We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL
Ranked #18 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
A TripAdvisor Member
“Inexpensive”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Good deal for the money we paid. Although the breakfast was good. We would like to recommend more variety

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We strive very hard to make every stay the most enjoyable for our guests. We have since made changes to the Complimentary breakfast menu. We now offer a larger variety of fresh fruit, 5+ different flavors of yogurt, and snack bars. This will add to our existing menu of cereal, oatmeal, bagels, Danishes, pastries, and muffins. Beverage options are Milk, Coffee, Orange juice, and Apple juice. If you have any suggestions of other items, we would love to hear them so we may make more changes. Please feel free to call the general Manager, Paul, at 352-371-2500 or e-mail us at gainesvillehowardjohnson@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    146
    81
    39
    17
See reviews for
151
65
42
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holly Springs
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

This isn't the Ritz, but if you want the Ritz, go there and pay their prices. Ho-Jo's was clean. Everything worked, even an iron and ironing board. Room heated up fast in January, and the bed was comfortable. I will definitely stay there again when in Gainesville. The price was good, and I was pleased. Even had a continental breakfast. Good deal for the price.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Although we are usually pre-booked for hotels and camping, we left our last night open on a recent combined camping/hotel road trip to SW Florida. Wanting to get at least to Gainesville before stopping we followed the scant I-75 signs for lodging at exit 384 and spotted this Howard Johnsons just after dark. The walk-in price was excellent, and the room was clean,spacious, and quiet despite being on a fairly busy main road. The hotel is set back from the road and traffic was not even audible. Add to that an excellent Asian restaurant next door and we were happy with our choice. Even the continental breakfast was good...fresh fruit /cereal/some packaged bagels and muffins. Convenient for an overnight if you are traveling on to other destinations in Florida.

Room Tip: can't comment...we are on the first floor and I don't think anyone was above us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamhed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Bay, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This place was great. It was very clean, the staff and management were very nice and courteous. It was a great value and i would recommend to anyone. We will back next year

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DESTIN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamarac, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2011

I was looking for a quiet, clean room at an affordable price and that's exactly what I got. The bed was very comfortable. There was a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker in the room. I have paid a lot more for a lot less at other hotels.

Room Tip: I asked the night desk person for a quiet room and that's exactly what I got
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niceville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Good place to stay, room was clean, very comfortable bed. Kirsten at the desk was very helpful when we checked in, not sure if the night guy actually spoke english, he nodded his head alot. Nice hotel though.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Chuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

This room was disgusting. Smelled like mold, and cigarettes. Went back in to get a refund and staff refused to give a full refund after we were only there for 5 minutes. We had to argue with them to refund us and they still ended up charging us 20.00 for the 5 minutes we were there. Please do not waste your time or money here. This was the worse experience I have ever had a hotel. Totally disrespectful staff. As I am dealing with a medical emergency and did not need this type of treatment they gave us. Horrible is the nicest way I can put it without cursing.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank motors1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul P, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
This guest requested a smoking room. This guest was even shown the rooms prior to checking in. After an hour or more the guest returns to the front desk and demands a full refund. Though upon check in the guest signed the room agreement and check-in form that clearly states after ten minutes you will be charged a full nights rent regardless of how long you then stay in the room afterwords. The guest was unhappy and management offered for the guest to move to a different room. The guest refuses the offer and again demands a full refund. The hotel staff did all they could to accommodate this guest but to no avail. All guests are allowed to relocate to another room if their room for any reason is unsatisfactory, and after 10 minutes or less in any one of these rooms, if an acceptable location is still not accepted by the guest, the guest is entitled to a full refund.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
4.6 km away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#9 of 44 in Gainesville
431 reviews
0.7 km away
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
#27 of 44 in Gainesville
1,332 reviews
1.4 km away
Quality Inn University
Quality Inn University
#24 of 44 in Gainesville
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
4.5 km away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#15 of 44 in Gainesville
561 reviews
4.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL
Address: 3820 SW 13th St, Gainesville, FL 32608-3510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are newly remodeled and finished our remodel late 2010. We now have new bed, new bedspreads, new carpets, new exterior, new interiors and offer a quaint breakfast selection. We still have our sparkling clean pool, and plenty of parking. We accommodate students, parents, truckers and travelers of all kinds, though, we are sorry we do not accept pets. We are conveniently located close to the Football stadium of the University of Florida, Shands Hospital, the VA Hospital, Gainesville Airport, and Gainesville Racetrack (home of GatorNational). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Howard Johnson Gainesville
Gainesville Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing