We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Awful Service, ok food.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Liquid Ginger

Liquid Ginger
Ranked #124 of 561 Restaurants in Gainesville
Price range: US$14 - US$29
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awful Service, ok food.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We used to come here a few years ago and we loved it! On our most recent trip back to Gainesville we couldn't wait to have dinner here. Boy were we disappointed! The service was awful, our reservations were pointless as we still waited for 40 minutes to sit when there were still open tables. And worst of all, the manager was rude! Avoid this place if you can... It is not what it used to be!

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassielee715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    46
    20
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lake City, Florida
Level Contributor
454 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Okay Thai Food, Slow Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

We ate here to use a Groupon before it expired. It wasn't as good as I had hoped. The service was VERY slow at first. After we ordered beverages and they were delivered, we didn't see our server for about 10 minutes. Then we saw him taking food to other tables and finally he came back to us. Once he came to take out order the service picked up again. I ordered Pad Thai and didn't care for it. It was my first time with this dish and I found the noodles gummy and pasty. There was a big plate of noodles with just a few small pieces of chicken. Perhaps this is the way it is suppose to be, I don't believe I will try it again. The others in my party were happy with their meals. My husband ordered the Bento Box sides for an additional charge and was happy with his meal.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travlingal51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pine Valley, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Like so many mid-level American restaurants - high on pretense, low on food experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

Went with friends, who thought highly of it; we were seated in the lower, non-main room. The atmosphere was too "cool" [uncozy] for my taste, the food so-so, the prices on the high side. I will try many of G'ville's dozens of other restaurants before I return here.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RogerDR26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
“very pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

I read the posted reviews first before we went and became very hesitant. I decided to take the review to the restaurant and showed them to the manager. I don't know whether this did the trick but we were served promptly , we received a lot of attention by the waiters and above all, were served a very tasty oriental meal with all the trimmings. It was a wonderful evening.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EW S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Terrible all around”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

My husband and I went to Liquid Ginger for our 5th anniversary. From the atmosphere to the wait staff to the food, it was all around terrible. I have the mahi, which was way over cooked doused in a sauce that did not taste good. My husband had the tilapia, which was sliced so thin, it was basically just fried batter (a fish stick would have been better). Our meal was $50, and we ended up at the sushi restaurant one block down so that we could have an enjoyable meal on our anniversary. (We even saw another couple from Liquid Ginger at that restaurant). I would not recommend Liquid Ginger at all.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank smile2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Liquid Ginger also viewed

 

Been to Liquid Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing