We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The BEST!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manta Ray Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Manta Ray Inn
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln. NE
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The BEST!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Mike and I just spent another 10 days of "home away from home" at Manta Ray Inn. It is so peaceful there! The Boucher family takes you in as if you really were part of the Boucher family. The apt. is always so clean (Thank you, Jerry!). You can cook in your apt. or use one of the two gas grills outside. I cannot imagine staying anywhere but Manta Ray Inn when we go to Hollywood, FL!

Room Tip: All rooms are good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quiltingmaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
As always it was such a pleasure to have the two of you with us! You are definitely part of our Manta Ray Inn family!! We wait for you to return again but in the meantime, kiss that beautiful baby for us keep in touch!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    33
    5
    1
    5
See reviews for
115
142
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

I have stayed at the Manta Ray Inn in the months of December and January for the past five years and look forward to many more visits to this charming accommodation, situated directly on the Atlantic Ocean.
Donna and Dwayne are the owners of the property and with their son Thomas run the business for the benefit of the guests, who are looked after superbly well and any request for information or assistance is gladly given. It takes a great deal of hard work in the background to maintain this skilful management but none of the effort shows and you feel very much as if you are getting individual attention. Donna, Dwayne and Thomas do everything possible to ensure that each guest is comfortable in their accommodation and there is an air of great friendliness. Introductions are made to other guests and new friendships established in this welcoming atmosphere. For the solo traveller there is a feeling of security. Both externally and internally the property is very well maintained and Gerry carries out his duties as Housekeeper in an extremely hardworking way.
A short stroll takes you from Manta Ray to the Broadwalk, where you can ride a bike, or wander along enjoying the ocean views in a traffic free area. On the Broadwalk are countless shops and many restaurants offering a wide variety of menu.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maymcintosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
As always we look forward to your arrival every January and your stay with us! It is a highlight for us as owners and for all of the staff!! You are one of our most wonderful guests and it is definitely our pleasure to have you stay at the Manta Ray Inn. We are always excited to make your stay even more memorable than the time before and as a single traveler it is our joy to make you part of our Manta Ray Family!! We are waiting for your return in 2013 and definitely want you to keep in touch through the miles from Scotland to here. It seems that we were just sitting together and enjoy and sun, then the moon over the ocean together!! There are no words to capture the friendship that we have created!!. Stay in touch, see you in 2013!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

This is the third year we have stayed at the Manta Ray Inn. It is the best place we have stayed in Hollywood Beach. It took us a long time to get a place at the Manta Ray Inn and we will stay there again next year. The service is second to none, they make your stay wonderful. The rooms are well kept and the view could not be better.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
It was so much fun to have you here with us! The Inn will not be the same with out you. Cocktail hour is still going strong so perhaps now that you have seen the grandkids you can turn around and come back. We certainly value you as a return customer and you definitely help us make the Manta Ray Inn the great place that is for our customers!! See you next year (or before)!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

This hotel had everything we needed. The place directly on the beach is wonderfull. The service was very nice and friendly. Anything we needed was there. The place has a view that we will never forget. The owners make you feel at home and are very helpfull. The service could not be better. We will return next year for sure and recommend our friends.
Andre et Francine from Montreal

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
It is always a pleasure to host such wonderful people and we now consider you part of the Manta Ray Inn family. Thomas, Gerry, Dwayne and I really enjoyed your company and your comments about our Inn. Stay in touch with us and cannot wait until your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

This was our second stay at the Manta Ray. We had a two bedroom place that faced the ocean. The view, once you opened the door, was absolutely amazing. We were blessed with a full week of balmy temperatures and cool ocean breezes. This place is perfect for anyone wanting to be directly on the beach. It is small with only two floors. There is no need for elevators. Once the car is parked you don't have to move it again as long as you bring in your own food. The kitchen is equipped with all you'll need if you want to cook your own meals. There are plenty of restaurants within driving distance if that is your preference. The Manta Ray is also within easy walking distance of several ocean front restaurants on the Broadwalk. The Broadwalk is made for walking and bikes can be rented. Gerry, the housekeeper, comes in everyday to clean the rooms, change towels, and do all he can to help people. While we were there, Donna, the owner, was by herself. Although it was a stressful time for her until her husband and son returned to help with running the place, all that was asked of her was taken care of. The place was clean with everything you would expect of small lodging. At night you can sit outside your room and actually watch the waves crashing on the beach. You are right there. With a place like this, you can actually get to know the people who are staying there. It is an ideal place to be for quiet time or getting to make new friends. It is not the Westin, or Marriott, but it is a very nice and comfortable small lodging establishment.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank relaxed321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Having you back at the Manta Ray Inn was wonderful! Yes, it was a stressful time for me! Running the Manta Ray Inn at full tilt on my own was a challenge but you and all of my guests made my job so much simpler! Great weather, great fun and most of all great guests! We are lucky owners and Gerry definitely appreciated your comments on his housekeeping skills. See you again next year and stay in touch with us by "Liking" us on Facebook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This was probably our 8th time at the Manta Ray Inn. As always, we enjoyed our stay. No complaints... We will be back soon.

Room Tip: My only suggestion is that there is really no difference between "ocean front" and "o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SRgreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
So great to know that you were again satisfied at the Manta Ray Inn. Although your stays are very short they seem to give you the boost you need to go back to the drawing board!! Having both of you as guests is such a pleasure and we definitely cannot wait until your return!! The sun, the surf and best of all the sunset and sunrise are what keep us all grounded. Looking forward to your next escape at the Manta Ray!!!!! Thomas, said to say he was sorry he missed the two of you this time and Gerry loves to have you so don't forget, plan your next little getaway soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

this was our 5th year at the manta ray, which in itself says it all! we return each year (and plan to continue to return for many more years) because it is a wondeful, relaxing, quiet, clean, small, informal and personalized place. we like to eat most of our lunches and dinners at one of the outside tables which over looks the ocean and beach. the owners (donna and dwayne), the manager (thomas) and the housekeeper (jerry) go out of their way to make everyone's stay very comfortable, personalized and enjoyable. we feel that the manta ray is our florida home away from home. the beach at the manta ray is beautiful, quiet and clean. the sunrises are absolutely spectacular! hollywood continues to a charming paradise in south florida - it's like old florida probably used to be and hopefully it will stay the same.

Stayed January & February 2012, traveled as a couple

Room Tip: note: no restaurant is on site, so disregard the "Restaurant" rating above!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ForeverABeachBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dwayne, Thomas, Gerry and I are so lucky to have wonderful guests like yourselves come back year after year!! You are great company and definitely appreciate what we have tried to create here at the Manta Ray Inn!!! With the two of you coming year after year we know that we have created a new friendship and that means we have accomplished exactly what we wanted to accomplish, so stay healthy and know that we are counting the months until your return! Next year we will look forward to spoiling the new little addition to your family!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
1.9 km away
Margaritaville Beach Resort
2.5 km away
Casa Pellegrino Boutique Hotel
1.7 km away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#7 of 67 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
2.7 km away
Riptide Hotel
Riptide Hotel
#5 of 67 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
2.1 km away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manta Ray Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manta Ray Inn

Property: Manta Ray Inn
Address: 1715 S Surf Rd, Hollywood, FL 33019-2431
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#6 Business Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Manta Ray Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our one- and two-bedroom suites are fully equipped to be your home away from home! We provide full daily maid service, free wifi, beach chairs, beach towels, gas grills, heated pool, complimentary movies, on-site laundry facilities, beach toys for your children. Forgot your sunscreen, beach umbrella or sand pail? Don't worry -- we are here to help you out! Rest and enjoy that cocktail as the sun sets and the children play in the sand. We have everything else covered. Hit the beach, hit the pool ... Leave the rest to us. Need to print your boarding pass? No problem! Let the office know and you can do it when the manager is there daily! Want to do something different? Ask us and we will help with creative and fun activities for all of you no matter what your preference! We will make every effort to exceed your expectations and make your getaway memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Manta Ray Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manta Ray Hotel Hollywood
Manta Ray Motel
Manta Ray Inn Hollywood, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing