We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Gainesville
Oneonta, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2011

The staff was very friendly and helpful.The hotel was easy to get too. The room was clean and very nice. There was a microwave,refrigerator and coffee maker with a hair dryer also. My stay was enjoyable and we will stay there again when we are in Gainesville.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snowbird050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    138
    78
    35
    17
See reviews for
142
64
40
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Port, FL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2010

The room we had was clean and comfortable. The gentleman at the front desk was very helpful and went out of his way to make sure you were happy with your room. The continental breakfast, while a little sparse, at least got you going with coffee, juice, cereal, and a small assortment of packaged bagels, etc. All in all, I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAYCROSS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2010

We were not happy with this hotel. We have stayed in Howard Johnson's before and this was a disappointment. There was a hole in the floor between the bed and bathroon. There were black curly hairs in the towels and long black hairs in the tub. If you put your hjand on the shower wall to stel into the tub, it would cave in and make you fall. The TV wouldn't work, so I called management and he finally came up and had to reset the tv, so it would work. Noisy hotel. Sewing kit they offer is a little box of about 8-10 little rolls of thread you can borrow, but have to bring back. Won't stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweetpea8555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patel58, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
We apologize for this guests stay, we have since been beautifully remodeled and have replaced the old beds with new ones, we have new bedspreads, new carpet, new room interiors and new exterior of the property as well. This guest has been invited back to experience the NEW Howard Johnson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2009

I honestly i thought this hotel would be decent. I was told that I could check in after 4pm with no penalty multiple times over the phone. Well, that was false! After getting in the front office, I was told that I would have to leave my credit card with them! Also, there's this paper with SMALL writing/print. What hotel is there that won't allow you to have guests after 8 pm? He called the cops just because of that! But NO elevator, the ONLY ice machine that was there didn't work, and kids shouldn't be helping to serve the guests... The light had to be changed AFTER going into my room, the towel rack wasn't sturday, and I won't choose to stay here anymore, and I recommend anyone else to do the same.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zeta1920ace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear Guest,
I apologize for the inconveniences of your stay. We do have a security officer that patrols our grounds to make guests feel at ease, he was not called on your behalf. We are a quiet hotel and we do not allow large parties in the rooms, you are allowed to have guests, but we do charge per guest staying in the room and up to only 5 people. [Only five are allowed in any room due to fire codes]
We do not have an elevator because we are only a two story hotel, there is no need for an elevator, for those who can not climb stairs there is the ground floor.
I apologize about the lights and towel rack; we have been fully remodeled since your stay. Please feel free to come and join us for another night, we would love to have you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2009

I recently stayed at this HO JO in Gainesville. we had booked 3 rooms with the hotel. Upon checking all three rooms had a bad smell to them. The carpet was stained and soiled in many spots. THe hotel clims to have been renovated and remodeld 2 years gao but teh linens and bed prove otherwise. In two of our three room the bed were worn down to the springs. The shets were worn so thin they had holes. I was disgusted to put my head on teh pillow care or pillow for that matter. More so, the springs were so bad i had to ask fo a pillow to pad my side form teh springs and i was told the hotel didn't have any extra pillows. They did somewhow scounge up three but those were the oldes and gross pillows i have ever sen. I am not comparing this to a five star hotel i am comparing it to any other HO JO. to make matters worse the fire alam in one room was runnign on a lowbattery and beeped though out the night. The folowing day we asked for the battery to be changed and they were unable to give us a new battery. The guest service agent handed us a used battery and told us to replace it. Of course when we did the alarm still beeped becasue that battery was also low.

More so the staff was not friendly. They will not bring anything to you, you must go get it and the two members incountered were rude.

Over all this hotel is not worth you stay. However some may get left with noe choice when Gainesville is busy and every where else is booked booked because no one wants to stay here unless they can't get anyother room.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KAi12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear Guest,
I greatly apologize about your stay in 2009. In late 2010 we were completely remodeled and received new carpets, new beds, new bedding, as well as a new roof, and appliances in the rooms. Our façade have even been updated and now reflects a more modern look. We have also changed staff and would love to welcome you back to this new and improved Howard Johnson of Gainesville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teays valley, wv
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2009

We attended the 2009 NHRA Gaternationals in Gainesville and needed a room for one night only. Based on the trip advisor reviews it appeared this was a small, but nice and clean place to stay. NOT SO! The motel sign in the front stated "NEW AND UPDATED". Well, that is NOT SO! Our room cost was $175 for ONE night. I expected for this price to be the equivalent of a Hilton, Holiday Inn Select, etc. However, when we opened the door to the room all of us about dropped our chins when we had an old room with NO UPDATES AT ALL. I guess they were using the old "bait and switch" tactic to get people to stay there. The carpet was old, the beds were not comfortable - you could feel the springs in the mattress, the bathroom was old. We were so extremely disappointed in this motel in that they mislead their customers with their NEW AND UPDATED sign. I will NEVER EVER stay there again. For $175 we should have had plush bedding, nice carpet, new bathroom, etc. DO NOT STAY THERE - IT IS TERRIBLE!!!!! DO NOT PAY ATTENTION TO THEIR NEWLY RENOVATED SIGN OUT FRONT - IT IS A LIE!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dragstervlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear Guest,
I greatly apologize about your stay in 2009, we were excited to begin remodeling and did have a small group of rooms that had been completed, there is no excuse for the fact you did not receive one of the newly remodeled room. We greatly apologize for your inconvienace. However, in late 2010 we were completely remodeled and received new carpets, new beds, new bedding, as well as a new roof, and appliances in all of the rooms. Our façade has even been updated and now reflects a more modern look. This upcoming year we hope to upgrade to large flat screen TVs as well. We have changed staff and would love to welcome you back to this new and improved Howard Johnson of Gainesville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2008

The rooms were attractive and clean. The lobby was nice and bright and the continental breakfast selection (muffins, oatmeal, cereal, fruit, yogurt, juice, coffee, and tea), cleanliness, and presentation were better than many. We enjoyed the in-room coffee pot and refrigerator and appreciated the nice shampoo and conditioner (the next low-rate hotel we stayed at in Savannah didn't even have that!). The pool, though outdoors and unheated, was still usable due to a warm spell and my kids loved running around the open grassy area next to the parking lot. The staff was accomodating and polite. Overall, we were very pleased and pleasantly surprised given the very affordable rates. I would stay here again.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank AmandaSRichmond_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
1.7 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
0.7 km away
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
#23 of 45 in Gainesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
8.4 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#12 of 45 in Gainesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
4.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
1.3 km away
Quality Inn University
Quality Inn University
#28 of 45 in Gainesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL
Address: 3820 SW 13th St, Gainesville, FL 32608-3510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are newly remodeled and finished our remodel late 2010. We now have new bed, new bedspreads, new carpets, new exterior, new interiors and offer a quaint breakfast selection. We still have our sparkling clean pool, and plenty of parking. We accommodate students, parents, truckers and travelers of all kinds, though, we are sorry we do not accept pets. We are conveniently located close to the Football stadium of the University of Florida, Shands Hospital, the VA Hospital, Gainesville Airport, and Gainesville Racetrack (home of GatorNational). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Howard Johnson Gainesville
Gainesville Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing