to stay in Florida for families that’s affordable and close to many of the most popular attractions to the state, consider the Emerald Coast. Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Hotel is here to serve you and is accepting bookings constantly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach - Destin FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Fort Walton Beach
Fort Walton Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing