We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so special, they should take the name "Hilton" off...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa Bay
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not so special, they should take the name "Hilton" off...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

We made reservations for the UF-FSU game several months ago. The rates were typical football season, $259 a night, I don't recall if it was 2 night minimum, probably so.

The place is one of several nearly identical brands, within a "pass the Grey Pupon" distance from a Homewood suites....another Hilton flag.....

I found it odd that the place offered a pretty heavy breakfast for maybe $9 with no cold complimentary breakfast such as a Residence Inn....maybe I'm spoiled by a competitors offering....

Room was clean tv was old, no flat screen but serviceable....odd that it had a microwave and fridge but lacking even plastic utensils for pre-gaming.

It's just another place to put ones head, no reason to call good or bad, it is what it is....which is why it should not have "Hilton" in it's name....

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelier22, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
I just wanted to take a moment to thank you for choosing us as your hotel on your most recent stay in Gainesville FL. However I was greatly disapointed to hear about the problems that you experienced with the hotel. I have taken your comments about the hotel and shared them with the staff.

If my staff or I can be of any future assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards,

Dustin Cash
Assistant General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn
352-338-1466
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    164
    62
    29
    23
See reviews for
243
102
37
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

I have stayed here several times in attending seminars at UF Gainesville . It is quiet, comfortable, away from the highway (I-75) enough that it doesn't disturb you. Adjacent to the shopping areas on Archer Rd (Hwy 24) so plenty of places to eat nearby. Target and WalMart, too, for the things you may have forgotten. Reasonable....usually under $100/ night....all in all, pretty good place since there are no 4 stars in Gainesville...this is about as close as you can get.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem pretty quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tvkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destin, FL
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed here for a football game in Gainesville. It was a busy weekend, but the staff was extremely friendly and very helpful. The location is a good one, with great access to the Interstate, restaurants, and the University campus.

The room was clean, spacious, comfortable and the beds soft. I did not notice any noise issues and did not hear any of my neighbors. Reasonably fast internet connection, which was important to me.

Only had two complaints about this property. First was the televisions. They are old tube style TVs (who hasn't already upgraded to flat-screens?). Secondly, the coffee maker looked as if it hadn't been cleaned inside in some time. Against my better judgement I made coffee, but found it undrinkable.

I would stay here again. Very nice hotel overall.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaStateNole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

Stayed there so we could be close to Shands. Efficient check in process, clean room and bathroom. Would definitely stay the next time we are in Gainesville.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkterry59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft Worth TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

Beautiful, but loud. Paper thin walls. U can hear everything from the rooms on both sides of yours and people walking above you. Would not stay againj.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ram1FtWorthTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

Entire staff was very friendly and helpful to all of us including my 85 year old mother. The maids were very nice and helpful and the rooms were clean and well kept. The room service via Texas Roadhouse for dinner was great too. The breakfast prepared by the staff was nice too and it had a wide variety of food available including fresh fruit. Pool was very nice too.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

I had no trouble at this HGI. I have stayed at many throughout the country and this is very average. No issues. there is a decent sized parking lot and several good restaurants in close proximity including a few 24 hour ones.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnySokko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelier22, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
I just wanted to take a moment to write and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope that the next time you find yourself in Gainesville, that you will choose us again. If there is anything at all that my staff or I can do for you, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best reagards,

Dustin Cash
Assistant General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn
352-338-1466
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
0.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
4.6 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#8 of 45 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.7 km away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 45 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#5 of 45 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
Address: 4075 SW 33rd Pl, Gainesville, FL 32608-2371
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#5 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#6 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Hilton Gainesville
Gainesville Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing