We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Clean Room, Great Breakfast!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
NW, IN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean Room, Great Breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed 1 night at this location. We arrived rather late and found the staff to be somewhat inexperienced at handling a minor problem, but overall it was a good experience. We had asked to be close to the front entrance on the first floor as I have a medical issue that restricts walking too far. We were given a room on the first floor the farthest from the entrance. When I inquired about moving, the young lady could not give me an answer. We continued to our room, which was very clean and nice. After about 45 minutes our telephone rang in the room, the young lady said we could move if we wanted to to a closer to the entrance room, but we had already unpacked and were in bed so we declined. It would have been nice to know andwe would have moved had this option been open tous upon checkin or very shortly after. 45 minutes is too long to wait to offer a room move, especially when it was 10pm.

On a good note, the breakfast was fantastic! We were up and out early, so we opted to make a plate to go. Scrambled eggs and sausage pattie on a bisquit, fruit and a glass of juice and we had a to go breakfast! Very yummy! We also tasted the sausage gravy and it was great also! No need to buy any breakfast with a nice spread like they had. We would definately stay here again! Friendly staff, clean rooms, great breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    124
    44
    9
    6
See reviews for
207
118
24
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
central ohio
Level Contributor
68 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Good firm beds. Good breakfast overall. Stayed 3 nights. Stairwell closest to us never got vacuumed while we were there. Our tub was slow to drain. Room was well attended--no problems there. Office internet area had 2 computers available, but one never connected to the internet and the other was out of order on occasion. Connection seemed a bit slow. Office chairs were a bit low for my taste. Breakfast options were good, but some items (yogurt, cereal, certain bagels) were not replenished as the days went by. Noticed that some of the small cereal boxes were out of date. TV was loud in breakfast area; my attempts to quiet the TV were unsuccessful (only available table was directly in front of the TV). Perhaps the staff could lower the volume and show the closed captions. Did not like hot toaster location; cramped for space in breakfast area. Good cookies in afternoon. We reserved the AAA rate, but later heard the staff offer walkups a rate lower than what I was paying.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank duffbeerdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatorFan49, Owner at Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands, responded to this review, 18 March 2012
Thanks for taking time to provide feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. I have personally addressed some of the issues with the staff to ensure our guest's stays are better than expected at all times. With regards to the internet, we are in the process of upgrading the equipment to ensure consistent and reliable internet and business center services that exceed the standard. I hope you will visit again and give us the opportunity exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tampa, fl
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

After an unexpected break down on I75 and a 3 hour wait for AAA, we were so thankful to finally get to our lovely room. We had booked months in advance and found checking in a breeze. We stayed in a King Suite- small frig not too cold, microwave, large walkin shower, in room jacuzzi. Nice spacious room and bathroom. Semi quiet, could hear some talking in the hallway. Very clean. Comfy bed and pillows. Breakfast was good but small. Nice area, close to everything. Ate at Cody's Roadhouse after race. Awesome prime rib! Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Love the King Suite. We were on ground floor which was ok but a little too close to housekeeping cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m0ther0fthebride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed overnight on a weekend for an athletic event at the University of Florida. There was a short wait to check in because there was a flood of guests checking in at the same time. There was one person working the front desk. A housekeeping staff member was doing her best to assist her. There was a baseball team spending the night at the hotel, and staff members at the front desk assured us that the manager wanted to know if we had any problems with noise and provided us with the manager's cell phone number. Fortunately, we had no noise problems. Our room was nicely furnished and clean. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was clean and nicely appointed, but the lighting was not good. Unfortunately, the breakfast area is very small and the hotel was full. We had to take our food back to our room because there was no place to sit. There was a fair selection of basic breakfast foods. There is a small business center just off the lobby. Overall, it's an okay place to spend a night.

Room Tip: Our third floor room toward the end of the hall, away from the elevator was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingfoolGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Level Contributor
153 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

This is your typical "stay one night in a clean place" type of property. It is o.k. for business, but would not stay for any other reason. Pretty basic. There are other properties in the area to stay if you want a lot of amenities. Rooms are a nice size though.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flamingoluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
161 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

I was on the road for work and needed a place to sleep for the night. I booked the room based on the pictures I saw on the website. I will say from the time I entered the lobby I felt at ease. This is the 2nd Sleep Inn I have stayed at and the first property was brand new. This one seems to be fairly new judging from the room that I stayed in. The room was clean and updated. The bed was also very comfy. So comfy that I almost over slept. If I am ever in the area again I will definitely stay here again as long as the price is right.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 247HardWorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Tennessee
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Having never stayed at a Sleep Inn before, I had nothing to go on but these reviews, and knowing the hotel was new. My mom was going to check out the hotel for us; but I told her not to worry because TripAdvisor is very reliable and the reviews for this particular hotel were almost flawless!

We checked in with confidence and our family in the next room was just as happy! The lobby/front area is elegant and clean. In the evening you are greeted with popcorn and cookies, along with coffee!

The rooms are very big for this genre in the hotel industry. The rooms are bigger than Hampton Inn, and on par with the size of Drury Inn rooms. Simply put, ROOMY! We had a two-queen room. The bathroom is very large with a wall to wall lavatory to easily accommodate all of your toiletries while keeping the area uncluttered.

The beds are medium to firm, pillow top mattress....four very nice pillows on each bed. Wonderful night's sleep!

Coffee in room is really good. Of course, flat screen TV, bigger than usual desk area, microwave with nice sized fridge, CLOSET (this is not common for this level of hotel as far as I know). Three dresser drawers... I'm telling you. PLENTY of room to stretch out and keep all your gear nicely organized.

Also, this Sleep Inn is above the mark on breakfast. FULL HOT BREAKFAST with waffles, scrambled eggs, canadian bacon some mornings, sausage patties on others, breakfast bars, yogurt, apples, oranges, all sort of types of breads, biscuits and gravy, cereal....great, wonderful....filling...fresh....plentiful breakfast!

Now on to service. The service was over the top from the time I picked up the phone to work out my reservation until the point of check-out. Just perfect. Couldn't ask for more. For specifics, feel free to email me.

A few tips. 315,317 are right off the elevator and very quiet. One thing for travelers who carry foods to prepare their own meals. The fridge is quite cold and large enough to accommodate plenty of food. However, if you freeze water bottles as I do in order to keep food cold once you get back on the road, you'll have to find alternate methods because this hotel, like many others, does not have a freezer inside the fridge. It's possible that they may freeze and keep your bottles for you until departure as the Drury Inn will; but I didn't think to ask because I had too much going on to think of it.

Wi-Fi...slower than some, but adequate.

My apologies for not having bountiful pictures as I usually do on my reviews. I actually didn't have a camera at check in! I was going to get some pictures after I got my camera but never got to it! Their pictures are good...but the rooms are EVEN BETTER than what the pictures show!!!!!

For those of you who doubt the "Choice Hotel" brand, or this level of Choice hotel...book this particular property with confidence. They've been open for four years and are not yet beginning to show their age.

Room Tip: 315, 317 right off the elevator and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Soundsgood2me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.4 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
0.7 km away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#9 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
4.7 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#11 of 44 in Gainesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.1 km away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.2 km away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#4 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands

Property: Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
Address: 4110 SW 40th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32608-2306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#6 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn & Suites of Gainesville Florida is situated at I-75 and Archer Road. Very convenient to the University of Florida, Shands Hospital, VA Hospital, shopping, dining and entertainment venues. Newly constructed in 2008, this 100% Non-smoking hotel offers Complimentary Hot Breakfast, Free In-Room Internet, Business Center, and Guest Laundry Facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Gainesville
Sleep Inn And Suites
Sleep Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing