We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nothing great”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

This hotel is ok, but not great. It claims to be emphasizing "green" policies, but was by far the coldest hotel I've been in. The lobby and hallways couldn't have been more than 60 degrees! It was freezing. Wasteful too, in my opinion. (And they want me to reuse my towels for several days to conserve energy?) Sheets were clean, beds comfortable, and floors seemed clean but telephone was gross when I picked it up to schedule a wake up call. Also things like mirrors and fixtures needed a thorough cleaning. And the tub didn't drain well while shower was in use, either--I stood in ankle deep water the whole time. The girl at the front desk said she'd report it to maintenance, but seems to me a maid would catch something like that. Truthfully, I've been in cleaner hotels that weren't as "upscale" as this one. I wouldn't go out of my way to stay here again.

Room Tip: I always request a room away from elevators and ice machines. They're quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    305
    154
    86
    41
See reviews for
383
108
51
421
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I stayed at the Hilton twice with my family in July 2007 and January 2012. The hotel is very clean and the rooms are nicely decorated. The hotel is located on SW 34th street and is a walking distance from University of Florida’s SW recreation center, the Harn Museum, and the Phillips Performing Arts Center. In addition it is close to Sweetbay supermarket, restaurants, and Archer road.

Unfortunately breakfast is not included and prices are a bit high for those on a budget. Also, during my last stay I ordered a movie from the hotel’s television system which did not work properly.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ysobora88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

First time at a Hilton in Gainesville, we always go to Marriott but I 'm glad we did!! Standard- sized but updated room with 2 desks. Very comfortable beds, and tons of pillows(yay!!!), I want the dressing room and bathroom in my house like Hilton's, a little bigger, though.Toiletries by Peter Roth, very nice . I like the idea that you can access the closet from the dressing room and the bedroom. The front desk personnel are nice and accomodating. There is a Publix Supermarket, Steak and Shake and several restaurants around the corner and also a gas station. Very accessible to I-75.

Room Tip: Make sure to hang the do-not-disturb sign on the day of check- out so they don't wake you up at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eaglew007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

My 17-year-old daughter and I stayed at this property the night prior to a campus tour at the University of Florida. The lobby appears newly renovated and the front desk staff very welcoming, but the rooms are dated and the bathrooms tiny by modern standards. The beds are reasonably comfortable and the air conditioning works well; however, the walls are paper thin and you can hear every word your neighbor utters ... and that's not an exaggeration. Thankfully, I travel with a white noise machine that masks most outside noises, and the soft roar of the air conditioner helped; however, neither did anything to muffle the sounds of the amorous couple next door at 2:30AM. The accommodations are entirely unsuitable for a business traveler since the chair at the desk is uncomfortable and is not adjustable. The menus in the room no longer reflect the offerings of the restaurant next door. (Recommend you eat elsewhere, anyway.) Bottom line, this is not a property at which I'll stay again ... even if my daughter decides to attend the University.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, request a corner room in which beds are not adjacent to walls shared with ano...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitrox051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Bay Florida
Level Contributor
155 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

At first look you are impressed with the outside , old university building look. Excellent staff except for one at the main desk who needs a tweak inhelpfulness. Clean rooms and nice amenities. Check out the Museum across the street. Business center ....they don't have a scanner....whats with that "business center"

Room Tip: should get a great room for 110 dollars
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RogerPsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Very clean. Larger rooms. Good restaurant. Good location. I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lam2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I stayed for two weeks with my wife attending a seminar organised by the University. Our stay was pleasant and really, we can't find fault with their services.

Only some of the food they served was not to my taste, but was made well.

It was a few minutes walk to a mall and eating place, for those who fancy walking. The hotel provide shuttle serviced to the mall, city centre, airport and basically anyway, as long as there is no other guest who have booked at the same time.

Otherwise, very good service.

Room Tip: All rooms a standard, so not tip here
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsafiriKafiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
2.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
3.4 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
2.5 km away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 44 in Gainesville
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
2.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
2.2 km away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#7 of 44 in Gainesville
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville

Property: Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
Address: 1714 SW 34th St, Gainesville, FL 32607-4138
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Southwest corner of the University of Florida campus, in the heart of “Gator Nation”, Hilton University of Florida is the perfect spot for conducting essential business without missing out on the pleasure. This property has been completely renovated in the last three years, offers complimentary wireless internet in our lobby, complimentary parking, and a complimentray business center for guest use. A full service restaurant is available for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Two Bit's lounge or room service can make your day easier. Visit the Olympic size outdoor pool or our complimentary fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton University Of Florida Conference Center Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Hilton Hotel Gainesville
Hilton Gainesville
Gainesville Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing