We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Experience with the kids” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dolphin Snorkeling Cruise

Dolphin Snorkeling Cruise
Book In Advance
US$39.99*
and up
Egmont Key Island Snorkeling Adventure and Dolphin Cruise
Ranked #1 of 7 Tours in Gulfport
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Day trip to Egmont Key, off St. Petersburg, Florida. Watch dolphins jump and play in the surf behind our mono-hull boat. They jump, twist, & spin so close you can almost touch them! Our boat stays with you the entire 2 1/2 hour stay on the island. Explore this tropical island with its abundant wildlife and ruins of a Spanish-American War fort. Snorkel gear is provided for those wishing to snorkel the sunken ruins. Reservations recommended by calling.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Experience with the kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We traveled to St. Pete for spring break with our 8 year old and 11 year old. We had a great time. The trip out and back was great. The dolphins showed up just like you see in the pictures. I would sit in the back of the boat if you want the best view but they swim very close to the boat. The island was fun to explore. Probably the weak point was the snorkeling. The site we went to was a stretch of sea grass about 30-40 yards off the island. Not much to see. It was the kids first time so they thought it was fun but the snorkeling itself does not compare to other snorkeling trips we have gone on. Otherwise well worth the money. Crew was nice and attentive.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank LegacyGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    25
    17
    11
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gulfport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“4 adults and 6 children had a blast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We just got back from our day of snorkeling, seacrhing for shells and having a great day with family and friends. Our crew Chris and Tim were great making sure that everyone had a great time and went home with Sand dollars. I would recommend this as a fun day that kept everyone busy and happy. I would just caution you to make sure that your children and you are comfortable in the water before you jump off the side of the boat to snorkel. So pack a lunch and enjoy the ride.
The chidren are already asking if they can go again the next time we come for a visit!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Jellybean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morenci, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great cruise, great captains, great time... A++”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

My husband along with our 6 and 8 year old kids took this cruise on a sunny Wednesday. When we arrived at the marina, we were greated at the gate by a man confirming our reservation and giving directions on where to park and go from there. We appreciated this little extra help as we did not see the charter name prominently displayed anywhere when we pulled up.

From there, we waited at the dock for the boat to arrive. They had a small conveinence shop here where our kids helped themselves to some ice cream for a reasonable price.

Once the boat arrived, our reservation was confirmed again along with how many adults and how many children. The boat itself was great for kids. It had taller sides, so parents could feel a little more secure, and the kids were encouraged to ride on the elevated engine house in the center of the boat for a great view.

The captains were great. They stressed to us adults, that when we see dolphins, to be sure the kids are first priority to see them. I appreciated that they were focused on the kids having a great experience. We did see some dolphins on our way out and they were a big hit with all onboard.

Once we reached Egmont Key, we were offered a mask and snorkel. This was our kids first time snorkeling and they really enjoyed it. They saw alot of fish and we pulled a sea urchin up for them to touch. Many of the other folks around us found different things on the ocean floor and they were quick to share them as well. A great family atmosphere!

After snorkeling, we motored to the other side of the island where we were set loose for a bit more than hour to swim and shell hunt. The captains were very good about giving advice about what and where to look for great finds. My husband was the big winner in this area. He found a fossilized shark tooth that was about an inch and a half long. The kids were in awe of it as well as the ship captains, who made sure all of the kids had a chance to see it.

Overall, we very much enjoyed this cruise. We felt it was well worth the money we paid, which was $120 (including port taxes). Tips are welcomed by the cruise staff and we chose to give an additional $38 as we felt the service was well worth it.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank BrendaSpiess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florda
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Incredible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

This was a beautiful cruise that my family really enjoyed. The island is beautiful and the snorkeling was so incredible. Seeing so many dolphins really made all of our day complete. The captain and 1st Mate were awesome with tips and pointing out sea creatures and how they live. The only negative thing I can say is we wished it would have at least lasted a half day instead of just 4 hours. 10-4 would have been incredible.

Helpful?
4 Thank septsunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savoy, Il
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Trip-Awesome Giudes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We recently took this boat trip with our two children, daughter-in-law, and four Grandchildren ages twin boys 11, and two Grandaughters 7 and 4. The two guys, Captain Chris and Captain Tim were great, especially with the kids. Both were very informative and very helpful getting us off and on the boat. We had dolphin jumping and swimming in the wake of the boat and saw a Manatee which was a great thrill for the kids. After shelling on one side of the Island we boarded the boat and went to the other side of the island for snorkeling. Captain Tim jumped in a brought a sea urchin aboard for the kids to examine and hold.
I would highly recommend this boat trip. It was a wonderful outing with two great guys!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dolphin Snorkeling Cruise also viewed

 

Been to Dolphin Snorkeling Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing